News Lions to wear traditional jumper...now reduced by the club to the 'commemorative hat-trick jumper'

Are you able to use your $15 members discount online or does it have to be in person/over the phone?
Bought mine online but must log in with your member details before purchasing. Tried it without doing this and it wanted to charge me the full $159.95 but with member log in I think it came down to $143.95

Just answered my own question. The $15 vouchers have a long number under them which can be typed in as a promotional code.

I felt compelled to email the club today also:

Dear Mr Holmes,

I am a passionate third-generation Fitzroy/Brisbane Lions supporter who has been a member of the club since I was two-years old. Now I am married with two kids, we are all proud Victorian family members and attend every game the Lions play in Melbourne with the occasional trip to Brisbane.

The last time I emailed the club was in late 2009 when I sent an email to then CEO, Michael Bowers questioning the club’s decision to change the playing jumper. I was specifically seeking further information on a supposed focus group that was run at the time to gauge the members and fan’s feedback. I believed at the time and still now that this fan feedback was insufficient and an insult to the paid up members like my family and I who never had the opportunity to voice their opinion.

To me the jumper is everything. What struck me on Saturday at the game was how strong our traditional jumper looked. Having not seen it on the field for a while really reinforced my personal view that the traditional jumper is a far superior design to the horrible design that we currently wear. The traditional jumper also well represents the wonderful merged history of Fitzroy and ofcourse the Brisbane Bears.

Whilst I know everyone does not hold the same opinion as me, there was a clear message from the fans at the after-match function on Saturday afternoon that this jumper should be retained on a permanent basis. There were also many media commentators in Melbourne discussing over the weekend how much better the traditional design is over the current.

I said this before in my previous email to Mr Bowers, but I don't see why the club can't continue with the current logo, however change the jumper back to the traditional lion. A great solution to incorporate the new logo to the jumper would be to put the face of the new lion logo on the breast where the three-peat logo is on this limited edition version.

Why the club continues to dismiss the views of long-term members is beyond me. If my views are in the minority fair enough, but I demand a members' poll to prove it!!!!!

Here in lies the problem at the moment.

patfullfankezz loves the paddlepop and is very much in favor of it, and good luck to you, if you like the jumper you must be a very happy person.

We could go into the club tomorrow as a group of 100 and say fix the jumper, but the club could say but here is a 100 people like patfullfankezz who have no problem, its not broke so why fix it.

The survey that was taken at the last home game in 2013, club could argue, did you deliberately ask people who only had old jumpers on?

I could go to the local school library tomorrow survey everyone in there and say that 1% of people smoke at school age, someone else could go to the back of the school where no students go and have a 85% of people smoke at school age.

We need to find away to find out what 90% of members and supporters who stay silent on thei subject think, I think of the people who make noise it is 90% in favor of a return to the old jumper. But if I was to go to the Auskick on the weekend and survey 100 9 year old's I would get 90% in favor of paddlepop.

We are going around in circles, and the club will come out this week and tell us to go away.

This has divided the club, and the issue I have is it never needed to be changed, Bowers has effectivly turned our supporters on each other. I don't believe changing back will fully get rid of the split, we will have a hand full of Paddlepop lovers who will want it back, but it will greatly reduce it.

I hope it gets fixed, but in the cold light of day, its the board's decision and they have so many proxy votes we can not effect change.

We can only hope common sense prevails.

For the record I will officially not return to the club as a member until the true Lion of the club is returned, Saturday confirmed that for me 100%.
Well said mate

Pretty sure there will be another run.

On Saturday, they sold out. At the post match function they said they would take orders and post to Victoria for free.

Am saving $$ for my Arizona adventure later this year, so was going to bypass, but saw them Saturday and had to buy one... used my $15 vouchers I have from my memberships which made it a bargain!!!

Best bit of the day was when at the Collingwood game, I was sitting there at half time minding my own business, when the stupid Kiss Cam focused in on me... There were Collingwood fans jeering as I shunned the lady sitting next to me and just pointed at the Lion on the guernsey. It really was my lucky night when the before mentioned lady then grabbed me and gave me a kiss as well. I have no idea who she was.... we are going to a movie later this week, cheap date for me as we will get senior citizen discount too:thumbsu:

True story......

So it wasn't like this then?

[/media]

I would like to see how many 3-peat guernseys they have currently sold compared to how many paddle pop guernseys this year.

That is an interesting question isn't it.....

Was the Paddlepop meant to deliver a 'big' jump in merch?
Was any increase in merch revenue directly to the club higher than the financial negatives delivered to the club from those who decided to stop being membersm or others who refused to by the usual other merch that they would have otherwise purchased?
Do the Board view the 600 jumpers purchased over last weekend with the 3Peat Guernsey as a once-off 'spike'?
Do the Board view that bringing back the original Jumper on a permanent basis wouldn't bring a 'big' jump in merch on a more permanent basis?

I just wish I knew what they were thinking. Sadly they come across as people who simply don't think, when it comes to this issue.

I haven't posted in a while but wow, how great was it to see the traditional lion back replacing the crappy lion!
They played with heart and passion and that's how a football club becomes successful .
Best resolution is to wear the Guernsey we wore against Essendon and change the back-to back-to back logo with our current lion head logo, even though deep down the traditional lion should be on its own as our logo with nothing around it because most people in the footy world knows what that lion represents.

Don't hold me to this, I think its 5k per player, per game if club refuses to wear the jumper specified by the AFL.

But this is off memory.

Don't hold me to this, I think its 5k per player, per game if club refuses to wear the jumper specified by the AFL.

But this is off memory.

We don't have 20 cents to pay fines, let alone $110k. $9.6M in accumulated losses over the past six or seven years means we have to go through the process.

That is an interesting question isn't it.....

Was the Paddlepop meant to deliver a 'big' jump in merch?

I just wish I knew what they were thinking. Sadly they come across as people who simply don't think, when it comes to this issue.

Part of me would still love to think they're doing a "New Coke" on us, but if so it's gone on long enough.

The club would be in a jam on this - has anyone had any response at all yet? The silence seems deafening, but I don't know what they can do from here. If the club comes out now and somehow says "we hear you" - what will that do to merch sales of the existing jumper and other P-Pop branded merch until the end of the season? Probably puts a stop to it, or at least slows it down considerably until people know what jumper we will have next year. "Hey guys, we'll look at changing next year but if you could just keep buying the existing jumper that would be great"

Part of me would still love to think they're doing a "New Coke" on us, but if so it's gone on long enough.

The club would be in a jam on this - has anyone had any response at all yet? The silence seems deafening, but I don't know what they can do from here. If the club comes out now and somehow says "we hear you" - what will that do to merch sales of the existing jumper and other P-Pop branded merch until the end of the season? Probably puts a stop to it, or at least slows it down considerably until people know what jumper we will have next year. "Hey guys, we'll look at changing next year but if you could just keep buying the existing jumper that would be great" - even our board can't be that dim (not since Bowers left, anyway).
I don't reckon. I feel a bit sorry for the concientious objectors who have no paddlepop merch. Just think, in 20 years time, when someone wants one of those "god aweful paddlepop things the Lions wore for 4 years". I'll be in the box seat to flog mine off on ebay.:D

:) If that's the case I've got some Enron shares you'll find a must-have!

The club would be in a jam on this - has anyone had any response at all yet? The silence seems deafening, but I don't know what they can do from here. If the club comes out now and somehow says "we hear you" - what will that do to merch sales of the existing jumper and other P-Pop branded merch until the end of the season? Probably puts a stop to it, or at least slows it down considerably until people know what jumper we will have next year. "Hey guys, we'll look at changing next year but if you could just keep buying the existing jumper that would be great"

As an avid collector of Brisbane jumpers I would actually think that sales would increase if this was deemed to be the last season in the dreaded Paddlepop design. Jumpers that have a certain notoriety attached have greater collector appeal and tend to fetch high future prices due to the controversy.
If anyone can remember the abomination of a Hawthorn pre season jumper of several decades ago which included Blue, gold and brown diamonds which was universally panned at the time, now fetches a fortune whenever rare specimens are ever offered for auction. If push comes to shove the Club could bundle up all existing stock and arrange a mass signing by the playing group (which in fact costs nothing to do) and sell these off on the website and that alone should maintain a higher than usual sell through and end price.

I have been thinking of late that there may be possible ramifications to the Club with existing sponsors signed to a multi year jumper logo deal?
Would changing the playing strip back to our preffered option of the traditional lion possibly breach the contract conditions agreed with these club sponsors and thus create a potential get out clause for any disgruntled Major Sponsor?
With National Storage and Vero newly signed, the Club could ill afford to risk losing one or both due to our current financial position and this could partly account for the Boards silence on this issue.
Just thinking out loud on this one and it's probably worth discussing as I am almost certain that an agreed playing strip would have to be part of the sign off process on any sponsorship deal and changing such is paramount to breaking that deal.
I have had many dealings with Club sponsors at Junior Footy level and although on a much smaller scale, sponsors do have very stringent requirements as to how their company image and logo is to be portrayed for the duration of the sponsorship and we are talking thousands and not hundreds of thousands of dollars at Junior level!

I have been thinking of late that there may be possible ramifications to the Club with existing sponsors signed to a multi year jumper logo deal?
Would changing the playing strip back to our preffered option of the traditional lion possibly breach the contract conditions agreed with these club sponsors and thus create a potential get out clause for any disgruntled Major Sponsor?
With National Storage and Vero newly signed, the Club could ill afford to risk losing one or both due to our current financial position and this could partly account for the Boards silence on this issue.
Just thinking out loud on this one and it's probably worth discussing as I am almost certain that an agreed playing strip would have to be part of the sign off process on any sponsorship deal and changing such is paramount to breaking that deal.
I have had many dealings with Club sponsors at Junior Footy level and although on a much smaller scale, sponsors do have very stringent requirements as to how their company image and logo is to be portrayed for the duration of the sponsorship and we are talking thousands and not hundreds of thousands of dollars at Junior level!

But imagine the value in being the sponsor that led the charge in bringing back the original Lion.

News Lions to wear traditional jumper...now reduced by the club to the 'commemorative hat-trick jumper'