Leading draft prospects at midyear

13. Tayte Pears (Key Def)

A shining light in the WA defence locking down CHB and spoiling everything that came his way and being very comfortable in a WA back-6 that looked to pass, run and switch the ball. 192cm and bottom-aged hints at room for improvement. He was heavily coached by his compadres so will need
to get a little wiser about his positioning - but a superb championships will see him project as an AFL CHB or FB.

Would you say he's the best key defender in this draft? If he plays one more year, would you think he would be a very early pick in next years draft?

Callan Ward actually...
A little disappointed with his Champs, but I really think he is good enough to be drafted this year. Bottom aged, so he can play TAC again next year if he's not drafted.

Why?

I accept he was poor half in the first half against WA, but actually played pretty well after that. Then was injured and couldn't play in games two or three...

What you want to see from players is an ability to step up a level. In the second half of game 1, Ward showed this. Getting hurt was unfortunate - not sure why this would lead you to be disappointed though.

Why?

I accept he was poor half in the first half against WA, but actually played pretty well after that. Then was injured and couldn't play in games two or three...

What you want to see from players is an ability to step up a level. In the second half of game 1, Ward showed this. Getting hurt was unfortunate - not sure why this would lead you to be disappointed though.

From where I was sitting, I thought he really struggled with the pace of the game over at Subi. Just looked a little out of his depth to be honest.

Don't get me wrong mate, I really rate Callan, and I guess I just wanted to see him turn it on at the Champs.

From where I was sitting, I thought he really struggled with the pace of the game over at Subi. Just looked a little out of his depth to be honest.

Don't get me wrong mate, I really rate Callan, and I guess I just wanted to see him turn it on at the Champs.
I'm with Weaver in thinking that Phil Smith is a much better prospect than Ward. They were both in contention for the Metro half back line and Ward got the nod but it must have been close. Smith often sacrifices his own game to ensure his opponent doesn't get a sniff, unlike plenty of other TAC players who go kick chasing. But he's excellent with the ball in his hands he just need to get it more often, has good height and pace as well. As for Ward there is nothing about his game that reminds me of DalSanto. Matthew Wright from SA looked like a DalSanto that had been through the wash plenty of times and had shrunk.

I'm with Weaver in thinking that Phil Smith is a much better prospect than Ward. They were both in contention for the Metro half back line and Ward got the nod but it must have been close. Smith often sacrifices his own game to ensure his opponent doesn't get a sniff, unlike plenty of other TAC players who go kick chasing. But he's excellent with the ball in his hands he just need to get it more often, has good height and pace as well.

Smith is a year older than Ward and in his second TAC Cup season. This year, he is touching the ball about 10 times per game, and has taken 11 marks in total. Ward is averaging 20 touches per game, actually took 15 marks in one game alone. Ward has gone forward and kicked goals on a couple of occasions. Close for Vic Metro selection? Maybe, but preference is supposed to go to the top age player - so Smith should have had the advantage here.

You could also say that Ward is playing with two other players deemed worthy of representing his state, and Smith with about 10 - so it is pretty clear who has the more talented supporting cast. Basically, I would say Ward is in front of where he should be at this point in time as a first year TAC Cup player...I did say earlier this year that the critics would come for him though, and I guess this is the start of it.

All that said, Smith has missed a couple of weeks as well, so he might be carrying an injury of sorts as well.

hey guys...
just thought id ask where u think Gippy Power ruckman brent Connelly will go this year.....he was touted as top 25 early on and was stiff to miss out on vic country due a slight loss of form and the height of dawson simpson as second ruckman....is playin well now however and is kicking goals too!!

hey guys...
just thought id ask where u think Gippy Power ruckman brent Connelly will go this year.....he was touted as top 25 early on and was stiff to miss out on vic country due a slight loss of form and the height of dawson simpson as second ruckman....is playin well now however and is kicking goals too!!

His problem will be competition. It is not enough to simply rank players on some random sliding-scale. You also need to look within a position. He has Kreuzer, McEvoy and Bellchambers ahead of him. That probably leaves Sullivan, Mulligan, Putt, Renton, Connelly, Simpson and Lobbe fighting for 2-3 (?) job vacancies. That is before any roughie picks like Phoenix from the NT or Smouha from QLD. On performance alone 19-year old John Shaw from Sandy should be in the mix - but probably won't be.

How close were Burstin and Croft to making your list Weaver?

Pretty close - they are definately the 'type' that AFL clubs want. I passed on Burstin simply because there are too many glimpses / cameos and not a long stage of near-BOG performances which Otten has to his credit.

Croft because I see him as a 3rd-defender. I think most guys in that role like Birchall, Goddard, Hunt are often midfielders who defend a bit - more than defenders who are OK with the footy. I'd compare Croft to a Nick Maxwell and I don't know if clubs seek to recruit that type or are happy to have them play through the VFL-rookie system.

Sandilands might be the one to watch if he can work on his kicking. Any club who has paid attention to Tyson Goldsack and how quickly he has taken to the game should take a second look at Sandilands. Some guys it seems are more suited to AFL than they would be state league or suburban footy.

That's an interesting way of looking at Sandilands there Weaver. From what I have seen of him, he really looks like he is just going through the motions, almost relying on his talent alone to get him through. A bit like Prismall is you ask me.

Certainly don't really like his form. That said Goldsack looked a soft, outside winger last season who couldn't / wouldn't hold down a KP spot. Athletic, pretty good kick, covered ground. Jumps straight into the AFL at CHB???

Can't say that I saw Goldsack last year, so I cannot comment. However, Sandilands frustrates me no end. You can see the guy has talent, yet just seems to be going through the motions for the Chargers, although i'm not so sure what he's like playing for Caulfield Grammer. At 191cm, I suppose he play on the flanks at either end, or could push onto the wing as well.

However, what I have seen of him so far this year, a late pick is the best he could hope for IMO.

The highlights reel must have been deceptive then, because his tackling looked almost kamikaze on CTV after he was drafted. Outside, sure, soft? Surprising!

hey, that was quite interesting to see that you had 5 qld'ers. Many people said that only 1 or 2 would get drafted if that. But i think that they have a lot of great players just didnt play well as a team etc etc. well thats what i have heard.

Where do you think that Rhys Magion will come into it? SOme people thought he was unlucky to miss out last year and now i havent heard anything about him. I would say that the way he plays for Zillmere in the QAFL will havea lot to do with his future.

Reid at 28 was around the mark where i would have him. No him pretty well and played a lot of footy with him and will be pretty exciting if he gets drafted. He is pretty smart and runs well also a good desicion maker and quite composed. Had a pretty quiet carnival from what I heard but also plays for Zillmere and the rest of his year with them will decide his future. Played his best game againsdt NT with a n injured back so is pretty durable and knows how to play through pain. This is his 3rd year in the QAFL and seems he has really benefited. Played last year as a top up player for the Lions reserves and a copuple of games for them the year before.

Mulligan was a bit of a suprise as an earliesh second rounder but will defnitely be a "project player" and cant see him playing next yar for an AFL Club but could suprise. From what i have heard from people whoi know the game looks lost against higher quality opposition but once he knows the game well could really become a good player.

Whitecross and Brittain are interesting because they are the type where people say they are really quite good or they aren't as good a they have been talked up to be. Inconsistency plays havok between these two. Dont really know that much about either but i would say that Whitecross will defintly get drafted and Brittain will go late or could be a Rookie list oppurtunity to Brisbane with obvious connections down there.

Can't say that I saw Goldsack last year, so I cannot comment. However, Sandilands frustrates me no end. You can see the guy has talent, yet just seems to be going through the motions for the Chargers, although i'm not so sure what he's like playing for Caulfield Grammer. At 191cm, I suppose he play on the flanks at either end, or could push onto the wing as well.

However, what I have seen of him so far this year, a late pick is the best he could hope for IMO.

sandilands biggest problem is that he is so versatile he is placed in many different position with a lack of direction. his game v country he was a loose backman and often had to pick up a resting ruckman and was lost alot of the time. when he plays school he turns games playing on ball and in key possies helping back and sometimes fwd. he has no set position and i think at this level where they are developing for afl they need an idea of where their talent can be used. he is lazy often but can attack the ball well and has a great mind for footy.

Only takes 1 club to be keen on a palyer and thus they get drafted, but from what i saw at the champs......There will be Jack Queenslanders taken in the Top 50 this year.

i was watching the metro v country and many names not as big as say yours kruzers cotchins popped up such as hugh sandilands, scott simpson, andrew otten, grant ford and dan mckenna. few of the scouts were liking these fellas...........

Only takes 1 club to be keen on a palyer and thus they get drafted, but from what i saw at the champs......There will be Jack Queenslanders taken in the Top 50 this year.
QLD as a team had a very average Championships to say the least, but they have some pretty good talent coming through. I saw them play a couple of TAC Cup games and I reckon they'll have a few drafted.

Mulligan - is as raw as but has potential - Late Speculative pick
Brittan - YUK, Slow undersized mid, no thanks.
Daye - Has Speed and some Tools just needs to learn how to play footy
Reid - A shit load better kids in the TAC than him. YUK

What guys did u like Vic Crow ??

What about Whitecross? Saw QLD play a game in the Challenge cup against NSW/ACT and he played pretty well in the back line, especially considering he plays in the middle normally. Also saw them play against NT in the NAB Cup where he was injured early. Both games QLD was very hot and cold, it was only when they actually played as a team that they were good. Very hard for anyone to shine when most are just playing for themselves.

I like Whitecross and Reid. I'm not that big a fan of Mulligan, but he will get drafted as a project player - certainly could turn into anything and I reckon that'll boost his draft position a bit. Not sure about his heart though. I read here that he doesn't 'like' rucking. Uhhhh, I wouldn't be choosy if I were a prospective AFL player, so if true that sort of attitude would worry me.

I also think Daye would be worth a shot. Like you say, he's got some tools there - just needs a toolbox to put it all together.

One guy that I really like is Dayne Zorco, but his type isn't really appreciated in the AFL. A good, hard at it ball extractor. He's pretty small though. I can't imagine he won't get rookie listed to Brisbane if he doesn't get picked up but his disposal needs to clean up to make up for his lack of size. If his disposal can clean up, making size his main deficiency then I think he's got enough redeeming qualities.

LH15, don't take this as a criticism because you know a lot more than I do about the possible draftees but I recall last year that you didn't rate many of the Queensland boys. From memory you only had about 2 that you rated highly (Urquhart was one I think). I just wonder what your source of info is beyond the champs.

An interesting point though. The AFL website's run down of the 2007 Queensland side has Dan Brittain listed as 178cm. I always thought he was about 6ft so I checked around. Last year's AFL website run down of the 2006 Qld side has him at 183cm! According to the ever accurate AFL, the guy has shrunk by 5cm in 12 months.

Leading draft prospects at midyear