MEGA THREAD***** Hawthorn vs Collingwood + umpires

Re: Hawthorn vs Collingwood + umpires

A shattering loss by the Hawks. We had our chances.

But as this thread is about the umpiring the Gibson and Hodge non decisions I can live with - when in doubt let it go, but the Puopolo decision was a disgrace. Could the umpire involved be named and made sure next week is is a long way from the MCG.

WTF was that when Maxwell was pinged for holding the ball....after he'd stopped for a whistle.
This you'll find that's because the free kick which wasn't paid was so totally obvious to every person in the MCG except the umpire that even Maxwell stopped dead assuming that it simply had to be paid. And then it wasn't, so he got tackled and made no attempt. Either way should have been a free kick to the Hawks anyway.

WTF was that when Maxwell was pinged for holding the ball....after he'd stopped for a whistle.

yup, and cyril playing on whilst everyone was still trying to understand if it was a free or not. Umpires should of caled it back forcyril to take the kick back. In a perfect world ofcourse.

Good one. There was no whistle. Maxwell only stopped because he saw Rioli get his head ripped off, although the umpire didn't pay that.

Re: Pies v Hawks holding the ball

I can cop the non-too high against Hodge but that holding the ball decision was a disgrace. Ruined the game. I was as tense watching that game as I've ever been watching the bombers. It was amazing. That should have been a ball up and a stoppage. It was the wrong decision at anytime, and totally inconsistent with other decision on the night, but considering where and when it was paid made it even worse.

Hawks choked but were still better than the Pies.

Umpires did kill any chances of Hawks winning in the last however.

Wonder if the same people bagging the umps here, are the same ones telling Blues supporters to get over it after last week.

Amazing how opinions change depending on the jumpers.

Fwiw : umps were good for 3/4, and then it all went to crap in the last. Perplexing!!

There were lots of mistakes ..... many players made bad mistakes. The umpires made bad mistakes. Get over it I reckon.

Hodge ducked his head, so why should he get a free kick?

Puopulo took way too long to get rid of it in the dying stages of the game. Free kick.

The best team on the night won it, so suck it up.

Ahhhhh, yess. Such accurate, logical comments. And if there had of been bad frees against you in the last quarter, you'd be saying the exact opposite, and you know it. The best team will win on the day next Saturday. It'll be Geelong by about 10 goals I reckon. We'll see what you say then.

Maxwell initiating contact with Lewis, Lewis winning that battle, umpire calls free, and says it is down ground BEFORE Davis kicked it, wtf?
Oh man, I had forgotten this one. Hard man Maxwell goes the hit, then goes the hit again and falls over, and it results in a free kick TO Collingwood. Absolute shocker of a decision and IIRC either resulted in a goal directly or at least a good attack for the Pies at a point when they were really struggling.

This you'll find that's because the free kick which wasn't paid was so totally obvious to every person in the MCG except the umpire that even Maxwell stopped dead assuming that it simply had to be paid. And then it wasn't, so he got tackled and made no attempt. Either way should have been a free kick to the Hawks anyway.

on a much tighter angle. As opposed to an easier angle after cyril was allowed to play on almost immediately whilstplayers were still confused giving no chance for the defense at all.
Bottomline we ALL can whine about every singlecall that we didnt like.

Dissapointing that after one of the best games of footy this year people are focussing on the umpiring.

Wonder if the same people bagging the umps here, are the same ones telling Blues supporters to get over it after last week.

Amazing how opinions change depending on the jumpers.

Fwiw : umps were good for 3/4, and then it all went to crap in the last. Perplexing!!

No, completely different... What do neutral supporters get out of screaming robbed to an opposition side?

.Pendlebury ducking his head and getting too high.
.Maxwell initiating contact with Lewis, Lewis winning that battle, umpire calls free, and says it is down ground BEFORE Davis kicked it, wtf?
.HTB against Puopolo was poor.
.Hodge too high, hmmm would need to see it again, at the time I thought it was too high, but haven't seen a replay yet. How I saw it, Hodge, didn't duck, he was just lower then Reid, It then becomes Reid's responsibility to not get Hodge high?
.The advantage Hawthorn get, out to Burgoyne, burgoyne gets caught, drops it - and it gets called play on? Umpire feeling sorry for Burgoyne because of stupid advantage rule.
.Leigh Brown CLEARLY HOLDING GIBSON to shephard through Leon's goal was just a disgusting non decision. A free every day of the week, no doubt about it.
.Tarrant non decision deliberate out of bounds. Wow. Makes you wonder. .

You missed a few mate:

Maxwell HTB after play had stopped
Leigh Brown copping a hand in the face by Gibson in the goalsquare
50m to Dawes in the gaolsquare not paid
Dawes free in the back not paid on the wing
Several hnawthorn throws
others I can't be bothered explaining to you plebs

Wonder if the Geish will come up with the same bullshit he did last week. Wasn't it something about palms facing backwards was ok. Can't remember, but do know that I was more confused after his stupid explanation, so I can only imagine what it will be this week?

get over it mate, that was never a free against glass

Only losers blame umpires for choking. Poor form.

You might have noticed it's largely neutrals on here complaining.
Even hawk hating cats fans.
We definitely have ourselves to blame, but geez, when you lose by 3 points and three incorrect decisions in a cut throat low scoring final have such an impact on the result you got to understand the outrage.

fair dinkum! pies have won in spite of an extremely poor umpiring display. \
Luke Hodge is getting towards the joel selwood ducking class. every time he had a mark/free kick he dropped the balled and tried to milk a 50.
the better team won.
bring on the Cats

Hodge ducked his head, so why should he get a free kick?

Puopulo took way too long to get rid of it in the dying stages of the game. Free kick.

The best team on the night won it, so suck it up.
I don't think he did duck his head though.

I think he was lower then Reid getting the ball, and Reid didn't get low enough to tackle him legally.

Wasn't a lot of high contact, but it was there.

You missed a few mate:

Maxwell HTB after play had stopped
Leigh Brown copping a hand in the face by Gibson in the goalsquare
50m to Dawes in the gaolsquare not paid
Dawes free in the back not paid on the wing
Several hnawthorn throws
others I can't be bothered explaining to you plebs

1. Maxwell stopped, why is that Puopolo's fault?
2. Fair.
3. Can't remember it.
4. Dawes dived forward and left Stratton no other option but to land into his back.
5. Seems like a cop out this one, Burgoyne one was there after the stupid advantage was paid and the umpire felt sorry for him, but throws are common in games these days. I can't remember any being picked out?