mark of the year

Said it earlier in the thread but it really doesn't do much for me. With the effort the essendon player puts in, would you even call it contested? :)

The Nicnat one earlier this year actually caaused a reaction from me when I was watching tv by myself (im usually silent when i watch TV by myself) - I thought that was exciting

Said it earlier in the thread but it really doesn't do much for me. With the effort the essendon player puts in, would you even call it contested? :)

The Nicnat one earlier this year actually caaused a reaction from me when I was watching tv by myself (im usually silent when i watch TV by myself) - I thought that was exciting

[YOUTUBE]WOdjCb4LwQY[/YOUTUBE]

well that settles it then ..PAUR was excited when Nic nat took a screamer..and remained silent when Walker took his mark..because the Essendon player just didn't do enough .:eek:

The punters don't get it. In fact they're thick as shit :D

Hahaha some of the comments are ridiculous!

Calling it cheating because he jumped on the person, saying it sucked because he jumped on a person. Dumb yanks.

It's the English being English. They all seemed to have taken catches like that playing cricket with their kids. It's funny what you imagine passed out drunk on your sofa.

The fact that the Walker mark has generated discussion on greatest marks ever speaks volumes, none of Nicnat's, Krak or Pittard's did that.

IMO its up there with the best ive seen. Brett Allison's in 1991 has been overlooked on Connolly's list, also a big fan of Alistair Lynch's mark in 1989.

Im with Connolly on the Shaun Smith one, amazing grab.

Walkers was definitely MOT so far, no doubt, but you're going a bit far claiming it as "super human":) It was a case of athleticism surely but oppurtunity had a lot to do with it. Not often does an oppo defender make himself the ideal vaulting horse to such an extent.

I didn't call it super-human. I asked how many players in the league can jump that high. I'd say that given it is a 190cm leap off of 3 steps it is unlikely that a large portion of the playing group can't. That makes it incredible. Sure Carlisle made it easier, and the opportunity doesn't arise often, but Walker's taken hangers before, he just got the perfect storm this time

Am I the only one who really doesn't care who wins? I'm just loving the fact that there's so many great marks around.:thumbsu:

Someone posted a Modra highlights package a few weeks back....the guy was a freak and took a dozen hangers in that package alone, which was only 1-2 years, better than anything this year.

The old video's from the seventies are chockers full of speccies which would top anything this year.

The fact is the phrase "mark or goal of the year" flow from the commentators lips lick spittle from the village idiot these days. Every second one is mark of the decade and one in 10 is mark of the century.

With live in the age of meaningless uber hyperbole jammed full of must see television and the unbelievable, miraculous and impossible happening within minutes of each other daily;

If it's simply an every day occurrence happening to some nimrod with a camera phone then it's "surreal".

Absolutely.

Mark of the year? Apparently the word 'year' has become interchangeable with the word 'week', and for some of the dullards on this board even with the term 'all time'.

No it wasn't.

Care to give us an estimate about how high the pure leap was then?

Putting your knees on someones shoulders at 196cm tall (who is crouched) means you need a fair effort to begin with. So if I reconsider, take into account the crouch (5cm~) The fact his knees are point of contact (20cm~) and the shoulders the other (10cm~).

160cm of pure leap.

Can you jump over a metre and a half vertical in the air?

The fact that the Walker mark has generated discussion on greatest marks ever speaks volumes, none of Nicnat's, Krak or Pittard's did that.

IMO its up there with the best ive seen. Brett Allison's in 1991 has been overlooked on Connolly's list, also a big fan of Alistair Lynch's mark in 1989.

Im with Connolly on the Shaun Smith one, amazing grab.

I also think the fact it's generated so much internation interest (including HuffPost) is very telling.

For me by far the MOTY. Seeing it live was the ducks nuts - a bright beacon in a night of gloom.

There's just something about standing on a guys head that does it I reckon.

Care to give us an estimate about how high the pure leap was then?

Putting your knees on someones shoulders at 196cm tall (who is crouched) means you need a fair effort to begin with. So if I reconsider, take into account the crouch (5cm~) The fact his knees are point of contact (20cm~) and the shoulders the other (10cm~).

160cm of pure leap.

Can you jump over a metre and a half vertical in the air?

walker-andrew-mark-PICS_460-300x200.jpg

Straighten his legs and they would be at hip height of a crouching Carlisle. That would more likely be around 90cm. He then received a ride that pushed him up that wasn't pure leap. The draft camp record is something like 102cm for the running leap in ideal conditions, you really think he smashed it by 58cms?

Where he marked the ball, a ruckman could have stood there with his arms outstretched and taken it.

Kadour Ziani has a vertical leap of 60 inches, Google what a guy jumping 1.5 meters looks like, It doesn't look like that :)

I believe Walker deserves MOTY at this stage however, but no way was he approaching a world record vertical leap height.

I also think the fact it's generated so much internation interest (including HuffPost) is very telling.

It'd be very interesting to calculate the value of this mark in marketing and global exposure. It's up to 2.44 million views on YouTube. It has been featured on HuffPost, Yahoo sports UK and US, front page of Reddit and who knows where else. In other words it's gone "viral".

The dollar value of that must global exposure to our game must be incredible.

2.3 million views on youtube in 6 days, most watched AFL video of all time!

It'd be very interesting to calculate the value of this mark in marketing and global exposure. It's up to 2.44 million views on YouTube. It has been featured on HuffPost, Yahoo sports UK and US, front page of Reddit and who knows where else. In other words it's gone "viral".

The dollar value of that must global exposure to our game must be incredible.

This I'm very interested in.
It will be too hard to gauge, but has anyone heard any radio/tv or other commentary on the world-wide exposure attained here?

I would have expected at least one of the footy shows to drum it up a bit.