Most overrated team of the modern era.

How does people saying we have a bright future mean we are overrated?

Are you a little simple? That clearly means in kinder terms, Bulldogs are shit right now but will be something in years to come. That is not being overrated.
Sorry changed that first comment to are you on the sauce as it was not necessary to bag your intelligence.

What about Essendon of 2000, there fans tell them that was the greatest side of all time and they won 1 flag. Also would have to be ST Kilda from 08-10
08 we finished 4th and were a long way away from the top 3.

We were that good in 2009 and 2010 one toe poke and a bounce of the ball we are back to back premiers, when the margins of success and failure is that small you are not overrated just unlucky.

In bold is hyperbole. All and sundry? Your own coach rated you as a premiership threat in 2010 when you finished seventh. If that's not overrating a side, tell me what is.

They finished 7th, not 17th. Ergo, they played finals and were therefore at some point a premiership threat.

Meanwhile we are all waiting on your pretend genius coach to get you that long awaited flag.

The only difference is that you have claimed we were overrated for a year or two. You guys have been overrated since you walked into the AFL.
So in the 40 years between your entry and doing anything, what happened there? Fremantle have a lot of catching up to do to be as bad as Hawthorn were.

It is hard to believe it now, but after three rounds of the 2012 season, Carlton was equal premiership favourites with Hawthorn. The bookies had installed the Hawks as the 2012 premiership favourites during the summer. Many people in the media (and here on Big Footy) failed to understand why. Hawthorn stayed short-priced favourites throughout the season, but for one week in April 2012, the Blues shared the top line of betting.

The Blues had finished 5th in 2011 with 14 wins and percentage of 130.0%. They thrashed Essendon in week 1 of the finals and the lost Semi Final thriller to the Eagles at Subiaco. Judd was voted by the players as the league MVP. Murphy had a career best year winning the club best and fairest and the AFLCA Champion Player award. The Three Amigos (Walker, Betts and Garlett) had kicked 150 goals between them.

Many experts had tipped Carlton to take the next step in 2012 and make the top four. They started the year in brilliant form: thumping Richmond by 44 points, annihilating Brisbane at the Gabba by 91 points and then crushing Mick's Magpies machine by 60 points.

From that high point however, they won just 8 of their next 19 matches, finishing 10th with a 11-11 record (3 wins shy of North Melbourne in 8th place.) Their lofty expectations were not met. Fingers were pointed at the coach, Brett Ratten. The fans demanded his sacking and they got their wish. Malthouse was hired to be their "saviour" for a million bucks a year and they've been in the doldrums ever since.

Brett Ratten did okay with the players at his disposal. I just think everyone severely overrated their talent.

Not sure Carlton of 2010-12 were really as 'overrated' as some as suggesting. They were probably just a tad unlucky in some respects. 2011 was a two-horse race between dominant Collingwood and Geelong teams - in a 'weaker' season, Carlton's performance and talent would most likely have translated into a top 4 finish. 2012, of course, saw them plagued by injury woes despite the more level playing field.

Quite a strong side on paper, as evidenced by their top end of Murphy, Judd, Carrazzo, Scotland, etc., but the relative strength of other sides and perhaps a somewhat weak bottom 5-6 cruelled their flag chances. Not that they were exactly flag material to begin with, but IMO 5th-6th finishes didn't entirely reflect the raw ability of their list.

Since 2008, this "most overrated team of the modern era" has won 3 out of the 7 premierships on offer.

In contrast, your side has won precisely nothing, despite being talked up (ergo rated) for the past 4-5 seasons.

Do you actually understand the meaning of "overrated?"
Mate, you've been spanked big in your argument with the dockers bloke, best you shut it and stop embarrassing yourself.

Did you struggle to understand the thread you strange little hawk bandwaggoner, if we deliver the same crap year after year how are we over rated and by whom and for what reason?
Im betting your a Tassie born Hawk supporter:$
KB (for what his opinion is worth) continuously overrates Richmond. That or he is just being media troll.

The load of rubbish was spouted by then coach Peter Schwab.
It's ridiculous how often this is brought up and how wrong people viewed it. He was asked whether he believed his team could win the premiership that year and he said yes. He said every team should strive for that. He never declared that the hawks would win the premiership.

Most overrated team of the modern era.