Rumour McLean Out For The Year

The important thing Kruzering is that even if it is not injury related and he was dropped for bad form, you still cant make the correct judgement just yet.

Russell was dropped ten + times...how do you feel about him?

Walker is mature and has been dropped 10+ times...how do you feel about him right now

Houlahan has been dropped on his head that many times it is not funny...how do you feel abouot him right now?

So what about mclean being dropped for injury or form...played 6 games and you want to say Carlton made a mistake. Well the abiove mature players are now making a dfference to our season. Houla and Walker are incredibly important right now.

If Mclean had played 22-44 games and you said i think Carlton got it wrong, a lot more people would chime in in support.

Judging after 6 games is not showing any supprot at all for a Carlton supporter.

You seem to miss this very important point!

To the point with great examples to validate. Nice post.:thumbsu:

Where's the love 5?? don't rate me anymore?? ;):p

Sure I do Gilly I am just tired of all the wrestling of the tag-team variety that occurs on our board.

What I love most about you is that I cannot remember you abusing or degrading anyone BUT see the below for examples of how some destroy the tone of our board

Too many alleged Carlton supporters are spuds and morons.

Right on the money there T.G. :thumbsu:

as K below says

Would it be possible for you to just make your argument without the line at the bottom bagging the sh!t out of the poster you disagree with??

Most of us fell for this trap when we were noobs (I know I did) but it seems to me that if it is acceptable to defend all Carlton players to the hilt then I would like to think it folows that we (non-noobs) can at least respect all Carlton supporters (or politely ignore them if you need to bite your tongue). The mods can sort out the trolls :footy:

I am peddling this message of late as I find the tone of the board combative when it is basically the supporters of one club. I know TG, I can take my bat and ball and ....

it is valid.

if dud player x got caught holding the ball several times a game, it would be because he is slow and shit, but when Brock Mclean is caught holding the ball its got nothing to do with his indecision, or his slow hands, or his fumbling, but according to SinCity he just didnt want to cough the ball up to a team mate under more pressure. hence the double standards.

the post was about highlighting the double standars, not a debate about what position Trent Sporn played.

Completely invalid. You haven't been able to show any, let alone enough examples of when McLean has been caught with the ball while he had a better option. It sounds like you've written him off because he's slow without having a good reason.

I'm not sure where this Sporn business or double standard stuff came about, I don't go around bagging any player without at least giving a reason (outside bay13).

Most of us fell for this trap when we were noobs (I know I did) but it seems to me that if it is acceptable to defend all Carlton players to the hilt then I would like to think it folows that we (non-noobs) can at least respect all Carlton supporters (or politely ignore them if you need to bite your tongue). The mods can sort out the trolls :footy:

I am peddling this message of late as I find the tone of the board combative when it is basically the supporters of one club. I know TG, I can take my bat and ball and ....
I bite my tongue with the sensible posters, but our ferals, impatients, flogs and whiny star****ers need to show some respect if they want to be treated with respect.

For example...

Bullants vs. Coburg at NAB
Bluey89 said:
There was a bunch of so called supporters in front of us in the grand stand that were bagging players in particular Warnock and at one stage Wiggo who was showing his leadership qualities on the interchange overhead them slagging off Warnock and turned around and had a red hot go at them.

The great unwashed will break the Mclean bandwagon when he starts playing well.

Well said, Five. :thumbsu:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=710528
I was at the game today, and can't believe the lack of knowledge a large number of our supporters have about the game of football. Prior to half time Lachie Henderson was receiving the bronx cheers from the majority of Carlton people at the game. The kid is 20 years of age and was presenting to the right spots. Unfortunately for him he couldn't get them to stick initially, however as the game wore on he got better and was our only forward for the day. The same people that were jeering him in the first half were then praising his efforts in the 2nd half. I HATE FICKLE and DUMB supporters.

Sure I do Gilly I am just tired of all the wrestling of the tag-team variety that occurs on our board.

What I love most about you is that I cannot remember you abusing or degrading anyone BUT see the below for examples of how some destroy the tone of our board

as K below says

I support your crusade 5. It is an honourable and brave fight. This board has gone seriously down hill of late. However, I suspect TG and others have seen these exact same discussions over the years and get frustrated by it. PlayerX is a dud, CoachY is crap, the reason we lost is because PlayerZ can't play and if that hack coach ever picks him again, I am never going to another game etc, etc. Sometimes, those players have been moved on, other times they have become stars. The fact is that impatience breeds discontent and it is always best to make sure that you have a body of evidence before taking a position. 6 games is not a sufficient body of evidence, 20 probably isn't either. Not advocating blind faith, just a bit of patience.

I think you're right GB.....there is an inverse relationship between your time on BF and patience with knee-jerk reactionaries.

I'm sure we've all come across the "never good enough" attitude in people through all circles of life.

It's really not that hard to skim over the negative attitude that prevails when you realise that it is they who have the problem.
We have here on our board, some that can be reasoned with irrespective of whether they ultimately subscribe to your viewpoint or not and then there's others that dig there heels in and set out to ensure that their viewpoint stands out from anyone elses with intent to disrupt the thread as much as possible.

The Carlton board is by far the most active board on Big Footy and for all the welcoming of sensible debate, we'll also get the disruptive lot but let's not say that none of us have had a bad moment here either
Football can bring the worst out in all of us at times. :)

What we need are more "just bounce the ****ing ball ump"'s from the extinct one

I understand everyone is asking for patience with Mclean, however he is 24 years old. Not a fresh faced kid from the TAC that hasn't grown into his body.

He has played good footy in the past. Many refer to his 2006 finals campaign as being dominate.

I expected that he would come in and play well instantly, which IMO should be the case when trading first round picks for mature players.

If he is not carrying an injury, I don't understand the poor form. Maybe the game is just getting too fast for him?? I don't think "getting used to his team mates" is really an excuse because it hasn't been an issue for any of the other mature players changing clubs recently.

Anyway it's early days, hopefully he comes good. Lucky for us, if he does turn out to be useless we will still have enough pieces to win a flag.

If you look back at comments from Rounds 1 and 2 when McLean was fit you'd see him mentioned in the bests each game until he hurt himself in round 3.

Hopefully he can slim down a bit because he is built like a tank and hopefully he can gain a bit of speed in doing that. I'm all that fussed about his game play though, more worried about his body and if he can keep himself on the field. His leadership and footy smarts are also not to be underestimated, would easily have a fit Brock in the side over Hadley (and I love Hadley's work)

I understand everyone is asking for patience with Mclean, however he is 24 years old. Not a fresh faced kid from the TAC that hasn't grown into his body.

He has played good footy in the past. Many refer to his 2006 finals campaign as being dominate.

I expected that he would come in and play well instantly, which IMO should be the case when trading first round picks for mature players.

If he is not carrying an injury, I don't understand the poor form. Maybe the game is just getting too fast for him?? I don't think "getting used to his team mates" is really an excuse because it hasn't been an issue for any of the other mature players changing clubs recently.

Anyway it's early days, hopefully he comes good. Lucky for us, if he does turn out to be useless we will still have enough pieces to win a flag.

What poor form are you talking about? He was in the best players against Richmond, Brisbane, Geelong and West Coast. Injured early against Essendon and had a bad game against Collingwood, but also missed three weeks injured after it.

Just my personal opinion.

Perhaps I just have too high expectations on him.

Who had him in the best for the wet toast game? Surely not Ratts seeing he got dropped.

This is the thing about this debate. I think that Mclean has been really good. I think our midfield looks better when he plays. He is still getting used to the setup around restarts and stopages but other than that, he has looked good to me. Clearly the MC do not necessarily agree with this, since he was dropped last week but there maybe more in that......In any case, he is not the first inside midfielder who was misunderstood by fans......I remember Brett Kirk used to get a fair bit from the Swans fans years ago (not making a comparison of quality, just that it is a part of the game some people miss - Kirk is a star)

I bite my tongue with the sensible posters, but our ferals, impatients, flogs and whiny star****ers need to show some respect if they want to be treated with respect.

For example...

The great unwashed will break the Mclean bandwagon when he starts playing well.
The simple matters is Mclean will likely be delisted in 2 years if his always playing injured or too slow for the game bookmark it.They will persist with him next year because of contract and maybe give another year because of the high pick. His pretty much a one position player also.I just see guys like Robinson,Grigg able to do his position who knows Anderson and Browne maybe or even throw Armfield there.Their should be a TAB where you can put a bet on who will a great player or not.I would be a very very rich man If I were a rich man,Ya ha deedle deedle, bubba bubba deedle deedle dum.
All day long I'd biddy biddy bum.

2006 is like 1966 the game is different most team can't carry too many slow players in their 22 you might be able to carry a few as a Full Forward or Full Back or a player like Scotland and Houlihan who can play several roles/positions.

Just my personal opinion.

Perhaps I just have too high expectations on him.

Who had him in the best for the wet toast game? Surely not Ratts seeing he got dropped.

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/95310/default.aspx

BEST:
Carlton: Gibbs, Murphy, Judd, Robinson, Scotland, Simpson, Walker, O’Hailpin, Mclean

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/95310/default.aspx

When you can get 19 touches and 9 tackles in barely over half a game you deserve to be in the best players.

Their should be a TAB where you can put a bet on who will a great player or not.I would be a very very rich man If I were a rich man,Ya ha deedle deedle, bubba bubba deedle deedle dum.

You wanted us to pick up Mitch Thorp. You would be broke. :eek:

I think you're missing the point Spudchamber.......he's a one position player.....well yes....exactly, we needed a guy of his type to scrounge, block, bottom feed packs and free up judd and Murph and lessen the wear and tear on their bodies throughout 22 games +. Hadley had/has question marks over his body and at the present time nobody else can perform that role.....we may have paid over the odds, and his body may not hold out in the longer term....but the fact was we needed him, now, and there were no better options on the table.

Their should be a TAB where you can put a bet on who will a great player or not.I would be a very very rich man If I were a rich man,Ya ha deedle deedle, bubba bubba deedle deedle dum.

wtf-stamp.jpg

No really, I need someone to explain this to me....

Rumour McLean Out For The Year