Most Disgraceful Umpiring Performance I have EVER seen

Nah, that's never a free. If the player isn't aware it's play on, then they can't be caught holding the ball (as long as it's a reasonable mistake, and they don't drag it back in or whatever.)
They never pay those.

I agree, but this one was barely 10m let alone 20m. My 3 month old daughter knew it was play on, so I'm sure the St Kilda player also knew.

on another note... just think, take away the 2 9 pointers and make them just 6 pointers (how they would have been in a normal home and away game) and we would have won by a point.:D

they hit the post twice for no score we would have lost by a point. Still within the margin of luck especially considering our lack of accuracy.

You know what, I never want the free kicks that aren't there paid, all I want is the ones taht are there to be paid! Tonights efforts by those umpires was dispicable. Calling all of St Kildas but frequently missing the obvious ones for us. Crazy. I thought those days were over when I heard Goldspink had retired....seems like they are only just begining!

Best umpiring of the NAB Cup so far, less frees than usual making for a better spectacle. There will always be a few dodgy ones, just my unbiased opinion, and i am no fan of the way the modern game is umpired.

Toatally agree Cappy. The game itself was a great tune-up for the season proper.

However it's hard to argue against the fact that the umpires were shyte - all the poor decisions detailed above did take place.

I'm sure St Kilda supporters could list a few they were unhappy with as well.

Too right they could. eg the push in the back of a Saint attempting a mark at CHF, Goodwin shepherding a Saint out of a mark.

I was there - the umpiring was OK and did not favour the Saints, especially early on.

But only OK, which isn't too surprising since it is early in the season and they have to get into the swing of things as well. Hands in the back and pushing in the back seemed to be a lottery.

WTF??? Have you ever played the game? YOU DON'T HAVE TO HAND BALL IT TO SOMEONE, you ONLY HAVE TO ATTEMPT TO DISPOSE of it. or if you had PRIOR you have to dispose of it correctly.

Just interested; Where the hell did you get this "you have to hand ball it to someone" cr@p from kiddo? You just have to handball or kick it anywhere you want but not deliberately out of bounds.

Why being so rude?

How bout you go back to your own board and abuse your fellow supporters.

He had prior opportunity to dispose of the ball and he didn't, all I'd like is some consistency here because most of the time thats paid as holding the ball.

I'm just going on how the umpires seem to be interpreting the rules.

at least we got a good hit out(umpiring included), for the real stuff in a couple of weeks! i left the game tonight with a big smile purely due to Tippet. WILL be a GUN!!!

Who was he handballing too mate, I was there, it was right in front of me.

It should have been holding the ball.

Every other time that happens where a player is tackled and some time later he finally gets the ball out and hand passes it to NO ONE (IE THERE WAS NO ONE THERE) its holding the ball.

WTF??? Have you ever played the game? YOU DON'T HAVE TO HAND BALL IT TO SOMEONE, you ONLY HAVE TO ATTEMPT TO DISPOSE of it. or if you had PRIOR you have to dispose of it correctly.

Just interested; Where the hell did you get this "you have to hand ball it to someone" cr@p from kiddo? You just have to handball or kick it anywhere you want but not deliberately out of bounds.

Why being so rude?

How bout you go back to your own board and abuse your fellow supporters.

He had prior opportunity to dispose of the ball and he didn't, all I'd like is some consistency here because most of the time thats paid as holding the ball.

I'm just going on how the umpires seem to be interpreting the rules.

Vince. what did you say in your first post mate?

"and hand passes it to NO ONE (IE THERE WAS NO ONE THERE) its holding the ball"

You said he hand passed it. Now your saying he didn't hand pass it.

What one are you going to go with ?

Vince. what did you say in your first post mate?

"and hand passes it to NO ONE (IE THERE WAS NO ONE THERE) its holding the ball"

You said he hand passed it. Now your saying he didn't hand pass it.

What one are you going to go with son?

I'm not your son.

Is it possible for you to leave out condescending remarks? Like son, and kiddie, probably not.

Prior opportunity means opportunity to dispose of the ball before the tackle, he did not, he disposed of it after.

He did handpass it, but after he was tackled.

If you are unable to communicate in an Adult manner perhaps you should just stay on the Hawthorn board.

And the winner of the 2008 NAB cup Grand Final is THE UMPIRES.

Shocking decisions all bloody night.

One where Goodwin tackled a St.Kilda player (Charlie Gardner I think) and the ump said Gardner got the ball out, it was ****ing holding the ball.

Yeah it was pretty bad. The free kicks were there but they were soft so I agree with you. I still think that 2006 prelim final was 100 times worse.

If it was a REAL game we would of won by a point.
Tippet and Burton missed gettable set shots
The first half was terrible

Having said that round one is looking good. A good hitout for the boys and a good sign of how the season may pan out.

The umpiring was absolute bs, and I'm not saying it because i'm bitter, it was bs both ways, we got a couple of really weak free kicks. The one that really annoys me though was thompson gettin a free kick payed against him, okay, i'm happy if they were going to be consistent, but then 2 mins later they didn't play it against a saints player at the other end of the ground, how can you do this? Whilst I don't know the exact ruling, what really shows they have no idea is the Doughty one which Tippet kicked, if you can get 9 pointers of 50 meter penalties then why not relayed, i would have thought the same ruling applies, we were disadvantaged by that free kick, if it were to be taken by Doughty and he kicked a goal, it would have been a 9 pointer, how is this different to givin a 50 away. Geez the umpiring was pathetic, hopeless, disgraceful, aaahhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

It's not often I say this, but we were genuinely screwed out of this game.
Come on.

Remember Malcolm Blight's line? "I reckon you accept your lot in life, and you get on with it."

Remember his reaction when some key decisions went against us in Melbourne against Richmond in his first year? A few players heads dropped thinking "here we go again..." Blight's post match interviews/press conference were priceless! I don't think a Crows player ever bothered complaining about an umpire's decision again.

It was a huge cultural shift from the Cornes blame-game, excuses era where we would send a please-explain letter to the AFL about the umpiring every single week. That game against Richmond in 1997 was a very important game in the history of the club.

You guys were not watching last week's Essendon vs Saints game. The umpiring was worse - if Essendon touches a Saints player, free kick. The maggots were just looking after the pretty boys - tough luck about last night, I think you will do well in the real stuff when it happens

The umpiring was poor last night. I was behind the northern goals and the non-free to Tippet in the goal square was ridiculous. The Saint's defender had both hands on his arm restraining him and the ump wasn't that far away. There were other decisions and inconsitencies that were amazing. They were not all one way. The Saints were victims of bad decisons, too. Not as many though. A very poor night for the umpires.

Every other time that happens where a player is tackled and some time later he finally gets the ball out and hand passes it to NO ONE (IE THERE WAS NO ONE THERE) its holding the ball.

haha! Since when is that a rule? :confused:

Ive seen worse umpiring displays...just.

As soon as the decision was confirmed that the GF was at AAMI the three blind mice would have been summoned by the AFL for a labotomy.

It was apparent as early as the first quarter we were going get done by 'em:rolleyes:

But hey, sometimes you just have to urinate with what youve been given and get on with it.

The Saints got some doosys too and in the end, were deserved winners.

I don't think it is of any use complaining about umpiring. - Except for a 'just getting it off your chest' thing.-. We are always going to get that sort of umpiring. I know that if there is a chance of paying a free against us, the free is given and, if there is a chance of not having to give a free to us, it is not given. -If you know what I mean-.
That is alway been the case and it will always be the case.
I may be wrong but, I don't believe that, in 17 seasons played, there is more than 5 matches where the free count has been in our favor.
We may have lost last night but, even though we may have to play against 19-20 players every game, we wont finish bottom 4 many times. Not this year, anyway.:)

Would this thread exist if Adelaide had won?

I doubt it.

I agree the standard of umpiring is getting worse. I also agree on some of the individual calls being raised in this thread. However, I could list just as many the other way that left me shaking my head.

Watching the replay I was amazed at the discussion around the goal after the free as paid down the ground (imo a very soft down field free but that's another story). Luke Darcy, who sits on the rules committee, didn't even know the rule. The goal umpire clearly didn't know the rule. The field umpire that signalled to him clearly didn't know the rule. I've never seen in a supposedly professional competition such utter incompetence where the officials seemed confused by a rule.

While I understand Adelaide supporters being pissed - don't worrry some of us were equally frustrated.

It’s the inconsistency in the decision making that annoy me.

The 50 meter penalty to St Kilda (the one where Scottie Thompson crept over the mark) and they were awarded a super goal, that fine because that’s the rule and Thompson crept over. However less than 2 mins latter the same thing happened down the other end and the umpire turned a blind eye to it.

I can accept that Sam Fisher kept running and needed a few meters to gather his balance but when he took a sideways step into the lane and veered into Brett Burton vision so he couldn’t play on that should have been a 50 metre penalty for going over the mark.

It’s the umpiring inconsistencies that shit me.

Prior opportunity means opportunity to dispose of the ball before the tackle, he did not, he disposed of it after.

He did handpass it, but after he was tackled.

Is there a problem with that? Should Robert Harvey have been pinged for HTB every time he has broken a tackle in the last 21 years? This isn't touch football - you are allowed to dispose of the ball while being tackled. If you drop the ball or continue to hold onto it for a few seconds while being tackled then that is HTB. Gardiner's play was actually very smart and it allowed a team mate to collect the footy uncontested and we had a shot on goal from it.

From a saints perspective the rule we were screwed on was HTB. At least 4 times an Adelaide player had it, got tackled and dropped the ball and was never pinged. The umpiring was incredibly inconsistent, but in the end it had no impact on the result.

Free kick count
Adelaide - 21
St Kilda - 19

Most Disgraceful Umpiring Performance I have EVER seen