mark of the year

Walkers was a beauty. No one can deny that.

Just to hijack the thread though, why does no one ever talk about Aaron Edwards mark from the 2007 semi final when discussing the great marks of the modern era;

He clear jumped onto Drew Petrie's head, plucked the ball in his dukes high in the air, and marked it cleanly, carrying it to the ground;

[youtube]MYqC6MPA_zI[/youtube]

By far the best mark of recent memory I reckon, yet no one talks it up.

Note that with Azza's mark too, it was an absolute clean jump - his hands never touched anything but the ball. No propping himself up with his hands at all.

ZeeFc's effort on the Carlton boards:

skywalker.gif

Watch the look on the Dons players face the whole way through.

Classic.

One of the best ive seen. Amazing.

Just to hijack the thread though, why does no one ever talk about Aaron Edwards mark from the 2007 semi final when discussing the great marks of the modern era;

He clear jumped onto Drew Petrie's head, plucked the ball in his dukes high in the air, and marked it cleanly, carrying it to the ground;

That was a great mark. One of my favourites.

I've seen the NicNat and Walker's marks live.
Carlton people were high-fiving when NicNat took that pack mark. Incredible. I was certain it was 'Mark of the Year' until Saturday night.
I didn't see Krak's mark live but in my opinion it is running third with Petterd just behind.
By the way, I think the winner only gets the Toyota for a year.

Well fortunately your opinion seems to be confined to the very small group of totally biased posters in the West who are supporting NicNats mark at the expense of reality. Andy Walker says thanks for the car.

they don't get a car! Not even for a year! I think they get, like, fuel vouchers or some shit.

Agreed. The replay just doesn't do it any justice. Robinson's column said Carlisle is 198cms - Surely that's an embellishment?

no embellishment, he's a big boy. Was a bit bent at the knees, but he ain't short

Definitely my favourite since the turn of the century.

16861.jpg
16900.jpg
16819.jpg
16888.jpg

Rohan Connolly had it at number 9 of all time, Walkers was at number 3

His list:

Smith
Sampi
Walker
Moorcroft
Roach
Burton
Barker
Farmer
Edwards
Modra

Rohan Connolly had it at number 9 of all time, Walkers was at number 3

His list:

Smith
Sampi
Walker
Moorcroft
Roach
Burton
Barker
Farmer
Edwards
Modra

I guess connolly never saw SOS's mark ..or matty Lappins hanger ..or Jezza's grand final screamer .
so many great marks over the years ..it would be almost impossible to list a top ten .
Knights and Vanderhar used to take two or three a week ....not to mention Modra and Burton ...the mark they paid to Ablett snr was a joke ..he hardly touched the ball .

I guess connolly never saw SOS's mark ..or matty Lappins hanger ..or Jezza's grand final screamer .
so many great marks over the years ..it would be almost impossible to list a top ten .
Knights and Vanderhar used to take two or three a week ....not to mention Modra and Burton ...the mark they paid to Ablett snr was a joke ..he hardly touched the ball .
Well he did hold it for a period. Iffy mark for sure but no less iffy than Roach, who didn't control it for a moment.

Someone posted a Modra highlights package a few weeks back....the guy was a freak and took a dozen hangers in that package alone, which was only 1-2 years, better than anything this year.

The old video's from the seventies are chockers full of speccies which would top anything this year.

The fact is the phrase "mark or goal of the year" flow from the commentators lips lick spittle from the village idiot these days. Every second one is mark of the decade and one in 10 is mark of the century.

With live in the age of meaningless uber hyperbole jammed full of must see television and the unbelievable, miraculous and impossible happening within minutes of each other daily;
If it's simply an every day occurrence happening to some nimrod with a camera phone then it's "surreal".

When it comes to the best mark of the year it really comes down to personal tastes, not to mention a bit of bias if a player from your teams is involved
(Mind you, Nicnats is clearly the best :))

All the debate and arguing in the world will not change the fact that Andrew Walkers mark will win mark of the year mainly because it was the best mark of the year.

Should be in anyone's top 10 list.

1.6 million views on Youtube in less that a week; this things gone viral.

More disturbingly, check out the spectator under the blonde woman, far right of picture:

art-svWALKERMARK-420x0.jpg

WTF is that?

Here's a close-up:

Scared.gif

Seriously - WTF is that?

When did we start letting Wolfmen in Santa hats into the footy?

1.6 million views on Youtube in less that a week; this things gone viral.

More disturbingly, check out the spectator under the blonde woman, far right of picture:

art-svWALKERMARK-420x0.jpg

WTF is that?

Here's a close-up:

Scared.gif

Seriously - WTF is that?

When did we start letting Wolfmen in Santa hats into the footy?

That is deleriously funny. Well spotted. The measure of Walker's mark is surely the unscripted reaction by the Essendon supporters, who went ape shit. More power to those who go to footy to see both teams play. If you're not going to do that, why would you bother to leave home?

Truthfully though, I've still got a nagging doubt about Natanui's. The mere monstrous physicality of it, combined with the uncanny grace with which he comports himself, appeals to me greatly.