Autopsy Round 5, 2024 - Suns destroy hopeless Hawks

My final thoughts on this game.

Question. If you are a serious footy tipper, which game so far would you have tipped the Hawks? Maybe the Bombers?

In reality, me and 99% would have yet to pick them in any match. Just the facts.
WC, North, Tigers, Crows and after this week, Bulldogs would all be 0-5 will this draw. Imagine if the Dogs started like this! Luck of the draw/fixture.

As bad as we were on Saturday night, a few more teams are going to get belted by the Suns up there this year.

Maybe mate, but it's the way the we are losing that is the issue. All I am seeing is excuses in here. Aside from the second half against Collingwood we haven't looked like competing seriously in any game and certainly not for more than a half let alone four quarters. People can cite scoring shots and other such nonsense but we have been belted up in the midfield every week. Worpel aside, the rest of them have been absolutely awful.

At least last year we had a go and competed for 120 minutes most of the time. Can you really say the same this season?

Maybe mate, but it's the way the we are losing that is the issue. All I am seeing is excuses in here. Aside from the second half against Collingwood we haven't looked like competing seriously in any game and certainly not for more than a half let alone four quarters. People can cite scoring shots and other such nonsense but we have been belted up in the midfield every week. Worpel aside, the rest of them have been absolutely awful.

At least last year we had a go and competed for 120 minutes most of the time. Can you really say the same this season?

I remember the first 5 games last year as much the same. Couple of key injuries in the pre season and a tough first few rounds fixture

Yes we were bottom of table slightly less percentage with one win v north by 3 goals in tassie

I remember the first 5 games last year as much the same. Couple of key injuries in the pre season and a tough first few rounds fixture

Yes we were bottom of table slightly less percentage with one win v north by 3 goals in tassie

Again mate, that is 12 months ago and from then on we were largely competitive and notched some very good wins.

We should have taken another step forward with a pre-season under our belts. We haven't.

Agree. Scrim is a half back, not a kpd, amon is a wing not a half back.

I feel like they're intentionally put of position to allow other players the chance to develop
Drives me insane that we do this, we don't need players "developing" in the seniors now. Now we need players to start performing.
Amon in defence? Man is a born wingman. If someone can perform at box hill that's doing a better job on the wing, bring them out. But a stable lineup will bring better teamwork and results.

All of which, of course, is a moot point if 2/3rds of our midfield is sucking at the rate they currently suck at.

Drives me insane that we do this, we don't need players "developing" in the seniors now. Now we need players to start performing.
Amon in defence? Man is a born wingman. If someone can perform at box hill that's doing a better job on the wing, bring them out. But a stable lineup will bring better teamwork and results.

All of which, of course, is a moot point if 2/3rds of our midfield is sucking at the rate they currently suck at.
I don’t think we’re doing this at all.

The message from the club has consistently been “no limits” and players will be picked on merit. Sam clearly wants to win. We’re not trialling things and playing people out of position for development’s sake.

I don’t think we’re doing this at all.

The message from the club has consistently been “no limits” and players will be picked on merit. Sam clearly wants to win. We’re not trialling things and playing people out of position for development’s sake.
It’s very perplexing and slightly concerning then. I believe in Sam but maybe he is leaving far too much responsibility and belief on and in his Line Coaches because some of these positional decisions and plays are baffling and don’t have our players playing to their strengths. If it’s not development, then surely he has now seen enough. Put a line through what they have tried thus far and get back to playing to our strengths. The next few weeks are huge for the future direction of this club.

We have no choice with Scrim.
Who are you gonna play there instead? Serong?
I don’t know. Scrim was training this new role from the beginning of pre season and it raised my eyebrows then. This before Blanck was injured too.

We need a proper KPD in the side now. We haven’t had one all year so far. Philips must come in, he’s a confident cocky guy who will take the physical stuff on.

Agree. Scrim is a half back, not a kpd, amon is a wing not a half back.

I feel like they're intentionally put of position to allow other players the chance to develop
Scrim might have played a lot on a flank but him being a KPD is definitely his best role from a team stand point.

He’s got the height to be able to match it with the key forwards as well as not being a line breaker which is how the flanks are going. Speed and taking the game on is vital.

He’s also gone at 20% defensive loss which is really good.

Ethan Phillips must come in this week. Regardless of his form, he will automatically give Sicily the licence to play his natural roaming position which is where he is at his best.
It also sets out attacks off half back.
No better time to give Ethan Phillips a debut against Norf and under the roof which will showcase his best asset which is his marking.

Ethan Phillips must come in this week. Regardless of his form, he will automatically give Sicily the licence to play his natural roaming position which is where he is at his best.
No better time to give Ethan Phillips a debut against Norf and under the roof which will showcase his best asset which is his marking.

Another thing I need to say is that Scrim is NOT a lockdown key defender. We are robbing him of his best attributes to play him as KPD.

Also, we’d have to bring Philips in this week wouldn’t we?

Both Sicily and Scrimshaw are being forced to play roles that limit their impact. Amon too.

Again mate, that is 12 months ago and from then on we were largely competitive and notched some very good wins.

We should have taken another step forward with a pre-season under our belts. We haven't.

We stick with Sam for mine. And I do remember someone paying to close my previous account down for suggesting we had Fly in our ranks as an asssitancoach and he left because Sam was rescued from taking the Collingwood job.

We made that decision and stick with it. An non hawks coach would under even more media pressure right now

And if he has a stinker?

Scrim is going to be a KPD from now on
Not saying that he’s not doing well at it but he looks a half step off the best forwards for mine. Also means we need to find/bring someone else to play 3rd up and off their man. Yes, Sicily does it when freed up but we have looked best when both he and Scrim both play off their man.

He will get better at it with more experience on better players. Remember we want to be playing team defense so he will rotate through some of the KPs as the game goes on.

One thing I noticed was that Weddle was Mr Fix It down back on Saturday. Whenever one of their forwards took a couple of marks or kicked a goal or 2 he was sent straight to them and actually did the best job on them.

He's out injured. No chance.

One thing I noticed was that Weddle was Mr Fix It down back on Saturday. Whenever one of their forwards took a couple of marks or kicked a goal or 2 he was sent straight to them and actually did the best job on them.
That has been the best thing that has happened since Blank went down. Weddle has been asked to play a more defensive role and he has flourished. It started with his role on Cameron and has carried on from there. It adds another layer to his capabilities. Makes him one of the most valuable players on our list. A real utility and gives Sam another option in defence going forward.

Weddle was awesome.

When we aren't moving the ball well we need players that can:
a) Create some run
b) Take relieving outlet marks
c) step up defensively when the opposition get a fast break.

Somehow Weddle can do all of these things

Autopsy Round 5, 2024 - Suns destroy hopeless Hawks