Premium Platinum
Feb 19, 2008
Liverpool & Boston Celtics
Hey All,

Now that we are heading into the boring part of the season, I'd like to hear from fellow tigers about games or moments they remember since our flag winning years in 17,19 & 20.

I think its good to look back and remind ourselves how far our club has come in recent times.

For me was an amazing year, after the train wreck of 2016, it was something I would never have thought possible. Games that I remember fondly were:
Beating Freo by 100 points at Subi, living in Perth it was special to me as I had never witnessed a flogging like that since my time over here. The making of Townsend with 6 goals.
Knocking Geelong off in the Qualifying final after so many years of not being able to beat them, it was the game that had me believing and hoping.

Prelim v GWS @ G - I think I dont need to remind us why this holds a special place in our memories. :hearteyes:

Grand Final - the scenes, Richo sooking like everyone of us were. The Flag, "Tigertime".

I think the West Coast game at the G that year was close to the game of the year. I also reckon we broke the Eagles a little bit that day, they threw everything at us, we went on to greatness, they stumbled and wasted their season after this match.

Prelim v Geelong

How sweet is it to beat the cats in finals, Geelong still never took us seriously at the point in time, Scott would often make comments to down play our performances. This game was as sweet as they come

Grand Final v GWS

As a grand final, its exactly how you want it to go if you win. A no contest just pure celebration. This one for me was still important, it confirmed what we all knew in 2017 that yes, we were the best team in the comp, not a one year wonder like many opposition fans tried to tell us after bowing out in 2018.

Covid season, there was so much that could have derailed the season, seemed like every week the media were getting stuck into us about something, from being Bullies, to being arrogant, to unacceptable behaviour in the changerooms after games. Tom Lynch & Cotchin were a thugs, Grimes was a diver. You name it, we copped it.

This I remember fondly from this season was our away win against Port Adelaide in the Prelim, if it makes Kane Cornes sook about a deliberate free kick rightly paid, then its a job well done.

Then to go on and become the first side to ever win a grand final away from the G will go down into the record books and once again to do it against Geelong was oh so sweet considering that thug Dangerfield knocked Vlastuin out early in the game too.

I know I've picked on the elite games over the years but I'd be interested to hear of funny stories or moments you guys all remember, that made these years so good.

Great post. Hope there's lots of replies with memories galore !

I was at that 100pt Dockers game at Subi and I just remember sitting in the sun at the city end behind the goalposts watching goal after goal go over my head. Had the wife (a Dockers fan, geez she's a trooper to sit there the whole game like that), the daughter (who is a rabid Tiger) and the son in law, (a Kiwi rugby player Tiger convert) and we were all just a bit pissed and deliriously happy. Even the wife just rolled over in the end and ended up laughing ever time there was another Tiger goal.

Towner played the game of his life and the rest is history, Yellow and Black history.

Other memorable moments amongst the hundreds are Bachar Houli's snap goal early in the 17 grand final. I will remember the roar after that goal for the rest of my life. It just seems after that, anything was possible, and so it turned out to be.

The other thing that really stands out to me about 17 were the two massive pack marks taken by Jack Reiwoldt. He just launched at the ball, took two HUGE one-grab hangers and the crowd went bananas both times. What an incredible player.

I have heaps more but I want to go and watch some of these highlights and I may come back and post some more. Cheers.

Agree such an awesome post,,so many memories
Will do a big write up later on but my special memories
Round 3-2017,Against Eagles, rioli goal of the year
Round 5- 2017,Anzac eve Against dee's
Round 15- 2019 Against the saints, the first of 12 in a row
Round 16-2019, Against the sons, 16 goals in the first half
Round 22- 2019- Against the Eagles arguably our best home and away win
Round 23-2019,Against lions, that 1st quarter was the best we have played scintillating football

Grand Finals aside(Everyone was just bloody awesome).
My Top 5.
5)-Bris Vs Rich(2ndQF)Pulsating 1st qtr against the cocky Lions.Then Dusty decided too flick the switch with 6.
4).-Geel vs Rich(2022)Although we lost.Considering the circumstances(Losing Prestia too a dog act)and hence being 6 goals down.Hitting the front with 2mins to go showed character and what the team is made of.
3).Rich vs Geel(2019 PF).Down at Half time.Captain Cotch sets the tone after half time.Tom Lynch did the rest.
2).Rich vs GWS(2017 PF).Not so much for the game but those of us in the stands.
1).Rich Vs Geel(2017 QF).Its the game where our 3 flags were born.

I’ve had this conversation with another tiger supporter; we both managed to get ourselves, partner and kids to one of the 2017-2019 grand finals . Both of us now agree, our job as parents is now complete.

My tiger supporter niece (who I took with me to that game where the scoreboard caught fire as a kid) even got to the 2020 gf. That makes me smile.
Life is good.

View from my seat at the 2017 GF about a minute from the final siren. Bays of Tigers standing and Crows sitting. Greatest moment in the history of the world, bar none!
IMAG2444.jpg

I've said many times on this forum that the 17 flag was the greatest day of my life. Didn't go in with a negative view that we couldn't win but was worried that after making a GF we would have another Richmond embarassing moment. The feeling through that 3rd quarter as we ripped it from their grasp was just actually undescribable! Never felt so high!! As an older Tiger, the end of our drought could not have been scripted any better.

View from my seat at the 2017 GF about a minute from the final siren. Bays of Tigers standing and Crows sitting. Greatest moment in the history of the world, bar none!
View attachment 1543660

I've said many times on this forum that the 17 flag was the greatest day of my life. Didn't go in with a negative view that we couldn't win but was worried that after making a GF we would have another Richmond embarassing moment. The feeling through that 3rd quarter as we ripped it from their grasp was just actually undescribable! Never felt so high!! As an older Tiger, the end of our drought could not have been scripted any better.
Magnificent pic!!

I was on the top deck a couple of rows back from the first Coca Cola sign. Will never forget the goals sailing toward me in that 3rd quarter. When Lambert goaled and celebrated with his scissor skip I knew we had them. There was no way this team was going to let it slip from there.

Despite the slow start, when Jack took the first of his huge grabs I though we're in this now. Amazing day.

Look forward to reading this thread.

17-20 were some years. Although many people say we fell off i genuinely still reckon we have it in us. In 2021 we had a few close losses like against west coast and port, and we changed from our chaos ball style to a more direct game of footy. IMO that change of plan midway through the year ultimately made us look like a sh!t side. This year we should've been top 4. Next year top 4 lock. No need to reminisce on any success because 2023 we're gonna make it 14 yewwwww

Magnificent pic!!

I was on the top deck a couple of rows back from the first Coca Cola sign. Will never forget the goals sailing toward me in that 3rd quarter. When Lambert goaled and celebrated with his scissor skip I knew we had them. There was no way this team was going to let it slip from there.

Despite the slow start, when Jack took the first of his huge grabs I though we're in this now. Amazing day.

Look forward to reading this thread.
That first huge grab was right in front of me. Those 5 goals in the 3rd were just heavenly! You would have had a great view. Griggas would have looked great from up there. I can remember sensing Lambert's goal before he even got the ball.
My mate and I already felt at half time that we had them and felt the same as you, knew they wouldn't let it go.

The feeling of 2007 was strange...like it came out of nowhere, like some dream. We hadn't previously been real contenders and only just making up the numbers. The year before we were awful and then Lids left and there was the board challenge and I was resigned to more years in the wilderness....

And we won.

It was elating.

But I had not felt this emotion since 1980 when I was 11. I was still trying to get my head around it.

Then, shortly after the match finished my sister sent me a photo of a Tigers scarf draped around a framed picture of our late father (who had died a couple of years earlier) and that's what brought it home. Then the emotion poured out (the red wine might have helped) but it was the first time i had really cried in years.

The next two were wonderful for sure, but 2017 closed a circle of dozens of games with my dad and sister, often in the rain, Richmond getting flogged but still hoping for "Next Year".

In 2017 next year finally came. Dad wasn't there, but I'd like to think he was looking down with a smile on his face.

Grannies speak for themselves but that day in 17 will remain my greatest moment of sporting emotion.
Pandemonium that followed down Swan st few hours later is tattooed in my mind.
Beating our long time nemesis scats earlier was unforgettable as was 95k crowd v Giants.
19 gf was beautiful for the fact that I got to enjoy watching what a powerhouse club is like.
20 was great purely because it was against the cats and that look on salty was as satisfying as the end result.

Reckon there’s more to come….

In 2017 - from the depths of despair after 3 last gasp losses, then getting on a good run and believing again, then the massive thumping from the Saints (15 goals to 1 at half time), then a great finish to the season except for the (inevitable) loss against Geelong, then sheer ecstasy in the final quarter as we broke the Cats hoodoo, then the NOISE against GWS, then the greatest day of all as we beat my mother-in-law's team in the Grand Final!

In 2018 - the greatest team all season, the fear of peaking too early, the Dusty goal against the Hawks, then a life long hatred of the "USA" chant was born....

In 2019 - felt like it was going to be a wasted season in the first half. Win some, lose some. Got thumped by the Cats then the Crows mid-season and I was #eco because we had the Saints up next and they were going to put a bullet in us. We won. Then we won again. Then we kept on winning. Then the game of the year - West Coast skipped out to a 5 goal lead, but the skies were grey and Richmond fans prayed for rain. It came. Jack Riewoldt, Jack Riewoldt, JACK RIEWOLDT! That's when we knew. Nobody was going to stop us. Brisbane never stood a chance. Tom Lynch beat Geelong. GWS didn't show up and we laughed and sang and jumped for joy when Trent kicked a goal in the last.

In 2020 - Duursma choked, Kane Lambert didn't. Then we broke Geelong's hearts one more time. Ahhhhh. Satisfaction.

In no particular order, my memories
Reading and listening to Carey's comments about us and how he thought, if we made finals we would do damage. He started these rather early as well. I just remember thinking no, ****ing way we could do a lot of damage.

Qualifying Final v Geelong
Bought a finals ticket and went into the game thinking "if we embarass ourselves it isn't too much of an issue as we have hardly gotten to such a heights". I was standing on the flank and watching in awe of what was going on. This would be the first time I would be old enough to appreciate the tigers being in a preliminary final. The hug with the random bogan female Tiger supporter when Cotch kicked his goal. That moment, the smell of stale cigarette smoke and booze didn't matter. The tears that flowed watching the replay. Cotch deserved that fist pumping moment.

Prelim v GWS
I was heading out that night and couldn't make it to the game. To be honest I thought that GWS were going to beat us. Thought we were imposters. But watching the game at the pub, with the sound up, all patrons were transfixed. Those talking about other things or wishing for quiet were ostracized as we watched the tigers breeze into the granny. Still remember the debates with other supporters around Cotchin's bump on Shiel.

The euphoria of making the grand final stuck with me that entire night. I entered the Carlton Club with "god mode" enabled. Talking and picking up girls have never come easier.

Thanks Coach_Required great post

For me I could have got a ticket for the 17 grand final but as I have been in QLD my whole life and watched us be a basket case since 82 I couldn't go on my own without my brother who didnt have a ticket. We watched at home and still one of the greatest days of my life

19 we both got a ticket - just a pure celebration

20 we both got tickets with our daughters as well for the Gabba covid granny - What a night I thought we were gone. Memories I will never forget

Love this club

#eco

for me it is Dustys 'dont argue' on Flog Stewart 2017 Qualifying final half back flank,one on one skin on skin ,summed up the teams and the great ones dominance for 4 straight years,Leigh Matthews MKI nuff said ,His 3 Normies will be worshipped ,Coleman like, when hes career is over and that achievement sinks in on the wider footballing public
hes going down in story book fashion is the great man,as always its after you've retired

eff4bacb91e50b38eaadb9b71920b8f5

Just adding to my original post, I wanted to say that after we beat GWS in the 2017 Prelim, I bawled my eyes out. Even to this day it brings a tear to my eye. I'm now 47 years old. I was 5 when we won in 1980 so don't really remember except for watching it on replay years later. I remember 1982, to this day I've hated Carlton with a passion. So, to suddenly realise in 2017 that we finally were making it to a grand final was just full of overwhelming emotion for me. I didnt get to go in 17, I was holidaying up in Kalbarri that fortnight but to me it still was the greatest holiday I've ever taken.

Winning the Grand Final was the sweetest feeling and one of the best moments in my life, to have my young boys around me that day and watch them experience something in their teenage years that I wanted so desperately in the 80's when i was their age, I will never forget.

****ing love our club.

I know what you mean about the emotion Coach. GF 2017 was just about the best day of my life. I’ve been to every grand final the Tigers have been in (both winning and losing, except 2020) since 1972. The wins are all great but the ones in the 70’s were when I was a young girl, so long ago.

I felt nervous/sick all week leading up to the 2017 GF game and nearly didn’t go but my husband said don’t be silly you’ve waited so long for this. I remember him texting me early in the 2nd quarter saying Houli’s playing well and Rance is keeping you in it.

Such a great day and I felt so emotional when the siren went as I had thought I might never see another flag in my lifetime. Luckily there’s been another 2 since. Just shows that when your team wins a flag you really need to seize the moment and take it all in because you never know when the next one will be.

Will always love the mighty Tigers
🖤🖤🖤

Hey All,

Now that we are heading into the boring part of the season, I'd like to hear from fellow tigers about games or moments they remember since our flag winning years in 17,19 & 20.

I think its good to look back and remind ourselves how far our club has come in recent times.

For me was an amazing year, after the train wreck of 2016, it was something I would never have thought possible. Games that I remember fondly were:
Beating Freo by 100 points at Subi, living in Perth it was special to me as I had never witnessed a flogging like that since my time over here. The making of Townsend with 6 goals.
Knocking Geelong off in the Qualifying final after so many years of not being able to beat them, it was the game that had me believing and hoping.

Prelim v GWS @ G - I think I dont need to remind us why this holds a special place in our memories. :hearteyes:

Grand Final - the scenes, Richo sooking like everyone of us were. The Flag, "Tigertime".

I think the West Coast game at the G that year was close to the game of the year. I also reckon we broke the Eagles a little bit that day, they threw everything at us, we went on to greatness, they stumbled and wasted their season after this match.

Prelim v Geelong

How sweet is it to beat the cats in finals, Geelong still never took us seriously at the point in time, Scott would often make comments to down play our performances. This game was as sweet as they come

Grand Final v GWS

As a grand final, its exactly how you want it to go if you win. A no contest just pure celebration. This one for me was still important, it confirmed what we all knew in 2017 that yes, we were the best team in the comp, not a one year wonder like many opposition fans tried to tell us after bowing out in 2018.

Covid season, there was so much that could have derailed the season, seemed like every week the media were getting stuck into us about something, from being Bullies, to being arrogant, to unacceptable behaviour in the changerooms after games. Tom Lynch & Cotchin were a thugs, Grimes was a diver. You name it, we copped it.

This I remember fondly from this season was our away win against Port Adelaide in the Prelim, if it makes Kane Cornes sook about a deliberate free kick rightly paid, then its a job well done.

Then to go on and become the first side to ever win a grand final away from the G will go down into the record books and once again to do it against Geelong was oh so sweet considering that thug Dangerfield knocked Vlastuin out early in the game too.

I know I've picked on the elite games over the years but I'd be interested to hear of funny stories or moments you guys all remember, that made these years so good.

tenor.gif

That first huge grab was right in front of me. Those 5 goals in the 3rd were just heavenly! You would have had a great view. Griggas would have looked great from up there. I can remember sensing Lambert's goal before he even got the ball.
My mate and I already felt at half time that we had them and felt the same as you, knew they wouldn't let it go.
Absolutely!!

When JGTI kicked the first goal of the 3rd quarter I swear it was an outswinger Glen McGrath would've been proud of. Off the boot it looked to be missing to the right then it just swung right through the middle. You know it's your day when that happens.

Carlton game I remember thinking we were just manic around the contest.

Met Dimma after R5 at a corporate function. Asked him about where the boys belief was. He said it only comes from winning games.

In holidays in Thailand for the Saints game watched the first half and turned it off. Thought we were cooked.

The Tiger crowd drowning out the Cats bell in the final.

GWS game - the roar when Lambert kicked that first goal. Listening to the grog squad going off after the game. Into a GF baby. **** yeah.

GF - getting tickets for standing room late Sunday night. I come from a family of Richmond supporters - my Grandmother was a crazy mad Tigers supporter who I spent a lot of time with when I was a kid was always telling how great Royce Hart was and how she had a crush on Francis Bourke. She died a few years before the Tigers run of finals. I rang my Mum to tell her we had tickets and how I wished my grandmother could see it. We both cried.

GF parade and so many moments during the game. Houli's goal, Towner's tackle.
After the game and presentations the players celebrating with the crowd near the punt road end the sun was shining, I swear everything was bathed in golden light like it was a ****ing miracle - I'm not a religious person but it was the closest thing to a religious experience I've had. So much Joy.

mad max GIF
mad max GIF
mad max GIF
Last qtr of the 2017 QF when the floodgates opened and the realisation hit me that the sleeping giant had finally awoken from our 37 year slumber. Won't forget that night. Pure joy in the crowd. All bow to the mighty lord RICHMOND, the ruler of the wastelands, the ayatollah of Rock and Rolla.........yeah pinched a bit from a certain classic Aussie movie there. 😋

Let's Reminisce on our club's recent success