Opinion Mick Malthouse MEGA THREAD

He is a loser by heart and a grumpy arseh*le. Do not want.

hulk.jpg

hope you don't mind the intrusion.
As much as Ratts is a folk hero for the Blues reality is that this year showed up his weaknesses as coach (setting injuries aside). Too slow to react, and didn't seem to be sure of himself.
If MM comes on board he will command the immediate respect of the playing group. He's a master motivator, and is supreme at getting average players to perform beyond their capabilities (eg 2002 GF side). Also manages the media superbly even though they fear him. He'll also have the backing of Greg Swann and assorted ex-Pies like Rowdy.

Juddy will be looking forward to working with him. It'll be his first experience working for a true coaching legend as opposed to first-timers like Whooser and Ratts. Nice symmetry too given they were both at West Coast

On the negative, he's stubborn tactically eg much to my annoyance, refused to recognise the importance of good ruckmen until 2010 when Jolly landed with us. Plus no one knows what his health/stamina will be like.

But he'll be good for Carlton - enjoy the ride.

If we are going to sign Malthouse, when do people expect it to happen?

Depends if the board want to continue the charade or not. If they do we will "interview" people and make it look like Ratts' sacking was an individual decision. Probably done and dusted in 2 weeks.

If we cut the shit (unlikely) it will be announced by the end of the week.

If we are going to sign Malthouse, when do people expect it to happen?
I expect the middle of next week. Sunday will be tribute to Ratts, then with the hype of finals the attention will be off us for a few days, then by Wed or Thurs I'd expect something. Ratts is owed that much; to go out and not be replaced the following morning.

You got to get Malthouse. Carlton v Collingwood. Sensational.

I mentioned this to a friend who is a Collingwood supporter.

Can you imagine if MM is coach and Cloke also comes across - lock in a new record crowd at the G' for Round 3 !!!

This rivalry will go to a whole new level - as will Collingwood when they play us.

9.30am cannot come fast enough.

NOT because I want to see Ratts go... in fact I'm still conflicted. On one hand I find the idea of change exciting but on the other I feel for Ratts and realise he's been dealt a pretty tough season.

Still we don't know what is happening officially yet. Perhaps we're all being trolled and he's got an extension.

fall into line general and stop trolling our new coach
He isnt our coach yet mate...

There is no ink on a contract with Mick's name on it.

And while you are at it... how about you stop trolling our current coach

If this were true, a performance clause would have been inserted in Ratts contract to give the club an out on the second year. It wasnt, meaning either your scenario is flawed or we employ monkeys to work out the contracts and someone forgot to bring the peanuts that day, and should lose their job over it, that would presumably be the CEO. And because it seems that the buck stops with the boss (Players fail, Coach loses job) then the Pres needs to go too. The buck stops at the top. Its a debacle of epic proportions. This club is a joke. The sad thing is, we dont seem to have learned anything as an organisation, we just bumble from one disaster to another.

I agree, unfortunately I think I think the second part of your post is closer to the truth. The club has been making terrible business decisions since the 90s and probably beyond. It's why we were the only club that was impacted by the salary cap rort. We were not the only ones that were involved but we did it for too long and didn't take the olive branch that was offered by the league at the time. Others did.
Nearly a club killer.
It's why we are the only "big" club that still has substantial debt. It's why we find ourselves in our current position.
I'm not for or against Malthouse becoming coach, even happier if it assists us landing someone of Cloke's abilities. But the administration seem to have the business acumen of monkeys.
They will just add the Ratten payout and the increase in acquiring Malthouse / Roos and their teams to the existing debt and cross their fingers and hope to Christ it delivers a premiership and the resultant revenue to cover it.
Either way it's us mugs that will eventually pay.
We only hope that it brings us number 17 and that will make it alright.
Not the best business plan, but one that keeps us in business for the next 2 to 3 years. It's called selling dreams, and there are plenty of us that want to be customers.

If this were true, a performance clause would have been inserted in Ratts contract to give the club an out on the second year. It wasnt, meaning either your scenario is flawed or we employ monkeys to work out the contracts and someone forgot to bring the peanuts that day, and should lose their job over it, that would presumably be the CEO. And because it seems that the buck stops with the boss (Players fail, Coach loses job) then the Pres needs to go too. The buck stops at the top. Its a debacle of epic proportions. This club is a joke. The sad thing is, we dont seem to have learned anything as an organisation, we just bumble from one disaster to another.

This is your first post that I actually agree with. Well said.

Fish rots at the head, and the head at the moment is not Ratts; as much as our administration would like it to be

you realise they have massively paid down the debt and rolled some massive money in via the pokie set up seriously get a clue
What's our current debt level and how much has it been reduced since our 2011 Annual Report?

Because back then it was still substantial (over $7 million to the AFL/Westpac).

you realise they have massively paid down the debt and rolled some massive money in via the pokie set up seriously get a clue
you do realise that the most recent books are supposed to show a 10 mill loss.

There has been no massive roll in of money via the pokies yet.

How about you get a clue instead of going around painting what is supposed to be a pretty picture which revolves around your desires to get Mick Malthouse to the club.

I'm very conflicted regarding this subject. Like Ratten (wont say love him) as a coach. Just a few months ago, I read on that people here didn't believe Ratts coached himself back into games, no real other plans other than kick it long and hope the little guys get the crumbs. Now people are saying that they are gutted he is going?

I am a 33 year old male who loves the CFC. My wife even thinks that sometimes I love them more than her... I trust that the club will make the right decision. Mick is a gun, make no mistake about that. If we go with him, it isn't because we are stupid and should go through the process of finding a coach by interviewing. It is because they have already identified him to be the best available.

There is a reason why Swann and Malthouse haven't been in contact for months now. It was said and done long ago (depending on if we made the top 4 as Ratts had promised). If Mick is what the board and Swann believe is right, I support that. He probably has much more pulling power to give our players the best chance to perform. Assistants, fitness staff and much more at his disposal.

Make no mistake, if Mick comes on board, our coaching staff set up will be much further advanced that what we currently have. Most likely a coaching superhouse.

I look forward to what happens today at 9.30. Keep me posted everyone, I am meant to be working ;) and will have to rely on bf posters to keep me informed.

MALTHOUSE 2013 Everyone who hates the idea of sacking Ratten and getting Mick will change there tune when we're sitting 1st-4th. Would be great to see Mick win us more premierships in less time then he did at the Pies.

I hope you're right, I really do.

Malthouse is plan b. Primary target is Paul Roos. Sticking point is his sons hsc next year.

No sources will be revealed.

Malthouse is plan b. Primary target is Paul Roos. Sticking point is his sons hsc next year.

No sources will be revealed.
What is wrong with going through due process. It isn't like last year when a glut of jobs hit the market and all clubs without a coach were scrambling to get what was available. Malthouse won't be going nowhere especially a basket case club like Port so the Blues have time to consider all their options and make the best decision going forward. One man who should be considered also as he is a great match day coach and has a proven track record with his previous teams is Eade. A team like Carlton is ready made for him to come in and take them to a flag. The Blues already have the personnel, They just require the right man. I do NOT believe MM is the right man at his age.