Speculation Kysaiah Pickett [RFA 2027]

it's arguable. midfielders grow on trees. and Brayshaw has already fallen behind Serong. And arguably Hayden Young. And now Shai Bolton. There's a reason Brayshaw never cops a tag.
It's not arguable at all. There is literally not 1 neutral AFL supporter that will tell you that Kozzie Pickett is a better (or more important) player than Andrew Brayshaw. We are talking about a guy voted the most valuable player in the league 2 years ago that is a future captain of the club.

Pickett is better at the same age than what Bolton is. And it's not remotely close. After his first 5 years, Bolton had kicked 57 goals. Pickett 161 goals. Like you couldn't possibly even compare the 2 at the same age with a straight face.
Not that relevent. Bolton at the moment is better and young enough that age isnt a factor when assessing trade value (only 3 years older then Pickett). Also, you cant compare them on goals alone. Bolton spends more time up the ground, hence more possesions but less goals.

nah, I dont think Bolton is better. I'd put them about the same. And that's with Pickett being 3 years younger. Like you said, he spends more time up the ground so gets more of the footy. Either way, back on topic, Pickett's trade value will be the same as Bolton. which is 2 firsts. Like it simply won't be any less than that. 2 late firsts wouldn't get it done either.

It's not arguable at all. There is literally not 1 neutral AFL supporter that will tell you that Kozzie Pickett is a better (or more important) player than Andrew Brayshaw. We are talking about a guy voted the most valuable player in the league 2 years ago that is a future captain of the club.
some neutrals would take Pickett. It depends which club already has solid mids. I think Port for example would take Pickett over Brayshaw.

it's arguable. midfielders grow on trees. and Brayshaw has already fallen behind Serong. And arguably Hayden Young. And now Shai Bolton. There's a reason Brayshaw never cops a tag.
Congratulations! It's only early in the year but you've just won the most embarrassing post of 2025.

The best thing for us would be Melbourne tell us to **** off…This year.
We then hope Chad is ready to FLAGMANTLE.

And we have another look at Kozzie next year when we’re all about Robinson and ready to get rid of our first…
Kozzie is still contracted after that though. So you're still going to have to cough up 2 firsts, maybe more with the Tassie nonsense going on.

No doubt Kozzy wants to get to WA. Also no doubt the dees would currently be assessing the trade scenario or will be soon enough. It should be noted Kozzy does love the Dees and he never actually requested a trade. But the club would definitely concede he wants to get back at some point.
I could see the Dees looking at a straight swap for Brayshaw if he was keen to get back to Vic. But I’d be surprised if he isn’t sign in the next few weeks. The whole thing with Brayshaw is the Freo wouldn’t trade him if he wanted to stay. Same with Melbourne and Kozzy. I think if you say who is a better player it’s hard to say at this point it isn’t Brayshaw. However a Kozzy is much harder to find and I think he could explode at some point with his midfield and forward mix. If you think he has peaked then you are so far off the mark.
Kozzy will either attract a similar price to Bolton or he’ll be staying at the Dees for at least a couple more years.

some neutrals would take Pickett. It depends which club already has solid mids. I think Port for example would take Pickett over Brayshaw.
If you're playing a game of schoolyard footy and picking teams, everyone if picking Brayshaw long before they they pick Kosi.

based on..

let me guess, Brayshaw hasn't already peaked? lol
Brayshaw has a lot more influence over a game than Kosi.

Kosi is a very good, defensive small forward. But that's all he is. Yes he can get thrown in the midfield for 5 minutes a game, for something different. But let's not pretend he could play a proper half of footy as a genuine midfielder.

Brayshaw has a lot more influence over a game than Kosi.

Kosi is a very good, defensive small forward. But that's all he is. Yes he can get thrown in the midfield for 5 minutes a game, for something different. But let's not pretend he could play a proper half of footy as a genuine midfielder.
Defensive small forward? That’s how you’d describe Pickett? Time to take a break from this thread mate.

Then what is he?

He plays the same role on your team, that Lincoln McCarthy plays on our team. Yes he kicks a lot of goals, but that's not mutually exclusive to his role.

Then what is he?

He plays the same role on your team, that Lincoln McCarthy plays on our team. Yes he kicks a lot of goals, but that's not mutually exclusive to his role.
I think you answered your own question. He kicks a lot more goals. Realistically he’s a small forward. To describe him a a defensive small forward doesn’t pay him justice. That’s a Lachie Schultz type. Pickett had comparable, I believe better stats than a few like Betts Cyril and Milne after 100 games. You are selling him well short. We aren’t talking 2 firsts for a McCarthy type.

Pretty sure Schultz wasnt a defensive small forward

Speculation Kysaiah Pickett [RFA 2027]