List Mgmt. MSD Watch 2023 [NMFC select Robert Hansen Jnr with #2 in 2023 MSD]

So who are we picking up in the prestigious MSD that’s going to win us the next 12 games straight to sneak us into the 8 and then get us a clean sweep of the finals series, a norm smith and the 23 flag?..

Excited Schitts Creek GIF by CBC

So who are we picking up in the prestigious MSD that’s going to win us the next 12 games straight to sneak us into the 8 and then get us a clean sweep of the finals series, a norm smith and the 23 flag?..

Excited Schitts Creek GIF by CBC
We have been hiding a kid called Ruprect Von Dong in the managatang thirds, 6ft 8 125 kg of solid muscle runs the 100 in 8 seconds flat and was a junior high jump champ, so much so that he revolutionised high jump technique from the fosberry flop to the von dong hop. Can kick 65 off one step and marks footies like shelling peas

Oscar McDonald is eager to return to the AFL system via this year’s Mid-Season Rookie Draft.

The 27-year-old former Melbourne and Carlton defender has been flourishing in the VFL with Williamstown this season and is hoping his impressive form leads to a third AFL club opening their arms to him.

McDonald was delisted by the Blues last year after undergoing back surgery during the 2022 season, but has recovered well and is back playing good footy.

SEN’s Sam Edmund is forecasting that the likes of Sydney and Essendon, as well as Port Adelaide, could be looking closely at McDonald given their need for a key defender.

Oscar McDonald’s form continues to encourage AFL clubs looking for mid-season draft reinforcements,” Edmund said on SEN Breakfast.

“He’s playing at Williamstown this year and is averaging around 17 touches and eight marks a game as a key defender. Nearly half of those eight marks a game coming of the intercept variety.

“He’s 27 years of age, he played two games for the Blues last year before he had a serious back operation in June and was then delisted.

“But his body now is great. It is said to be a nine to 12-month recovery time for an operation of that nature.

“He’s desperate to get back into the AFL system. He’ll obviously play anywhere in the country and anywhere on the ground but is excelling down back for the Seagulls.

“This is what the mid-season draft is all about.

“I would think Sydney, who have been hit hard by injuries to the McCartin brothers (Tom and Paddy), Dane Rampe and Sam Reid, would be enquiring.

“Also Essendon, given their issues in that part of the ground, would be enquiring as well.

“Port Adelaide potentially are always looking for key back support.”

McDonald played 86 AFL games (81 with the Demons, 5 with the Blues) between 2015 and 2022.

Edmund says five clubs - Essendon, Geelong, Fremantle, Hawthorn and the Western Bulldogs - have left list spots open ahead of the mid-season draft while at least five more - including GWS, Port Adelaide, Richmond, Sydney and West Coast - could open a spot prior to the draft on May 31.

S
We have been hiding a kid called Ruprect Von Dong in the managatang thirds, 6ft 8 125 kg of solid muscle runs the 100 in 8 seconds flat and was a junior high jump champ, so much so that he revolutionised high jump technique from the fosberry flop to the von dong hop. Can kick 65 off one step and marks footies like shelling peas
Sounds like a distant cousin of Acky Jones.

This is one of the biggest reasons I love North BF! The irreverent, crazy a**'d banter and BS. Thanks for making me smile.

On SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Don’t be dumb North, in a season like we’re having this is a moral boasting pick, this is one for work rate, effort and determination.
Maybe I didn't make my point clear or I've missed your point/irony?

I meant how great it would be if we picked up Lowson and he became a 100 game player in an age bracket we need filled.

Maybe I didn't make any point clear or I've missed your point/irony?

I meant how great it would be if we picked up Lowson and he became a 100 game player in an age bracket we need filled.

Sorry I’m 110% behind picking up Lowson, he deserves it by the way his playing in the vfl, the whole club needs to know there’s pathways onto the afl list through the vfl. That’s what I was saying don’t be dumb north, don’t go chasing waterfalls.

If I start humming that damn waterfall song, then I’m blaming you.

Pods was a perfect example of clubs looking at what he can't do as opposed to what he can do.
During the Werribee alignment, we let Podsiadly as well as Michael Barlow slip past us. In the case of Barlow, rumours at the time had Werribee officials pleading with our recruiters to draft him. It was as bad a recruiting mistake as any of the poor selections that we did make.

Mid-season draft prospect suspended​

Northern Bullants forward-ruck Brandon Ryan – the 200-centimetre cousin of Fremantle’s Luke – may have played his last game for the VFL club after copping a three-match striking ban out of the weekend.

The AFL’s mid-season rookie draft will be held on May 31, after round 11, and Ryan is considered as good as certain to be selected, with almost half the league’s clubs showing interest.

The late-blooming 25-year-old could have accepted a two-match suspension with an early guilty plea, but unsuccessfully challenged it at the VFL Tribunal on Tuesday evening and copped a three-game penalty.

Behind-the-goals vision showed Ryan swinging his arm back in retaliation and connecting with Coburg’s Trent Warren, who received a free kick from the incident but was not injured and played the match out.

Bullants coach Brodie Holland, who played 155 games for Fremantle and Collingwood, said Ryan had almost certainly played his last game, certainly for this season, with his side, given the mid-season draft interest in him.

“It’s disappointing because he’s never been reported or suspended, and is very quiet by nature and not aggressive in any shape or form,” Holland told Money Talks of the ban.

Holland believes Ryan, who he recruited from Maribyrnong Park, warrants being the first player taken in the mid-season draft – and he would be “stunned” if he wasn’t on an AFL club list for the second half of the year.

“He’s mobile for a player of his size, and I’ve seen him pick the ball up off his ankles a couple of times,” he said.

“I’ve even seen him, a bit Jeremy Cameron-style, wheel around and hit targets from 50 metres. He’s a unique player, and in the modern game where clubs are looking for taller players with longer levers – he could be that type of player.”

The complication is Ryan, like North Melbourne’s Sam Lowson, who is back on the radar after kicking 16 goals in seven VFL games, did not nominate for last year’s drafts and is still waiting for an exemption to be ticked off.

Contenders emerging​

Sunday’s second Young Guns game offered another chance for many of the mid-season crop to show their wares, including potential No.1 pick Ryan Maric playing in a different role down back.

The Gippsland Power talent, who has shone in the early stages of the year as a 193-centimetre lead-up forward, racked up 23 disposals and eight rebound 50s, with talent scouts telling Money Talks they were pleased to see him show more versatility.
Clay Tucker also solidified his standing as the clear-cut best teenage ruck option with 13 disposals, 14 hit-outs and, importantly, two goals.
Nineteen-year-old Tucker’s ruck craft and his ability to go forward were what set him apart, a recruiting source said.

Others in the mix include Claremont forward Jack Buller, who kicked two goals at the weekend in his return from a corked calf, Northern Bullants key forward Ryan, and Subiaco goalsneak Robert Hansen jnr, while Werribee’s Shaun Mannagh is also generating some interest.
Ex-AFL footballers Oscar McDonald and Sam Naismith continue to be linked with Sydney and Collingwood, respectively, with the Swans potentially looking to make two selections.
AFL recruiters had to nominate the players they wanted the AFL to complete medical testing on by 5pm on Tuesday.

During the Werribee alignment, we let Podsiadly as well as Michael Barlow slip past us. In the case of Barlow, rumours at the time had Werribee officials pleading with our recruiters to draft him. It was as bad a recruiting mistake as any of the poor selections that we did make.
You can go back further if you like, to Aaron Davey when we were aligned with Port Melbourne. If rumours are to be believed, Neville Stibbard paid for his airfare from the NT ... and we took Shane Harvey instead

Former Swan flying again as mid-season draft prospect
Paul Amy
6–8 minutes

Despite a light lead-in to the VFL season, Frankston left-footer Ryley Stoddart is building a compelling case for an AFL lifeline in the mid-season draft, writes PAUL AMY.

Ryley Stoddart walked a lot of laps of Frankston Park in the pre-season.

It was all he could do. He was unable to run them because of a sore back.

Will Fordham, also overcoming an injury, kept him company.

“We had sessions where we were walking 20-something laps,’’ Stoddart says.

In terms of practice matches, the Frankston half back’s preparation for the 2023 season consisted of two quarters.

Yet former Sydney Swan Stoddart has been among the VFL’s leading players this year and is considered a good chance of being selected in the AFL mid-season draft.

He’s averaging 28.2 disposals from six matches, getting the Dolphins going with spearing left-foot kicks and run-and-carry efforts that gobble up ground like Pacman.

His leadership of a young backline and intercept marking have also been noticed.

“You know he’s doing all this off no pre-season, don’t you?’’ Frankston coach Danny Ryan asks when he’s quizzed about Stoddart.

“Amazing, really. The first time he touched the footy was a week before round one. He was basically in rehab all the way. So yeah, he’s going all right, isn’t he?’’

Considering his light lead-in, Stoddart says he’s been surprised with his strong first third of the season.

A stress fracture in his back was diagnosed late last season and he had a setback with it just before Christmas. He wondered where it would leave him.

“Credit to the physios and strength and conditioning staff at Frankston for getting me up,’’ he says. “They put in a lot of work to get me right, because it was a race against the clock.

‘I had to take my time because stress-fracture rehab is pretty much rest until it all calms down. There was a slow build-up, from walking to jogging to high-speed running with change of direction. Then you’re back into contact stuff. I did a lot of work around my lower body and upper-body strength. I put on a fair bit of weight, which has helped me. I feel a lot stronger.’’

It was the second such injury for Stoddart.

The first occurred when he was with Sydney, in the last of his three seasons as an AFL Swan. It was on the left side of his L5 vertebrae. This time, it was the right side of it.

“Once they heal, they heal really well. I’m getting no pain on either side any more. I’m recovering heaps better,’’ he says.

With his penetrating kicking out of defence, Stoddart has become a pain to the opposition.

In round seven, he was among the best-afield against his former club, with 26 touches in a three-point win. After the match, Ryan declared Stoddart had played “the perfect game’’, noting a combination of dash and determined defence.

Stoddart says the Dolphins have given him the “freedom and licence to play with a bit of flair’’. But he’s mindful of the balance between man-minding and ball-finding.

“Our defensive coaches have really drilled into us that we defend first and then attack,’’ he says.

“In the past, I struggled with the defensive side and put a lot into the offensive side, so it’s good to have them come together.’’

Ryan says he would be thrilled if Stoddart gets a second AFL listing.

In his first, he played six matches with the Swans after being drafted from the Eastern Ranges at the end of 2017.

His debut came against Brisbane at the Gabba; after the game, photographers clicked away as Stoddart and Buddy Franklin embraced and the Swans celebrated a win. But Stoddart says now that he “didn’t grab the opportunity to the best of my ability’’.

“I don’t think I realised what it took to be a professional until very late in my time at Sydney and that cost me my dream,” he says.

“I thought I was doing better than I was. It took me until the end of my second year, the start of my third year, to start to realise the amount of extra work you’ve got to do. Then I got my back injury.

“Unfortunately, it’s been a steep learning curve. I’m a bit annoyed it’s taken me this long to work out what it takes.’’

Returning to Melbourne, Stoddart joined Carlton’s state league team as co-captain. He enjoyed the position, the players and the program at the Blues, but ties of family and friends led him to Frankston in 2022.

His cousin Taine Barlow is a Dolphin, as is his great mate and former Eastern teammate Trent Mynott (and Stoddart and Mynott’s fathers are business partners).

Last year, Stoddart was an excellent contributor even as he played through the back pain that ultimately prompted him to go for scans. They picked up the stress fracture. Soon he was resting, then walking.

And now? People at Frankston will tell you he’s “flying’’.

“The motivation for me is to be the best footballer I can be,’’ Stoddart says when asked of his hopes for his football.

“If that means I get a second chance at the AFL, I’d absolutely love that.

“If not, I’m really enjoying my footy at Frankston at the moment. That’s the main thing. When you’re enjoying your footy, you end up playing better footy. So, yeah, I really hope my name does get called out. If not, I’m ready to play good footy for the Dolphins.’’

Stoddart manages a warehouse and handles the logistics for a lighting company in Melbourne’s east.

And, having to walk before he could run, he’s been a bright light for the Dolphins this year.
Danny Ryan on Ryley Stoddart
More Coverage

“We love his aggression and his attack. He hits the ball at speed and takes off, drives his legs. And he’s really got better with his actual defence, which is what we wanted him to do.

“The other point with Ryley is that he’s matured. He just wasn’t ready when he went to Sydney, a classic case of a kid being drafted out of the NAB League (Coates Talent League) when he wasn’t ready to be a pro. At 18 you’re playing footy and having a lot of fun, because you’re good at footy. And the next year you’re 19 and it’s a job. A lot of them aren’t ready. That was probably Ryley. But he’s ready now.’’

List Mgmt. MSD Watch 2023 [NMFC select Robert Hansen Jnr with #2 in 2023 MSD]