Liam Jurrah found not guilty

Seriously dude, every case is different. Fevola and Cousins had lengthy histories of misdemeanour before action was ultimately taken. Lovett was suggested to have had issues other than the rape allegation wasn't he? Jurrah by contrast was pretty much a model citizen while in the AFL system, with persistent injury his biggest concern.

Can you please expand upon your descriptor "this piece of work"? While Jurrah was in the AFL system there wasn't even a hint of there being any issue with him.

I'm sure he could if he registered with Casey as a player.

How so? Seems odd that the VFL would just allow a player to walk in whenever they want after the start of the season.

Remind me did this innocence save Lovett from being sacked, did this innocence save Cousins from being deregistered, did this innocence save Fevola from being sacked. Everyone of them was later found to be innocent, but were charged with various offences ranging from rape to exposing themselves. All found not guilty( some not even charged) and all had contributed significantly more than this piece of work Jurrah.

Where did innocent until proven guilty get these blokes.

So what's the difference between them........

Sorry people Jurrah belongs outside of the AFL not in it ( as does that piece of work in mifsud).

Geez mate whats this all about, do you know Liam personally to call him a piece of work.

Seriously dude, every case is different. Fevola and Cousins had lengthy histories of misdemeanour before action was ultimately taken. Lovett was suggested to have had issues other than the rape allegation wasn't he? Jurrah by contrast was pretty much a model citizen while in the AFL system, with persistent injury his biggest concern.

Can you please expand upon your descriptor "this piece of work"? While Jurrah was in the AFL system there wasn't even a hint of there being any issue with him.

So will you detail to me what criminal charges Fevola, Lovett and Cousins were charged with and then found guilty of whilst being registered AFL players.

So that little furphy is out of the way.

So the logical extension of what you are saying is that it does not matter whether a court finds you guilty or innocent of anything, if you have perceived "priors" or "issues" ( whatever those terms mean) as an AFL player without being found guilty of any serious charge you can be sacked, deregistered, suspended, your career taken away from you but if you have no prior but were self admittedly in a situations which were much more serious you are all right.

Alternatively are you saying, if you come from a problematic family background and go off the rails, you are allowed more leeway than if you come from a more conventional family background and go off the rails you are not?

I'll be plain- Jurrah has no place being back in the AFL. none.

Fevola and Cousins both got second chances at clubs after their respective issues. Lovett was dealt with poorly. Jurrah deserves a second chance as much as Cousins, Fevola, and Krakouer deserved one.

How so? Seems odd that the VFL would just allow a player to walk in whenever they want after the start of the season.

Why? It's an amateur competition isn't it?

Overage kids from the Oakleigh Chargers played games in the VFL Dev Squad at Port Melbourne last year...

I'd be more than happyu to give him a go at Collingwood provided he could convince the relevent peiople there that he was committed. I suspect that is all it would take for a few clubs to take him but it won't be an easy task.

Whether anyone else will admit it or not, I don't know, but I suspect that there are 2-3 young aboriginal kids who were not drafted because AFL teams did not want another potential Jurrah on their hands.

That is the lasting legacy of Liam Jurrah and how his situation was handled by Melbourne and the AFL.

Remind me did this innocence save Lovett from being sacked, did this innocence save Cousins from being deregistered, did this innocence save Fevola from being sacked. Everyone of them was later found to be innocent, but were charged with various offences ranging from rape to exposing themselves. All found not guilty( some not even charged) and all had contributed significantly more than this piece of work Jurrah.

Sorry people Jurrah belongs outside of the AFL not in it ( as does that piece of work in mifsud).

All I can say is, thank **** people like you don't run our justice system.

We stuck with our man as long as we could. Credit to Melbourne for not cutting him loose.

Whether anyone else will admit it or not, I don't know, but I suspect that there are 2-3 young aboriginal kids who were not drafted because AFL teams did not want another potential Jurrah on their hands.

That is the lasting legacy of Liam Jurrah and how his situation was handled by Melbourne and the AFL.
royals, you're suggesting we use mismanaged cases as precedent. Not sure what you're trying to achieve here. Jurrah is not guilty, and has as much right as anyone to play AFL if a club wants him. Neeld should take him back, he clearly backed him last year and rates him highly.

Good for Him! Hope he is able to overcome his personal demons and leads a happy and productive life.
Just a pity things did not work out for him in his AFL career...... Real waste

So will you detail to me what criminal charges Fevola, Lovett and Cousins were charged with and then found guilty of whilst being registered AFL players.

So that little furphy is out of the way.

So the logical extension of what you are saying is that it does not matter whether a court finds you guilty or innocent of anything, if you have perceived "priors" or "issues" ( whatever those terms mean) as an AFL player without being found guilty of any serious charge you can be sacked, deregistered, suspended, your career taken away from you but if you have no prior but were self admittedly in a situations which were much more serious you are all right.

Alternatively are you saying, if you come from a problematic family background and go off the rails, you are allowed more leeway than if you come from a more conventional family background and go off the rails you are not?

I'll be plain- Jurrah has no place being back in the AFL. none.
Oh ffs it's hardly a furphy... there is a well-documented history of "issues" for both Fev and Cousins throughout their careers. I have no doubt that there are a number of undocumented stories as well. A quick google search is your friend. I suggest you check the statement issued by the StKFC when Lovett was sacked and the subsequent commentary. There were more reasons for his sacking than simply the charges that were laid.

You illogically extend.

Oh ffs it's hardly a furphy... there is a well-documented history of "issues" for both Fev and Cousins throughout their careers. I have no doubt that there are a number of undocumented stories as well. A quick google search is your friend. I suggest you check the statement issued by the StKFC when Lovett was sacked and the subsequent commentary. There were more reasons for his sacking than simply the charges that were laid.

You illogically extend.
Detail please exactly what previous charges Messrs Fevola, Lovett and Cousins ever faced.

Start with Fevola ( from recollection no legal charges), Lovett ( from recollection a restraining order matter besides the rape charge) and Cousins ( leaving his car and possession of some drugs ( which case did not even get to trial). Any of them charged with offences in riot situation or relating to the use of a weapon.

Please correct me if I forgot one or two.

As for undocumented stories the same could be said for Jurrah as well as the 3 players I have named.

As for St Kilda their excuses for sacking Lovett were tripe and that is why they came to a settlement with Lovett.

Now let's play devil's advocate for a moment. you can pick up a cleanskin delistee or you can pick up a bloke who has shown a penchant for intoxication which gets him into legal trouble, who panics and misses court hearings and who if he goes back "home" might get into trouble again and if he does will drag your club through the mud again. Throw in that you want to pay that player 250K + . I know which one I would choose.

And I see there has been little challenge that Jurrah and Mifsud are responsible for some aboriginal players not being drafted this year ( even if they were said to be skilled). They too can thank Jurrah for their continuing to play in state leagues.

Detail please exactly what previous charges Messrs Fevola, Lovett and Cousins ever faced.

Start with Fevola ( from recollection no legal charges), Lovett ( from recollection a restraining order matter besides the rape charge) and Cousins ( leaving his car and possession of some drugs ( which case did not even get to trial). Any of them charged with offences in riot situation or relating to the use of a weapon.

As for undocumented stories the same could be said for Jurrah as well as the 3 players I have named.

As for St Kilda their excuses for sacking Lovett were tripe and that is why they came to a settlement with Lovett.

Now let's play devil's advocate for a moment. you can pick up a cleanskin delistee or you can pick up a bloke who has shown a penchant for intoxication which gets him into legal trouble, who panics and misses court hearings and who if he goes back "home" might get into trouble again and if he does will drag your club through the mud again. Throw in that you want to pay that player 250K + . I know which one I would choose.

And I see there has been little challenge that Jurrah and Mifsud are responsible for some aboriginal players not being drafted this year ( even if they were said to be skilled). They too can thank Jurrah for their continuing to play in state leagues.

Is that you Dayle Garlett?

You have an axe to grind - I'll be honest, you're not making any sound points.

Wasn't there some talk of Port throwing him a lifeline if he ever wanted to come back? Reckon he would be good for them.

Is that you Dayle Garlett?

You have an axe to grind - I'll be honest, you're not making any sound points.
It won't be the first unpopular view I've espoused ( and probably not the last). Fev, Cousins and Lovett have no great love among footy supporters but they have achieved far more in footy than Jurrah has ever dreamt about, let alone achieved, and they are seen as and treated as pariahs in the game.

Jurrah similiarly should be treated as a pariah.

It won't be the first unpopular view I've espoused ( and probably not the last). Fev, Cousins and Lovett have no great love among footy supporters but they have achieved far more in footy than Jurrah has ever dreamt about, let alone achieved, and they are seen as and treated as pariahs in the game.

Jurrah similiarly should be treated as a pariah.

If you look at it purely on face value, I'd agree.

Jurrah's situation is vastly different to any of those others - I wouldn't presume to understand it.

No doubt he's made mistakes, but I don't think he's made them just 'for the thrill' like Cousins and Fev.

Let's get one thing straight - Jurrah's not some egotistical party boy, he's a bloke who's had some significant and harsh changes in his life.

Our views of him should reflect that.

Fevola
- 2001 attempted theft, not charged, resolved via mediation. $8,000 club fine.
- 2004 assault (Crown Casino), not charged, resolved via mediation. 1 week club suspension.
- 2008 public nuisance for urinating in public (nightclub), not charged, resolved via mediation, $10,000 club fine, removal from club leadership and
- 2009 drunk and disorderly in a public place (Crown Casino), no charge due to police bungling up investigation, $10,000 club suspension and removal from TFS. Traded to Brisbane.

Australia
- 2006 assault (Northern Ireland), not charged, resolved via mediation. Removed from tour.

Brisbane
- 2010 defamation charges (Lara Bingle), investigated, but no charges due to lack of evidence.
- 2010 indecent exposure, investigated, but no charges due to lack of evidence.
- 2011 public nuisance and obstructing police, charged and bailed, contract terminated by Brisbane.

Jurrah
- 2012 assault (Alice Springs), charged, cleared by court of law.

But rant on fool.

Liam Jurrah found not guilty