Sep 27, 2004
Boys who do we want in the draft?

Im hoping we get Xavier Ellis and Marc Murphy and maybe Kennedy!!
Kpps was this year, the next draft is quick midfielders for mine.

I think if we get a Priority pick, we go with:

Ellis/Murphy
Dowler/Clark

More KPP please :)

I was watching St.Kilda the other night, and their forward line is incredibly good. Why? Because of their KPP's. They had 4 options to go to all night, and i want that!
Imagine, Franklin, Roughy, Boyle, [insert KPP of 2005 here]....

Plus, we also need some backline players....Croad gets injured and Hay goes, we are screwed....

why dont u just add Croad now mate

Dont forget they got Luke Ball, Lenny Hayes, Nick Del Santo, Goddard and the likes to get the ball in their.

Jimmyboy9 said:
why dont u just add Croad now mate

Dont forget they got Luke Ball, Lenny Hayes, Nick Del Santo, Goddard and the likes to get the ball in their.
yes their midfield is damn good
but ours is not crap by any means
mitchell hodge bateman lewis brown(could be used a handy wingman)
add travis tuck and we still got crawf who has 2 more years left I reckon
plus add one more mid that we will go for in draft
our midfield looks like mighty fine to me

Bateman has not done enough, i know he is injured. brown again not a midfielder, travis tuck unproven, lewis probly a flanker so yeh we got hodge, mitchell ... Crawf for 2 more years when he goes then we need a murphy and ellis to step in. also u need depth and rotation. Rotation especially for Crawf over the next few years is vital!!

Jimmyboy9 said:
Bateman has not done enough, i know he is injured. brown again not a midfielder, travis tuck unproven, lewis probly a flanker so yeh we got hodge, mitchell ... Crawf for 2 more years when he goes then we need a murphy and ellis to step in. also u need depth and rotation. Rotation especially for Crawf over the next few years is vital!!
bateman not done enough, he has improved heaps and has done great this year, i think brown can switch between hbf and the wing
and i wouldnt call lewis a flanker, tuck is unproven but we will be getting him.
But yes we should go for murphy and ellis, they would be great additions
and then we should got a tall defender or forward who can also play in the ruck

is that the same kennedy?
I thought he was going to be able to be drafted until next year
I read in the herald sun we would be getting tuck in the f/s this year
and kennedy next year

Jimmyboy9 said:

Before bateman got injured he was playing really well... he had been one of our best players in the midfeild

Yeh i said he was injured, and im not saying he isnt good. All im saying is i think u need to play one full season of consistent footy to be relied upon as a future midfield player. Bateman hasnt, unfortunately he has had setbacks.

Jimmyboy9 said:

Im hoping we get Xavier Ellis and Marc Murphy and maybe Kennedy!!
Kpps was this year, the next draft is quick midfielders for mine.

And this is all assuming Hawthorn lose their remaining matches?

The lack of pride and will to win reflected by supporters of BigFooty is staggering and quite disgraceful. Any club who tanks should be ex-communicated from the AFL.

Nandoz said:
And this is all assuming Hawthorn lose their remaining matches?

The lack of pride and will to win reflected by supporters of BigFooty is staggering and quite disgraceful. Any club who tanks should be ex-communicated from the AFL.
we are not tanking
our forward line isnt that strong
now that williams is out for the rest of the season most likely
how u could possibly think we could beat 3 teams higher than us on the ladder

Nightwolf_69 said:
IMO, Bateman is the player we miss the most this year. He is critical for the midfield in the future...
Totally agree. My man Bateman is the spark and class that every midfield needs - good move to get him right for next year, here's hoping for an injury free '06.
Jimmyboy9 said:
I'm sure he means you too Croady's Girl.

Leafie said:
we are not tanking
our forward line isnt that strong
now that williams is out for the rest of the season most likely
how u could possibly think we could beat 3 teams higher than us on the ladder

Never said Hawthorn were tanking, but the supporters reflecting on how it would be great for other teams to win and for their own team to lose for the sake of a few petty selections at talented youngsters is distrubing. Im convinced that such a great club like the hawks wouldnt even conceive the fact of losing matches, just thank god the actual players themselves dont think in the same way as the supporters, you play to win, simple.

Im sure if Ben Dixon had a shot after the siren, 4 points down, if he gets it, miss the spoon, if he misses, add Marc Murphy to the 2006 midfield, would walk back and slot it. Worried that a few of you guys mightnt!

Mate if Dixon kicked a goal to get us a 6th win and off the bottom. Id be enraged!! and yes i do hope as a supporter that we lose the remainder of our games so we get the first 2 picks of the draft!! I like the future and am a proud enough supporter to accept a wooden spoon. Who wouldnt want the first 2 picks in the draft. If we were in the 8 do u think we wouldve banned Hodge for a week. Hell no, we are not and winning games doesnt matter at the moment, we have a youth policy and we should use that for the remainder of the year which will probly mean we will lose the games.

If Collingwood wins, we look like getting picks 2 & 4, if Carlton wins we would be looking at picks 1 & 4 .... that's if we don't beat either Essendon or Richmond.

Personally, I'd like to beat them both, but either way the Hawks can't win in the eyes of the footy public. If we lose the rest of our games they will say we are tanking, if we win 2 more matches they will say we are stupid.

Fortunately for me I couldn't care less what non-Hawthorn people think when it comes to the Hawks.

mate if carlton beat collingwood and essendon, and collingwood beat the bulldogs which is plausible then we get picks 1 and 2. Also guys if Carlton have 5 wins and a draw is that priority picks or does the draw count.

Binxy said:
Totally agree. My man Bateman is the spark and class that every midfield needs - good move to get him right for next year, here's hoping for an injury free '06.

I'm sure he means you too Croady's Girl.

Your Man??

I wouldve thought Bateman was clearly Mattys man...

Jimmyboy9 said:
mate if carlton beat collingwood and essendon, and collingwood beat the bulldogs which is plausible then we get picks 1 and 2. Also guys if Carlton have 5 wins and a draw is that priority picks or does the draw count.

I'm not 100% sure but I don't think they count the draw, just the number of wins.

Lets hope Carlton beat Collingwood and Essendon!! Priority Picks