News Melbourne's Next Coach - Roos for 2-3 years with a succession plan

WHO DO YOU WANT?

Can I ask you why don't we get a Elite performance coach to match our Elite performance manager Dave Misson, because its all in the title .. think Dave has really made out performance elite ..

If Dave asked for that title - they are the wa&nkers we need to pay out as well.

Connolly won't be coming back - from all reports he'll be paid out too

Re Craig - who knows what his position will be, if it will be tenable come season end

I don't see him as an overly serious candidate personally

I don't either TBH
He didn't look all that happy when talking about Neeld. I just fear its going to take longer to turn the club around than turning the teams form around.

I actually thought about this yesterday, specifically Dawes.

EDIT: Not that I think he'll necessarily be angry, but I think Neeld was a big reason he came to Melbourne (that, and $$)

Dawes is literally the only one. Though he signed a contract and is getting paid very well. He can't let one hiccup stop him from giving his all.

Let's give Craig a chance. What the hell. What have we got to lose?

I agree, both in the immediate term and also beyond this year. Without being in the inner sanctum we have no idea what influence he has had in his time at the club, so I'm happy to 1) back him for now and 2) not necessarily sack and pay him out at years' end. It may depend on the opinion of our new coach as to whether he stays and in what capacity.

You need a new Avatar - Stealing SYL's and posting here is poor form.

Not sure if srs

Reports were that PJ asked the AFL for up to $3m - pretty much all of which will be used to pay out contracts. With Schwab and Neeld gone for what? $600k each? That leave plenty to terminate substandard assistants too, regardless of contractual status. And some change to payout under-performing list cloggers.

Is $3million enough to pay out 35 players? and I think I am erring on the positive side.

Matty Knights endorsement from Chris Scott:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-06-19/knights-to-have-his-day

Specific thoughts on Knights? Personally I don't want him - he may be successful at VFL level but as we've seen in our own players VFL and AFL are very different capers. Despite Scott's endorsement (what else is he going to say, anyway?) I would have Matty pretty far down our list.

Sounds like an exciting meeting for the AFL execs.

PJ: "Hello, I need $3 mil to sack everyone. Spare some change?"

Matty Knights endorsement from Chris Scott:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-06-19/knights-to-have-his-day

Specific thoughts on Knights? Personally I don't want him - he may be successful at VFL level but as we've seen in our own players VFL and AFL are very different capers. Despite Scott's endorsement (what else is he going to say, anyway?) I would have Matty pretty far down our list.

I think the supporters would want PJ's head if he did that.

Offer him a mid coach role or something, I'd be pretty happy with that.

If we get Knights we can find heaps of supporters from Essendon to help us bag a new coach ..

We need someone that is going has a positive impact. The only two are Roo's and Clarkson .. if we don't land either of these are going to have to settle on a second run (like Eade and Chocco) .. which is still a few steps up on what we have had but wont be a impact on the supporter base.

Is $3million enough to pay out 35 players? and I think I am erring on the positive side.

Salary cap is near 9 million I think. We could make up a bit of the difference by selling the de-listed guys off as slave labour, but it wouldn't be much as there'd be 8 year olds out of 3rd world countries who work harder.

Won't get Knights unless something goes horribly wrong. If they gave us the money to sack Neeld, they're going to want an experienced coach with a decent record taking over, otherwise they'd be pissing their money up the wall.

Not sure who we'll get, but it'll come out of Clarkson, Eade, Williams and Roos I reckon. Knights and a few of the other options discussed are a bit too speculative.

Won't get Knights unless something goes horribly wrong. If they gave us the money to sack Neeld, they're going to want an experienced coach with a decent record taking over, otherwise they'd be pissing their money up the wall.

Not sure who we'll get, but it'll come out of Clarkson, Eade, Williams and Roos I reckon. Knights and a few of the other options discussed are a bit too speculative.

Yeah, that's how I see it too. Far too risky to go for another coach who is untried and/or has a dodgy track record.

Essendon were pretty horrendous under Knights, could not defend. No thanks. Also although Craig wouldn't be my preference, I don't get why he wouldn't be better than most of the names being thrown around. He did a good job at the Crows, they were a tad boring but they were well drilled.

My options in order of preference:

Clarkson
Roos
Eade
Choco
Me
Fold

I agree, both in the immediate term and also beyond this year. Without being in the inner sanctum we have no idea what influence he has had in his time at the club, so I'm happy to 1) back him for now and 2) not necessarily sack and pay him out at years' end. It may depend on the opinion of our new coach as to whether he stays and in what capacity.

Not sure if srs
nah, I was foolin' around. :)

Salary cap is near 9 million I think. We could make up a bit of the difference by selling the de-listed guys off as slave labour, but it wouldn't be much as there'd be 8 year olds out of 3rd world countries who work harder.

Salary cap around 12 million next year, we're currently paying around 11 of 11.68 this year.

Not quite, Schwab already accounted for. 600k off for Neeldy. All assistants contracts are up at year end bar Craigy, who I think will stay on.

So 2.4million to spend on god knows what.

Salary cap around 12 million next year, we're currently paying around 11 of 11.68 this year.

Boggles the mind. Instead of getting the AFL to chip in for money to sack people we should pass the hat amongst the players.

It is not unprecedented.

As it stands, a lot of the 11million is front loaded for Dawes, Clark and to retain the likes of Chip, Trenners, Grimes. Also paying the last year of disastrous contracts to Davey and Sylvia that would total 800k a year when combined...

It is not unprecedented.

As it stands, a lot of the 11million is front loaded for Dawes, Clark and to retain the likes of Chip, Trenners, Grimes. Also paying the last year of disastrous contracts to Davey and Sylvia that would total 800k a year when combined...

Don't have an issue with that. Having to pay our lot the same as Geelong, Hawthorn, etc's lists despite the disparity in performance is ridiculous. Man Utd's wage bill isn't the same as Reading's. If we don't have the cattle, we shouldn't have to pay a tiny fraction under the salary cap to people who aren't worth it.

Yes we'll have money to throw around at the trade period, but we still need decent players to be available and to want to sign up here. Still a pretty difficult proposition in footy despite Free Agency.

My options in order of preference:

Clarkson
Roos
Eade
Choco
Me
Fold

Ratten?

A name I haven't seen is Alan Richardson...