News Melbourne's Next Coach - Roos for 2-3 years with a succession plan

WHO DO YOU WANT?

Really surprised that people are putting Eade ahead of Choco (Who is my preferred candidate, I'd love Roos but I really can't see him joining us).

I don't know, Choco's been out of it for a few years, he looks pretty fatigued and was hardly palatable as Port coach. I'd love to have either.

As long as we complete an exhaustive search backed up by quality procedures/interviews undertaken by a panel made up of knowledgeable football people ( not necessarily MFC people ) I will support the decision made.
Don't really feel this was the case with the previous searches but have more faith in a process put together by our current CEO than those put in place by previous administrations.
While I don't subscribe to the last roll of the dice theory I recognise the importance of getting this 100% right, along with putting in the correct board and President to back them up off field.
This can turn around but will require some solid decision making, something we are not known for, especially in our most recent past.

We are effectively under administration. Can't see Vlad and Jackson appointing the wrong coach this time.

Yeah it comes across as if we are effectively under administration but we really need the administration to be effective.

Ask Garry Lyon what he thinks....
FWIW I was in the audience of the Footy Show tonight and after the show a guy asked Lyon if he thought Roos would coach Melbourne. He said he couldn't see it happening and thinks if he does coach it would be at either Brisbane or West Coast

I'd laugh if it did - I bet Gary asked Roos and Roos told him to G&GF.

One of the reasons I'd want Roo's over any other coach like Williams or Eade is that his reputation for making Sydney such a great place to work at would be a massive draw for players thinking of moving clubs. It would also help us retain all these players who apparently want to leave us so bad.

So how long do we all think we are going to have to wait for the decision? Is this an end of season announcement, or a soon as possible announcement?

They won't rush into it. Don't think any other clubs are on the verge of sacking their coaches so they'll run through a proper process.

Brisvegas will be open soon. WCE at year's end so they will be looking behind the scenes already.

True, but we're the only VIC club currently up for grabs. Not saying they're going to wait until the end of the year before announcing whoever it is we're going to bring in, but I reckon it'll be a month or so at least. They'll give Craig a free crack at it.

Neeld sacking will hasten the other clubs imo.

Williams IIRC had an excellent w/l ratio at Port, yes they only won one flag when they should have probably won 2 but they were an excellent side 2002-2004.

He'd command instant respect from the playing group (Something Neeld probably didn't) and he is a proven coach.

Who do you want?

Other.

Melbourne need someone with AFL coaching experience. Someone that has, in the past, got a failing squad into playing finals football in a couple of years.

Rodney Eade is one, who took Sydney from struggling side of the early 1990s to playing finals in the late 1990's and he did the same for the Western Bulldogs during the 2000's.. Sure, Eade never took either team to a premiership but right now I think what Melbourne need is that boost of confidence and a good kick up the bum to wake them up.

Mark Williams is another, who not only got Port Adelaide into finals contention after a couple of years, he took them to a premiership in 2004 and took them to another Grand Final in 2007.

I'd like Doc Rivers, but I'll settle for one of either Choco or Eade.

Roos would be good for the culture but I'm starting to think tactically he might be behind by today's standards.