lets be realistic

My thoughts exactly.

A little like how North Melbourne suddenly became a threat to Geelong because they took care of Carlton.

Hrmm....

the saints only beat a team who isnt even playing finals. it isnt as if they beat the top side by 16 goals. they have struggled against the top sides all year. they wont beat geelong and i reckong they will be knocked out of the finals next week. i would love to see rob harvey got his premiership. but he wont sadly.

Then they "only" did what two other team failed dismally to do, and they did it in barnstorming style. They've had their moments against good sides, they just need to hold it together when it counts, and their confidence is up.

Oh, and they can't be knocked out next week with the double chance.

the saints only beat a team who isnt even playing finals. it isnt as if they beat the top side by 16 goals. they have struggled against the top sides all year. they wont beat geelong and i reckong they will be knocked out of the finals next week. i would love to see rob harvey got his premiership. but he wont sadly.

Remember according to a majority of Cats fans they already have the flag in the bag, so why bother even playing finals?:rolleyes:

Don't rate Adelaide at all either?

Um we have a double chance.

Ummm yeah....ok.:eek: Not feeling so good? Yep it was a real flogging alright, oh well you'll get over it mate.

Wow this guy is a real brain storm:thumbsdown:

ahh Essendon Supporter, always making excuses for losing. Struggled against the top teams? we smashed Hawthorn + Adelaide. we also took care of Sydney + North Melbourne. We took it up to Geelong for the first half. Then stopped. We lost to Collingwood by 8 points without skipper. Geelong should beat us this week, but I'm confident we can beat Collingwood/Adelaide. Then I reckon we have a chance against the Dogs/Hawks.

OK, let's be realistic:

The top 2 teams of the second half of the year will meet at the G in a qualifying final this sunday.....

THAT is being realistic.

My thoughts exactly.

A little like how North Melbourne suddenly became a threat to Geelong because they took care of Carlton.
Hrmm....

What utter bull**** No sane lifeform ever believed that.

A little credit surely, even from a blimp headed cat fan. Nobody not even saints fans believed that saints would beat even only Essendon by enough to force their way into fourth spot.

This is a big "duh" statment, we all KNOW this but we are all hoping (get it hope!) for the fairytale. Thanks for spoiling the party jackass.

My thoughts exactly.

Hrmm....

North are giant killers, good against good sides THAT is why people fancy them against geelong. And give them a break its probably the first time people have thought they could actually win a game! (considering they almost always have underdog status)

They're in hot form.
Of course Geelong are overwhelming favourites, and rightly so. You could just about put your house on them. But St. Kilda deserve fourth spot. Their second half of the year was exceptional, and they beat some very good sides - including the crows. They made us look VERY ordinary two weeks ago, which is what cost us fourth spot, not the fact that Essendon are absolutely pathetic. I think they'll give it a real crack next weekend and hopefully it'll be a good, close game.

They're in hot form.
Of course Geelong are overwhelming favourites, and rightly so. You could just about put your house on them. But St. Kilda deserve fourth spot. Their second half of the year was exceptional, and they beat some very good sides - including the crows. They made us look VERY ordinary two weeks ago, which is what cost us fourth spot, not the fact that Essendon are absolutely pathetic. I think they'll give it a real crack next weekend and hopefully it'll be a good, close game.

Spot on

St Kilda were only playing half a team at best. A team made up of our injured players would easliy beat the team we fielded.
Having said that St Kida could only do their best against the team they faced on the day and they certainly did that. Hope they go well in the finals.

I think the saints stormed home last year too but left their run too late and missed the finals.

THis is why a lot of people had them highly placed at the start of the season, but after the first 11 rounds everyone had written them off.

They're not the easybeat bradbury's of the finals, that's for sure.

I think a lot of people under-estimate Milne. He is a VERY dangerous little forward. I don't rate Kosi all that highly but Roo is killing it and back to his best form.

Realistically I think they'll lose against Geelong, and depending who they play the following week (North or Sydney?) they should go onto a prelim.

They thumped the hawks in the second half when we played. WOuldn't expect that to happen again, but if the two met in the prelim I'd expect a very good game of footy.

Then they "only" did what two other team failed dismally to do, and they did it in barnstorming style. They've had their moments against good sides, they just need to hold it together when it counts, and their confidence is up.

Oh, and they can't be knocked out next week with the double chance.

next week is an elimination final if they lose this week

St Kilda are in the top four because both Collingwood and North lost, and then they beat a bottom eight team that was depleted.

They have a top four spot on pretender status.

There's no doubt that in every game Geelong must respect the game and repsect the opposition as it always does, that is Geelong, and has to play their best football, focussed, win contested possessions, win tackles, full intensity from first minute to last minute, or else you can lose.

But St Kilda is certainly a good to battling side beniftted by amazing good fortune.

They will struggle. They must rely on Geelong falling. The qualifying final is in geelongs control to win, not St Kilda's.

Its exciting, bring it on!

By your reasoning, if Collingwood or North won their games, their top 4 status would of also being "pretender status" because they both faced bottom 8 sides. Tell me, who deserved 4th? if North Didn't, if the pies didn't, if the saints didn't, then who? Adelaide? lol

And Sydney weren't supposed to beat West Coast in the 2005 Grand Final either. There are 8 teams in the finals and St Kilda gets the double chance so in theory any of the 8 teams are a chance with St Kilda a better chance than some of the other teams. The benefit of 4th being they meet Geelong in the first week and even if they lose that they are still an even chance to make the GF and once there anything can happen.

St Kilda are in the top four because both Collingwood and North lost, and then they beat a bottom eight team that was depleted.

St Kilda are 4th because after 22 rounds their points and percentage put them there. No more, no less. There's very little between the teams 4-8 this year; it was possible for 3 other sides to take 4th, but they weren't able to over the course of the year. Someone had to get 4th; the cards fell our way a bit no doubt, but that's what happened. No pretenders at all, and wouldn't have been either if North, Collingwood or Adelaide had taken 4th.

Yes it is, and indeed, bring it on. It's a 50/50 ball game now (although Geelong rightly start as massive favourites).

So let's be realistic. It's finals and suddenly the season gets serious. Remember how close the now-invincible Cats came to not even being in last year's grand final. I remember so many finals that didn't go to script. On H&A form it should have been Port in four consecutive Grand Finals, not Brisbane. And North stormed into the finals last year.

Sydney has played a lot of pathetic footy in the past month but with the team's huge finals experience would you want your team to face them? If Milne plays as he did yesterday, the Saints will certainly worry the Cats this weekend.

The best eight teams in the competition are just about to start a few weeks of winner takes all. Bring it on. (For Swans supporters this has to be the most relaxing finals series of the past six years - we expect nothing from the team this year so any win would be a joyful surprise.)

There's no doubt that in every game Geelong must respect the game and repsect the opposition as it always does, that is Geelong, and has to play their best football, focussed, win contested possessions, win tackles, full intensity from first minute to last minute, or else you can lose.

But St Kilda is certainly a good to battling side beniftted by amazing good fortune.
They will struggle. They must rely on Geelong falling. The qualifying final is in geelongs control to win, not St Kilda's.

Yet another smug, blimp headed cat fan with nfi. It's like this little man, saints had to win by an outstanding margin to make fourth spot. Even playing a depleted bottom end team, this was never a certainty. In fact it would be accurate to say that few, if any, gave them a snowball's chance of doing it. And luck was not the main factor either, they had to get the score on the board and it took much resolve and effort to actually put it there. They could not control what other teams did, only what they did and I liked what I saw. A few weeks ago we were not even supposed to make the eight.

And I'm looking forward with optimism to what happens next! :thumbsu:

Milne
Hale
Franklin
Fevola
Brown
Pavlich

I keep hearing names that are a threat to Geelong if they have a good run on the day. No Collingwood names, but.

Realistically speaking, Geelong should win this game convincingly. However, if they do lose, then I would suspect that would give Geelong a wake up call and to remind them that there is still a flag to be won.

lets be realistic