Women's Footy Lions AFLW 2023 (Season 8) Discussion

“Not sure if we have much depth who would come in for heslop?”
I think it’s one area where we’re actually very well stocked. Dunne and Boltz appear to be locks. You’ve got Koenen, Campbell, Grider and Ellenger, all guns. And Monahan. That’s seven backs , plenty talls and attacking runners (Nat, Jade.) Looking pretty damn good even without Heslop I reckon.

“Not sure if we have much depth who would come in for heslop?”
I think it’s one area where we’re actually very well stocked. Dunne and Boltz appear to be locks. You’ve got Koenen, Campbell, Grider and Ellenger, all guns. And Monahan. That’s seven backs , plenty talls and attacking runners (Nat, Jade.) Looking pretty damn good even without Heslop I reckon.
I liked Heslops aggression in other tackles but unfortunately goneski on this one.

Great news on Mullins. She’s made the odd error but she’s got smarts and is precise and fluid by hand and especially foot.
With a bigger tank and a bit more muscle she might become a very good player. Cheeky too. Looks like she gives a bit of lip and doesn’t mind a wrestle.

Does anyone know what happened to Zimmy Farquarson? I wasn’t paying attention at the start of the year. Lost interest? At best she looked like she could be anything.

Think she wanted to focus on her apprenticeship and was struggling to balance that plus football. Could have been more behind the scenes.

Was put on the inactive list due to the training demands of elite level AFL football

Think she wanted to focus on her apprenticeship and was struggling to balance that plus football. Could have been more behind the scenes.
Losing her mate Jessie probably didn't help. Who knows how much of a factor it was though...

I had actually forgotten about her to be honest .
Hope she is doing ok .

Courtney Hodder is up for Mark of the year.

So she bloody well should be!

Interesting to see the thoughts of the "AFL people" count for 10 votes while the public counts for 1 vote. Hardly a ringing endorsement of the public's ability to get it right and after Hodder was robbed of the mark of the week I can't say I blame them.

Good luck but I'm confident you won't find it.

In fairness to the AFL, it's much simpler and easier to communicate and understand if you are just to say "highest finisher hosts". Factoring in an "unless..." that takes into account who won the qualifying finals would be a bit of a nightmare.

It's our own fault for being good enough to beat the other top 4 sides but also losing to three mid-table plodders.
Good outcome.

Screenshot_20231114_075455_Chrome.jpg

"Clarifying" LOL, OK. 😂

I'm not complaining but I would be if I was a Crows or Demons supporter. It's a bit late to be changing your mind on this sort of thing.

I did wonder if there had been some second thoughts on this matter when an article confirming Adelaide would still host if they made it was suddenly withdrawn from the website.

It's a bit late to be changing your mind on this sort of thing.
It's been a while but I swear there was similar musical chairs late in the piece several times in previous years, and not just the first game at MVO.

Interesting to note that this decision has most likely cost Melbourne home state GF advantage (assuming Sydney and Geelong don't make it through). They'll only play in Melbourne if they're playing North Melbourne.

The issue is there is no guaranteed ground to host the AFLW grand final which i think is a good thing.

Because of this the AFL/AFLW decided on a weekly changing seeding option during the finals.
It is possible that this was always the case but has only come to light with the top two teams losing their first final.

The AFL/AFLW are placing more importance on winning that 1st final game instead of the H & A seedings which is fine by me.

The AFLW have a very short 10 game H & A fixture where it has been regularly mentioned the fixture is far from fair.

Number of games played against the bottom 6 teams in a short 10-game season.
Dees played 5 (50%), Crows 4 (40%), North 4 (40%) & Lions 2 (20%).
So, i think the weekly revised finals seedings is a good option.

Why give a further advantage to a team/teams that played against lesser opposition than others during a 10 game H & A season.
The finals will sort out their true position in the 8.

The issue is there is no guaranteed ground to host the AFLW grand final which i think is a good thing.

Because of this the AFL/AFLW decided on a weekly changing seeding option during the finals.
It is possible that this was always the case but has only come to light with the top two teams losing their first final.

The AFL/AFLW are placing more importance on winning that 1st final game instead of the H & A seedings which is fine by me.

The AFLW have a very short 10 game H & A fixture where it has been regularly mentioned the fixture is far from fair.

Number of games played against the bottom 6 teams in a short 10-game season.
Dees played 5 (50%), Crows 4 (40%), North 4 (40%) & Lions 2 (20%).
So, i think the weekly revised finals seedings is a good option.

Why give a further advantage to a team/teams that played against lesser opposition than others during a 10 game H & A season.
The finals will sort out their true position in the 8.
More importantly it means the methodology for deciding who hosts the Grand Final is consistent with that used to decide who hosts the Preliminary Finals.

Otherwise we could have to travel to play Melbourne in a Preliminary Final, on the grounds that they finished higher than us on the ladder.

Women's Footy Lions AFLW 2023 (Season 8) Discussion