Draft Profile Liam Stocker

Stocker will be a quality quality inside mid , has burst breakaway speed dual sided and tackles hard, he’s a ripper nom guesses , that’s the reason Silvagni pounced.
McGovern, Fasolo, Newman, Bugg, Goddard , Walsh and Stocker ensure we’ll escape bottom 4.
based on team lists - who do you realistically think Carlton will finish above in 2019?

Based on theory? Probably only 1 or 2 sides, but in reality, anything is possible, evident by the results of this year

• Saints, most had them on the fringe of the 8
  • Pies, no one realistically had them top 8, let alone top 4 or 2
  • North, most had them bottom 4-5
  • Crows, most had them comfortably in the 8
  • Dogs, mid table vying for the 8
  • Essendon, in the 8
Things change quickly

Add in Geelong’s aging list, Port losing two A-graders, Brisbane projected to climb but may not, Bulldogs are still young and Fremantle are in development-mode. Add a few injuries into any of these sides and they become vulnerable.

Our best senior players (Cripps, Docherty, Murphy, Kreuzer, Simpson) all staying fit, and with some natural development we will surprise some sides, as we did in 2016 and 2017.

Surely Hugh Goddard is miles off getting a game. He's been picked in case a new environment sees him improve big time.

Don’t know, point is if he does play, he is now coming into the age where he can play close to his best footy on a consistent basis. That’s the key to most good sides.

There are a number of players here who won’t be regulars, but the advantage we will have this year is that they will be ousted by form of a younger player, not necessity.

Side may look like the below most weeks, with only one teenager and 5 others aged under 22. All being played on form. Much better balance than 2018

Plowman Jones Docherty
Newman Marchbank Williamson
Setterfield Cripps Cuningham
Dow Curnow McGovern
Fasolo Mckay Fisher

Lobbe Kennedy Murphy

Curnow Bugg Weitering Pickett

Gold Coast, St Kilda, Fremantle and Port. Not saying we will finish above them all, but we could.

Port has lost some talent, could turn ugly, maybe maybe not.

Note, I am expecting the Blues to finish 3rd of 4th last (7-8 wins).

Gold Coast, St Kilda, Fremantle and Port. Not saying we will finish above them all, but we could.

Port has lost some talent, could turn ugly, maybe maybe not.

Note, I am expecting the Blues to finish 3rd of 4th last (7-8 wins).
You may strike a nerve here as they all think they will finish top 4 - the Adelaide media will certainly pump up their tyres as February premiers like they do every year

I think you need to read that again.
I don't think he's that far off.

"The Blues rated Stocker as the sixth best player in the 2018 crop"

"This year has been dubbed the 'general consensus' draft: there was an elite group of nine or so prospects at the top, another batch of six or seven players rated similarly after that, and then another six or seven in the back-end of the first round. Most clubs had a very similar group of names in their 20 best prospects.

So it meant that Adelaide, Port Adelaide, Geelong, GWS and Fremantle were all after essentially the same players with their next batch of picks: Butters, Jackson Hately, Jordan Clark, Duursma and Ned McHenry."

The rest of the article implies that the first batch was;
Walsh, Lukosius, Rankine, King, Rozee, King, Smith, Jones, Caldwell.

Next 6 are;
Butters, Jackson, Hately, Clark, Duursma, and McHenry.

The article appear to suggest that was the consensus top 15, plus academy players Blakely, Thomas, and Quaynor make a top 18 that doesn't include Stocker.

"This year has been dubbed the 'general consensus' draft: there was an elite group of nine or so prospects at the top, another batch of six or seven players rated similarly after that, and then another six or seven in the back-end of the first round. Most clubs had a very similar group of names in their 20 best prospects.

So it meant that Adelaide, Port Adelaide, Geelong, GWS and Fremantle were all after essentially the same players with their next batch of picks: Butters, Jackson Hately, Jordan Clark, Duursma and Ned McHenry."

Next 6 are;

The article appear to suggest that was the consensus top 15, plus academy players Blakely, Thomas, and Quaynor make a top 18 that doesn't include Stocker.
Thank you.
Carlton fans seem to be a little defensive about Stocker as they traded up for him.
There also seems to be a consensus out there that the 2 GC boys will be better than Walsh.
To be fair the #1 pick 95% of the time never ends up being the best player. Personally I think the AFL industry over rates it massively.

#1 picks have a bad rep because quite a few KPP have been taken and under-delivered (Jack Watts, Patten, McCartin).

Look at the first midfielder taken and you'll see few busts.

#1 picks have a bad rep because quite a few KPP have been taken and under-delivered (Jack Watts, Patten, McCartin).

Look at the first midfielder taken and you'll see few busts.
To be fair, if it wasn't for all the ACL's, Patton probably would have been a fantastic number 1 pick. Was looking early like being the next Jonathon Brown

Next 6 are;

I think you'll find that the top 8 including Blakey were a consensus and then the rest up to the top 20 were a up for debate. GWS were the only club in the market for inside mids from picks 8 on wards. If a club like Hawthorn who apparently were trying to trade up to get Stocker or Richmond who were also into Stocker had earlier picks or even Carlton for that matter then the result might have been very different.

If RCD was gone Richmond were taking Hill at #20 , Richmond were not taking Stocker

Add Weitering to that list.
Clayton Oliver already an elite midfielder at 21. Reckon Carlton learnt their lesson.

Weitering has played 56 games in his 3 seasons.
Your own Alex Rance had played just 25 in his first 3 seasons.

Alex far more of a bust early on.

High pick KPPs can only declared busts after their fifth season as history has shown us.

Weitering had a good 2nd half of 2018, getting back to 2016 form.

Weitering has played 56 games in his 3 seasons.
Your own Alex Rance had played just 25 in his first 3 seasons.

Alex far more of a bust early on.

High pick KPPs can only declared busts after their fifth season as history has shown us.

Weitering had a good 2nd half of 2018, getting back to 2016 form.
Oliver is all Australian and club best and fairest at 21. Understandable after overlooking him for Weitering Carlton looked at a safe mid as their first pick this year.
Weitering will hopefully turn into a serviceable Lever type interceptor over time.
Oliver is already at AA level at 21. Amazing.

Oh look, another who reckons you've made a mistake if the #1 pick doesn't develop into the best player of his draft.

What an amazingly simplistic way of looking at things.

Weitering just turned 21 and has shown plenty at AFL level. If he develops as we hope, I couldn't give a **** how good Oliver is or becomes.

Oliver is all Australian and club best and fairest at 21. Understandable after overlooking him for Weitering Carlton looked at a safe mid as their first pick this year.
Weitering will hopefully turn into a serviceable Lever type interceptor over time.
Oliver is already at AA level at 21. Amazing.

You do realize mids come on quicker than KPP's? Wondering how Rance was assessed compared to his cohorts at the end of 3 seasons. Perhaps reassessing the situation when they are both, 24-25, will give appropriate insight

Draft Profile Liam Stocker