List Mgmt. Morning, Joe! (was The Daniher (Probably Mega-)thread)

??
I don't get it. Surely you're not suggesting he will get to Brisbane in the PSD?
If the game of match and trade falls over and he goes into the PSD, at that point Dodoro won't care which club he goes to. And it won't be Brisbane. Can you see the likes of Carlton and Hawthorn and North all passing on him, not to mention Sydney? He would be a free hit for all of them. If he were to sulk and not play, no loss, worth the try.
No club and I mean NO CLUB would ever take a 650-700k over 4-5 yr RISK on someone, if there was even a hint that he would not play for them.
To think otherwise is being 🥴

Clubs won't pick up a player who actively doesn't want to be there. It would have a massively negative flow on effect for the rest of the playing group and clubs are much smarter than that, especially now with a squeeze on cap space and list spots.

However, I defintely believe it won't come to that.

Well to start, he can go into the national draft. No other club will use a first rounder on him.

Luke Ball says hi.

If Joe Daniher ends up with us he should be offered the Number 44 guernsey in recognition of Richard Osborne. If he kicks as many goals as Osborne we will all be very happy.

If you could sit back and look at this strategically - you would conclude Brisbane hold all the aces in any game of strategy.

Brisbane can walk away and will, maybe several time in this. We finished 2nd last year, repeated that this year and have gone deeper into the finals already. Our supporters, the broader supporter base that is, just not the tragics on here, believe we have the team now and are getting better each year. The public have got on board, our club has the fastest growing support base currently and AFL in Qld, thanks to Covid is flying and TV ratings are brilliant Vs NRL.

There is no way Brisbane will be held over a barrel, it's far more than a player and a team, this is about the club's brand, how it is perceived, Nobel and the hierarchy will be very conscious that we are no longer the poor minnows and we have to act like a leading club in the eyes of the public.

Daniher is a good to have, even a nice to have, but Brisbane knows the price they will pay and it's about growing the supporter base. We love our Melbourne supporters and Fitzroy heritage BUT all the growth is in Qld and just like the NRL you get membership and growth when your "sticking it to the man" and are no longer being the underdog.

We the Lions know so well what it's like to be a bottom club and raided each year with the "going home" strategy, now we are well managed and well coached and by any definition a successful club. Warm weather through winter and a brilliant medical team is a huge attraction. If the Bombers think for a millisecond we will give up the 'farm' and stay sitting at the table, they will be left looking like complete idiots with a player that can't stand them. In business strategy Brisbane hold, not only all the aces, but every card in the deck. Don't quote my post an call me arrogant, Daniher has put himself in a fire sale, he is a media feeding frenzy but be real, the bombers have nothing to deal with, he is going, thats certain, they just have to take the best deal they can get and it's not going to be great because Daniher is walking, thats for certain. Bombers can fight the others leaving but Daniher has shown he is gone no matter what. No Victorian club will want a player that has shown he doesn't want to be there, and the board rooms at the others will be sitting around the table looking at $ half a million dollars a year, somewhere around $2 millim investment and going - "not risking that, the player has show he can protest and give less that 100 % when not happy". Joe walks from the game or Brisbane gets their price, thats just the way it will be.

If you could sit back and look at this strategically - you would conclude Brisbane hold all the aces in any game of strategy.

Brisbane can walk away and will, maybe several time in this. We finished 2nd last year, repeated that this year and have gone deeper into the finals already. Our supporters, the broader supporter base that is, just not the tragics on here, believe we have the team now and are getting better each year. The public have got on board, our club has the fastest growing support base currently and AFL in Qld, thanks to Covid is flying and TV ratings are brilliant Vs NRL.

There is no way Brisbane will be held over a barrel, it's far more than a player and a team, this is about the club's brand, how it is perceived, Nobel and the hierarchy will be very conscious that we are no longer the poor minnows and we have to act like a leading club in the eyes of the public.

Daniher is a good to have, even a nice to have, but Brisbane knows the price they will pay and it's about growing the supporter base. We love our Melbourne supporters and Fitzroy heritage BUT all the growth is in Qld and just like the NRL you get membership and growth when your "sticking it to the man" and are no longer being the underdog.

We the Lions know so well what it's like to be a bottom club and raided each year with the "going home" strategy, now we are well managed and well coached and by any definition a successful club. Warm weather through winter and a brilliant medical team is a huge attraction. If the Bombers think for a millisecond we will give up the 'farm' and stay sitting at the table, they will be left looking like complete idiots with a player that can't stand them. In business strategy Brisbane hold, not only all the aces, but every card in the deck. Don't quote my post an call me arrogant, Daniher has put himself in a fire sale, he is a media feeding frenzy but be real, the bombers have nothing to deal with, he is going, thats certain, they just have to take the best deal they can get and it's not going to be great because Daniher is walking, thats for certain. Bombers can fight the others leaving but Daniher has shown he is gone no matter what. No Victorian club will want a player that has shown he doesn't want to be there, and the board rooms at the others will be sitting around the table looking at $ half a million dollars a year, somewhere around $2 millim investment and going - "not risking that, the player has show he can protest and give less that 100 % when not happy". Joe walks from the game or Brisbane gets their price, thats just the way it will be.
Outstanding post. I do think it is possible to still grow the fan and membership base here in Melbourne, provided we play here a bit more than was originally planned in 2020.

??
I don't get it. Surely you're not suggesting he will get to Brisbane in the PSD?
If the game of match and trade falls over and he goes into the PSD, at that point Dodoro won't care which club he goes to. And it won't be Brisbane. Can you see the likes of Carlton and Hawthorn and North all passing on him, not to mention Sydney? He would be a free hit for all of them. If he were to sulk and not play, no loss, worth the try.
List Spot.

List Spot.

Really valid point. With the squeeze that will be coming on lists how many teams are going to be able to go the PSD with open list spots? It's probably only a handful of clubs, all of which will have probably planned out prior how they intend to use that spot. How many of those clubs will be in a position to use that spot by drafting a player that has made it clear he wants to be out of Melbourne, has an injury history and will need to be well paid? Big gamble. If push comes to shove and he ends up going to the PSD it's highly likely he'd still get to us.

OK, you're a very convincing group.
I now know that
1. Joe is a hack
2. We should count ourselves lucky to be getting pick 23.
3. David Mirra will be all Australian shortly.
4. "Champ" is a term of endearment used to encourage sensible debate.
(No offence to abcde12345, yours was a good reply)
You came here to try to convince us, not vice versa. What did you expect?

Really valid point. With the squeeze that will be coming on lists how many teams are going to be able to go the PSD with open list spots? It's probably only a handful of clubs, all of which will have probably planned out prior how they intend to use that spot. How many of those clubs will be in a position to use that spot by drafting a player that has made it clear he wants to be out of Melbourne, has an injury history and will need to be well paid? Big gamble. If push comes to shove and he ends up going to the PSD it's highly likely he'd still get to us.

And he wants to get out of the bubble, Geelong, the SA & WA teams are worse than being in Melbourne. I reckon he'll either land at Sydney or Brisbane if he nominates for the PSD, can't see anyone else drafting him.

What am I missing irel?

Yeo - West Coast
Doch - Carlton
Longer - Saints
Patty K - Pies
Polec - Port
Matthew Leuenberger
Exact same scenario. We (Kerr - List Manager) tried to grease Essendon's wheels so we get a better Free Agency return. Essendon did not want to deal with us. I remember hearing, they would not answer or return our calls or try to discuss a scenario where both clubs can benefit. The cycle has turned and now we hold the full flush. Let them stew in their own shit.

And he wants to get out of the bubble, Geelong, the SA & WA teams are worse than being in Melbourne. I reckon he'll either land at Sydney or Brisbane if he nominates for the PSD, can't see anyone else drafting him.

Sydney I guess a possibility but even then they'd need to get to the PSD with an open list spot and have worked out whether Joe is still willing to go there and whether they're still prepared to pay him when they're no longer his preferred destination. Us and Sydney probably the only places he can possibly end up at. Though I suppose Mitch Clark was definitely going to end up at the Dockers so who knows? I hope it's not a messy and drawn out process.

Matthew Leuenberger
Exact same scenario. We (Kerr - List Manager) tried to grease Essendon's wheels so we get a better Free Agency return. Essendon did not want to deal with us. I remember hearing, they would not answer or return our calls or try to discuss a scenario where both clubs can benefit. The cycle has turned and now we hold the full flush. Let them stew in their own sh*t.

Yeah I know they lowballed us a bit, but I don't remember being as outraged as much. Was Leuey a little cooked by then? I can't remember if he was still our #1 or not to be honest.

Lowballed us a little, and if we return the favour with some interest i'll experience some warm & fuzzies, but nothing like what I will feel if / when we get the chance to screw any of the go home 5 clubs in a trade.

I’m sure that’s really interesting and all but I feel asleep each of the three times I tried to read it.

which is probably good, cause facts ruin a good BigFooty.com discussion
I have a son who is a lawyer and he has the AFL rules printed out and hands you a copy if you come around to watch the footy at his place. If you yell 'ball' you are required to show under what part of the rules you are making this claim.

AS someone who knows how the Wide Law and the allowed width of a cricket bat came into the game of cricket I can only say he is my son.

Loved the bit about facts, or reading the rules, ruining a discussion. You know nothing about cricket umpires with a historical knowledge of the Laws of Cricket as we can go on for hours about minor details.

If Joe Daniher ends up with us he should be offered the Number 44 guernsey in recognition of Richard Osborne. If he kicks as many goals as Osborne we will all be very happy.
I would settle for 44 goals a year for the term of his contract if we end up with Joe

Yeah I know they lowballed us a bit, but I don't remember being as outraged as much. Was Leuey a little cooked by then? I can't remember if he was still our #1 or not to be honest.

Lowballed us a little, and if we return the favour with some interest i'll experience some warm & fuzzies, but nothing like what I will feel if / when we get the chance to screw any of the go home 5 clubs in a trade.
By the time Leuey exited via the free agency we were so conditioned, we were almost expecting to be low-balled and it sort of become normalised. Of the clubs that feasted on our carcass I think Port were the fairest. At least they tried to give us something resembling a fair deal. However I hope I am alive when we get our turn on West Coast and Carlton.

The club, at least publicly, were upset at the compensation we got.

Only danger in letting him walk to the PSD is that Sydney have pick well before us.

If Joe is more fussed about just getting out of Melbourne than playing with the Lions, then Sydney might get back in the frame.

Unless Dodo goes completely bananas, that seems unlikely.

It is Dodoro though :think:

Next minute, Brisbane trade both their 1st round picks, plus Witherden for Daniher, then everyone on the board will be like, yeah nah great trade. :p

??

To sum up, all of this is possible but for our club it doesn’t really matter. We don’t need Joe. It will be really nice to get him but we have zero reason to come to the party and offer anything to help you guys out, although our trade guys have shown themselves to be fair negotiators. It is really that simple.

List Mgmt. Morning, Joe! (was The Daniher (Probably Mega-)thread)