Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach (Part 2) - Full Support of the Board

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

Good god Marty … you literally are spelling out “jobs for the boys”.

Would you prefer a heartless club that has those in charge that actually prefer say Collingwood or Essendon for example and aren’t passionate about the Adelaide football club

Like I said I would never ever support another club you may but that’s your choice

He may or may not be best for the club but he is passionate and loves the club

Could the same be said about say Jason Dunstall if he became a board member I doubt it, he loves Hawthorn

Gale took over at Richmond but loved the club

If Roo goes so be it but I would prefer a crow man not some gun for hire than really isn’t passionate and loves the club.

Would you ever support another club I wouldn’t

Bartel is GWS director and given the sense he talks I’d have him over Roo any day. As for Roo, love seeing our football director as Fox boundary rider for Port games lauding over them when they looked decent and then when talking about the Crows referring to us as they, as if he’s not part of the club or a big part responsible for our mess.

I just want someone with brains, not some disc jockey boundary rider who tells supporters to support another club, who gets in Twitter arguments or releases player contract info on his brekkie show.

Legend footballer. Shit football Director.

Bartel is GWS director and given the sense he talks I’d have him over Roo any day. As for Roo, love seeing our football director as Fox boundary rider for Port games lauding over them when they looked decent and then when talking about the Crows referring to them as they, not us, as if he’s not part of the club or a big part responsible for our mess.

I just want someone with brains, not some disc jockey boundary rider who tells supporters to support another club, who gets in Twitter arguments or releases player contract info on his brekkie show.

Legend footballer. Shit football Director.

No wonder the nutty SANFL supporters pay out the AFL as a plastic franchise league

Where loyalty and passion for their club is everything

Where money comes second, no different to say the Brighton bombers you love them if you are there or the hallet cove cobras it’s about the passion

Maybe the AFL is more about $$ not loyalty and passion for the sport and particularly the club

Ps GWS pretty much confirms that heartless plastic franchise created by the AFL for $$$$ and market share in NSW

No wonder the nutty SANFL supporters pay out the AFL as a plastic franchise league

Where loyalty and passion for their club is everything

Where money comes second, no different to say the Brighton bombers you love them if you are there or the hallet cove cobras it’s about the passion

Maybe the AFL is more about $$ not loyalty and passion for the sport and particularly the club

Ps GWS pretty much confirms that heartless plastic franchise created by the AFL for $$$$ and market share in NSW

What tha?

Reckon both lots of supporters want the right people guiding their club to success, no matter which club they played for. I’m more Norwood than Crows and I couldn’t care who ran Norwood as long as they were good.

You’ve heard both speak I’m assuming, you’d prefer Roo who despite loving the club has been a shit football Director or Bartel who comes across as someone who knows what they are talking about.

What tha?

Reckon both lots of supporters want the right people guiding their club to success, no matter which club they played for.

You’ve heard both speak I’m assuming, you’d prefer Roo who despite loving the club has been a shit football Director or Bartel who comes across as someone who knows what they are talking about.

No idea prefer a board who loves the club and is passionate about the club and actually barracks for the club that’s what sport is about

If Roo isn’t the man then look for another crow man I can live with a coach who’s up for it but not the board who run the club and love the club

But hey I support the crows because I supported Glenelg as Norwood supporters do. But I hate Norwood and wouldn’t consider supporting them and I wouldn’t want their supporters jump on Glenelg as they are true Norwood people

Yep pretty tribal but hey it’s real it’s passion and I want all those running the club having the passion not some ring in money grab person who really supports another club they grew up with

I wouldn’t want west coast supporters jumping ship to the crowd

Barrel doesn’t love gws he loves feeling and so he should those who run Geelong do also maybe one day he will run the club and live it, probably the same reason danger wanted to play there

What tha?

Reckon both lots of supporters want the right people guiding their club to success, no matter which club they played for. I’m more Norwood than Crows and I couldn’t care who ran Norwood as long as they were good.

I actually hate Port but you have to love kochies passion for his club

I hate Eddie but love his passion for his club

Kennet was another absolute tool but he loved the hawks

That’s what you gotta love about sport

No idea prefer a board who loves the club and is passionate about the club and actually barracks for the club that’s what sport is about

If Roo isn’t the man then look for another crow man I can live with a coach who’s up for it but not the board who run the club and love the club

But hey I support the crows because I supported Glenelg as Norwood supporters do. But I hate Norwood and wouldn’t consider supporting them and I wouldn’t want their supporters jump on Glenelg as they are true Norwood people

Yep pretty tribal but hey it’s real it’s passion and I want all those running the club having the passion not some ring in money grab person who really supports another club they grew up with

I wouldn’t want west coast supporters jumping ship to the crowd

Barrel doesn’t love gws he loves feeling and so he should those who run Geelong do also maybe one day he will run the club and live it, probably the same reason danger wanted to play there

So your preference is whether they love the club over someone that’s actually good at their job.

No one is asking supporters to swap teams, these are professionals and once they work at a club they give their all.

So your preference is whether they love the club over someone that’s actually good at their job.

No one is asking supporters to swap teams, these are professionals and once they work at a club they give their all.

Haha it’s a job to those sort of it doesn’t work out oh well still got the pay packet

It does show what sport is all about and what corporate entities are all about though

Are we are corporate entity if so don’t ever complain about being a corporate ever again

Could the same be said about say Jason Dunstall if he became a board member I doubt it, he loves Hawthorn

If Roo goes so be it but I would prefer a crow man not some gun for hire than really isn’t passionate and loves the club.

The problem is our board, CEO and most importantly our GM of football aren't football people.

Off field we're more like an unsuccessful bank than a football club.

The board run the club

Not the ceo m, football director cfo as they all report to the board effectively

The board are it, the club will be determined by the board

Roo is our only board member who is a football person do we need more at board level

Is it really that hard to understand

Yep and our football is ****ed. So thanks Roo. He’s kept your mate Ogilvie in his job for how many years now?

Would you prefer a heartless club that has those in charge that actually prefer say Collingwood or Essendon for example and aren’t passionate about the Adelaide football club

Like I said I would never ever support another club you may but that’s your choice

Wouldn’t that apply to coaches as well?
These guys are (supposed) professionals. They aren’t going to do a worse job being employed at a club they didn’t grow up supporting or playing.

Give me someone who knows what they’re doing over a clueless passionate board member any day.

2 x Geelong Premiership captain, Tom Harley, is the current CEO at Sydney. "The prosecution rests your honour".:tonguewink:

BTW... The peak golden period of Geelong were Harley's years as captain. Sydney looking unstoppable just now. I wonder if all that's just luck?... or a real good operator at the helm? He's not mentioned widely. Overlooked IMO.

Roo was awesome for us and I'd love nothing more than to draft another Roo. But he's been involved in too many mistakes and overseen too many poor decisions. And all of which for too long. The evidence could not be any more clear. Time to go.

I've posted this stat a few times, and I'm posting it again.

Over the past five years, since Nicks has coached us

We've played the following 10 teams

Sydney, Collingwood, Essendon, Brisbane, Fremantle, Geelong, GWS, Melbourne, Richmond, Bulldogs

53 times for 7 wins.

Is this acceptable to the Nicks defenders?
Is this coaching? Development? Recruiting?

Damning.

Balme or not, Nicks is useless, any changes we make that don't replace him still ties one hand behind our back.

I'll answer this first:
I've been a Crows' supporter since their inception, so, no. Never. It's not possible for me, even as despondent as I am about losing the 2017 GF (still gnaws at me) and the years since.
Yes, I'd prefer a Crow-man too, speaking of whom Tex --- my fave Crow --- may not play another year but I'd like to see him stay on in some role. Forwards' Coach? Anybody know what his post-playing plans are?

My understanding is that Roo has to go after 10 years anyway. Maybe he could be involved in some other way (fundraising?), just not administratively? I would have thought he'd have learned a few good things from the best of Blight and Neil Craig but he does not seem to want to be a Coach/Assistant.
(I've gotta be honest.
I'm still dark about his 2005 suspension which no doubt contributed to the loss to St.Kilda and instead of playing WCE at home in a PF, we had to travel to Perth and lost :sob:. However, I can separate that from his years on the Board since 2014. Like I said, his influence far outweighs his Administrative capabilities.)

BTW... The peak golden period of Geelong were Harley's years as captain. Sydney looking unstoppable just now. I wonder if all that's just luck?... or a real good operator at the helm? He's not mentioned widely. Overlooked IMO.
Very good point :thumbsu:; cannot be coincidence. Is very effective while staying in the shadows.
Roo was awesome for us and I'd love nothing more than to draft another Roo. But he's been involved in too many mistakes and overseen too many poor decisions. And all of which for too long.
This, sadly.

2 x Geelong Premiership captain, Tom Harley, is the current CEO at Sydney. "The prosecution rests your honour".:tonguewink:

Roo was awesome for us and I'd love nothing more than to draft another Roo. But he's been involved in too many mistakes and overseen too many poor decisions. And all of which for too long. The evidence could not be any more clear. Time to go.

The ceo reports to the board

I'll answer this first:

I've been a Crows' supporter since their inception, so, no. Never. It's not possible for me, even as despondent as I am about losing the 2017 GF (still gnaws at me) and the years since.

Yes, I'd prefer a Crow-man too, speaking of whom Tex --- my fave Crow --- may not play another year but I'd like to see him stay on in some role. Forwards' Coach? Anybody know what his post-playing plans are?

My understanding is that Roo has to go after 10 years anyway. Maybe he could be involved in some other way (fundraising?), just not administratively? I would have thought he'd have learned a few good things from the best of Blight and Neil Craig but he does not seem to want to be a Coach/Assistant.
(I've gotta be honest.
I'm still dark about his 2005 suspension which no doubt contributed to the loss to St.Kilda and instead of playing WCE at home in a PF, we had to travel to Perth and lost :sob:. However, I can separate that from his years on the Board since 2014. Like I said, his influence far outweighs his Administrative capabilities.)

Roo can not stand as a board member as he has served his 10 years however he can still continue as a Football Director. They are not the same.

Ah ok, thanks.

Well, it's out of our hands.
There are obviously Board Members who still value Roo as Football Director. I Googled "Football Director", got this:
"Promoting the club and its brand. a) Responsible and accountable for the development and implementation of the Club's football program and coaching strategy. b) Develop game plan and style of play consistent with Club's football strategy".
I would have thought the bolded sections were the roles of the Head Coach.
My guess is that the players' current confusion onfield re 'Game Plan and style-of-play' might be made worse by any conflict (not that I've noticed any) between Nicks and Roo. I wonder how Nicks, Roo and Balme will work together if Balme joins in the part-time role he alluded to on TV.
Also:
"Often, their key task is managing transfers of players to and from the team. However, the nature of the position varies, and their role at a particular club may be more specialised.".
Hence the Lever, McGovern, Greenwood, Betts, Cameron and Keath messes?

If Roo's retained as such then it's a lot like the Nicks' 2-year extension --- unpopular externally but popular within the Inner Sanctum.