Lance Franklin - 2014

After much thought I have pieced together my best dig at Lance Franklin's whereabouts in 2014. I do not no for sure that this will come about but give it a read and see what you think. Please post thoughts, it's as follows;

* Lance Franklin becomes out of contract at the end of the 2013 AFL season

* He will be a restricted Free Agent, in comparison The Travis Cloke of this year

* Hawthorn have said to be in talks with buddy all through this season, and with nothing coming of it, I believe Buddy wants to keep his options open and see what's there in 2013

* As Hawthorn are a very good side, it is most likely facing tight cap room, meaning the 1 mil might be out of the question for buddy and maybe would get about a 650,000-800,000 tops at hawks

* As the weeks go by that he does not sign, especially if the season starts and or he "puts contract talk on hold until the end of the season" it will become ironic and cloudy

* So if not Hawks where would he go, this is where it gets interesting

* Buddy is a WA boy, with some family over there I believe (someone find something on this?)

* Sharrod Wellingham a man he spent so much time with seeing him every day, which, if he does go to WCE buddy will miss

* So WA is looking good, but which team... well WCE have a solid FWD line and not the budget to get buddy, so freo is the last option

* FREO had 1 mil to throw at Cloke,which they threw days after he said he would put contract talks on hold until after the season, and with no major signings as of yet... They will most likely still have the money to throw at Buddy

* With everything else seeming so perfect FREO is in desperate need for a FWD

* So could Freo have a red hot chance, well if buddy does not sign before round 1, expect fireworks

Travis is quoted as saying him staying at collingwood is "Never in doubt"

You dont even know where his family lives ?

Is it unreasonable to say you are spouting garbage ?

Buddys got at least seven more years and already has income streams outside footy

If hawks can continue to poach role player type players form YOUR CLUBS for thet time and remin a premiership threat then i'd say Buddy and his best mates Rough and Lewis will be staying put

Glass, Embley & Adam Selwood retire just in time for a massive offer to Budwood. I reckon chances are slim and none that he doesn't test free agency.

Didn't know he is a big earner at WC? *Serious question

I couldnt imagine Ablett Jnr leaving Geelong, but money talks. Big money.

Not getting along with Bomber at the time probably helped the GAJ move...

I thought most people believed he was going.
I'm talking before 2010. The OP is talking about 2 years from now. 2 years before GAJ left Geelong he was a Brownlow medalist, MVP and son of a legend, adored by 100,000's of children and adults. The thought of him leaving was remote.

Not once has he come out of contract, Hawthorn work closely with his manager to support him with 3rd party deals.
Not like Cloke who hung Collingwood out to dry.

Won;t happen. He loves Melbourne, from memory his family lives here now, he's settled here, has great mates in the footy club, and whilst his management will push for everything, I'm not sure he has any inclination to leave.

Ablett wanted captaincy and a new challenge from all accounts, Buddy just wants to play footy with his mates and win flags. He'll stay, I;m confidant of that.

Might need to reconsider his club if he wants to win flags :D

Let's be honest, every team in the league wants him. Hawthorn have more good players than most sides so it's safe to say several teams will offer more cash. much like cloke it will come down to weather the hawks can give him a big offer and pay him a respectable amount. If they do and he wants to stay the deal will get done. The Wa connection isn't strong with him and much of his family is in melbourne
he won't go

False.

Buddy loves his teammates and loves playing on the G most weeks, why would he move to WA to play at Subi and then there new ground coming when he can play at the home of football more often? Plus he admitted in the interview on the couch that when he retires he won't move back to WA, he loves Melbourne too much.

While I can't see him leaving, that and the regular weekends away down in Tassie would be important factors for him :thumbsu:

* As the weeks go by that he does not sign, especially if the season starts and or he "puts contract talk on hold until the end of the season" it will become ironic and cloudy

* So could Freo have a red hot chance, well if buddy does not sign before round 1, expect fireworks

What does ironic and cloudy even mean and why will there be fireworks - I'm so confused.

Don't know why anybody would pay a million dollars for an overrated hack who can't even kick straight

I'm not going to say it can't happen - buddy needs to do what's in the best interests of buddy but hopefully he will stay and it's done early in the season so that the media can't turn it into a circus - but saying by round 1 or the circus begins that's just ridiculous.

After much thought I have pieced together my best dig at Lance Franklin's whereabouts in 2014. I do not no for sure that this will come about but give it a read and see what you think. Please post thoughts, it's as follows;

* Lance Franklin becomes out of contract at the end of the 2013 AFL season

Seeing as I don't expect this to happen, I didn't read the rest of the post.

He wont leave the Hawks...He will tease them and get every penny he can off them though. Expect Freo to throw crazy money at him. Im talking 1.5+ mill.

5 footballers in 100+ years? I didn't say it's never happened, I said its rare.

Lol, they are but a handful. You had the North spending spree of the 70s, Sydney in the 80s... players get disgruntled... players move on for a variety of reasons. Happens more often than you think... here's some more examples for varying reasons:

Wade, Quinlan, Round, Roos, Pert, Healy, Ablett Snr., Hardie, Glendinning, Wanganeen, Carey, Capper, Fevola...

And there's probably a heap more. Not all that rare for a star player to move, whatever the reason may be.

Given the OP, Id say the onus would be on proving that Franklin would leave Hawthorn rather then the other way round. The tenedency is for players, especially stars, to stay.

The OPs bullet points were particularly flakey

1. Cloke didnt leave collingwood

2. Franklin the settled football player and business owner lets a footballer from another club stay with him. Franklin is the home owner and Wellingham is the one 'between gigs"
--- Franklin is then going to follow the other guy around like a sick puppy ?

The rest of the OPs points either rely on these refuted points or are completely farciacal