Must find gun recruiting manager for 2006

Dec 16, 2004
RICHMOND
Now that Greg Beck has gone, we no longer have a full time recruiting manager. Greg Miller is filling in this role for now, and yes, he has done some good things for the club, but I do not have that blind confidence in Miller as alot of tiger supporters do. We really need to employ a full-time top recruiter for next year and beyond; one, unlike Beck, who we can have full confidence in recognising and recruiting the best young talent available. Many on here might believe Miller to have this ability and nous, but i'm not so convinced. Essendon have Adrian Dodoro & the doggies Scott Clayton, and we need to find someone of this calibre to join the Mighty Tiges so we can get back to the top where we belong.

Go Tiges!!!

Clayton is one if the best IMO.

I think i heard somewhere back a few months ago that Miller wanted to get some young guy into the footy department as a sort of "protege" for him.

Don't know whether that ended up happening or not.

No need for sarcasm infamy. You know the saying, "if you don't have anything nice to say....." We shouldn't need a 'miracle' to have a top recruiter. It's a must at every club. Should already have one.

Go Tiges!!!

Yeah fair point infamy, but Miller isn't solely a recruiter. I actually have more faith in Wallace's ability to spot talent than Miller. Wallace had a good football brain when he was a player and has an excellent one as a coach.

Go Tiges!!!

tigertRANCE said:
Yeah fair point infamy, but Miller isn't solely a recruiter. I actually have more faith in Wallace's ability to spot talent than Miller. Wallace had a good football brain when he was a player and has an excellent one as a coach.

Go Tiges!!!

I actually think the opposite.

Wallace is a good coach but he has a fair list of bad recruiting to his name.

Miller was the bloke who saw Longmire and Carey up in NSW.

1980GFVideo said:
I actually think the opposite.

Wallace is a good coach but he has a fair list of bad recruiting to his name.

Miller was the bloke who saw Longmire and Carey up in NSW.

Yeah and miller also gave us some of the duds we delisted this year.

Marsh, fletcher, Nichols, houlihan.... uuuuuuuggghhhhhhhhh

Couldnt agree more.

2003 & 2004 looks rather good but we need another batch of quailty kids in 2006 to mix in with them for long term succes.

itsintheblood said:
Yeah and miller also gave us some of the duds we delisted this year.

Marsh, fletcher, Nichols, houlihan.... uuuuuuuggghhhhhhhhh

Indeed. We got so very good but also some very bad. Miller was very much a mixed bag in '03.

I heard Marsh, Morrison etc. were drafted due to Spuds wishes. Topping up, pushing for the top 8 rather than rebuildering :(

Well for starters most of the players mentioned are from different drafts
Jackson was a smokey and Hartigan was pretty much in the same boat as JD Smith this year

Morrison we only know in hindsight how average he is, at the time he seemed like a decent prospect for a team thats in dire need of kpps coming into their prime.
Fletcher was still an established AFL player, it may have been more likely that he got picked up than a late round risk on a draftee making us have to speculate on something else.

Its been stated many, many, many, many, many, did I say many? times, the cost benefits of drafting recycled players at minimum wage rather than invest in kids to make up your list.
Not only that but you need a balance of players of all ages on your list. If you simply have kids for the sake of kids, you are going to stack up your list with 8th & 9th round speculative players you not only have to give them 2 years on your list but you can't see how good they are going to be in only 2 years. So now you have a list stacked full of late round speculative kids and in the next draft you now have to delist established senior list players just so you can make selections past the 3rd or 4th round, so you can pick up GENUINELY talented kids that are less of a speculation than the 8th & 9th round kids you got the year before.

Its AAAALLLL so bloody simple to point out which players failed, but I'm very glad none of you have been looking after our club for the last 5 years.
I'm really sick of typing this whole thing out too

It gets up my nose when i hear people bagging the recruiting of Morrison

Where were all the howls of protest at the time they picked him up ???

Morrison was seen as Browns understudy at Brisbane who at the time could not get a game due to both his and Lynch`s presence

He played a couple of handy games in the first half dozen rounds last year , in particular the opener against the scum , and then was dropped rather harshly IMO and was not to be seen again except for one late season cameo .

I think he showed enough in that Collingwood game to say he worth persisting with . I could never understand why Frawey and co. would recruit the bloke and then basically not give him a go . I suspect there may have been something there on a personal level with Frawley but that is just my hunch ( no fact ).

It`s all very well with hindsight to say it was a bad move to recruit him but at the time we all know it was well worth the punt , considering his pedigree

To get back to the original topic.

The question isn't if Miller is capable of doing the job, it's does he have the time to do it properly? I would suggest not, in which case, we need to hire a full timer, preferably a very good one.

recruiting managers are a waste of time these days .everyclub knows every player in draft and how they have preformed as a junior or player at other afl club.so most clubs take the next higest player in draft that hasnt been picked,and as for these smokeys that is just crap that clubs that picked them knew they would be the big improvers,the clubs that picked them just got lucky omeone improved heaps under afl training and conditions

IDGAF said:
It gets up my nose when i hear people bagging the recruiting of Morrison

Where were all the howls of protest at the time they picked him up ???

Morrison was seen as Browns understudy at Brisbane who at the time could not get a game due to both his and Lynch`s presence

He played a couple of handy games in the first half dozen rounds last year , in particular the opener against the scum , and then was dropped rather harshly IMO and was not to be seen again except for one late season cameo .

I think he showed enough in that Collingwood game to say he worth persisting with . I could never understand why Frawey and co. would recruit the bloke and then basically not give him a go . I suspect there may have been something there on a personal level with Frawley but that is just my hunch ( no fact ).

It`s all very well with hindsight to say it was a bad move to recruit him but at the time we all know it was well worth the punt , considering his pedigree
Well said IDGAF. I recall a bit over a year ago coming into the trade/draft period everyone on Bigfooty was talking up Morrison, and not just Richmond supporters. He may or may not be on the list at the end of 2005, just like a lot of players. But one thing both Brisbane and Port have done with their lists in recent years is have plenty of big blokes as back ups when depth is tested. That's an area where we really went backwards in the Frawley era in terms of our list management. We went from having plenty of talls to having barely enough for our best 22. Even if he isn't in the best 22, Morrison may yet be a good backup when injury invariably strikes.

CJH said:
It would seem that your nickname is well merited!
yes but then again are u saying u didnt know who we were gonna pick in draft?????tambling only suprise and when hawks chose other was no brainer.seems to me most everyone was taking delidio 1st pick wether they needed ruckmen or rover so how the hell u say we need a rocket scientist to pick our draft choices???and late picks like graham were obvious when we needed some exprience in the back half,

starkravenmad2 said:
yes but then again are u saying u didnt know who we were gonna pick in draft?????tambling only suprise
Without a RM would we have picked up Pattison,Polo,Mcguane etc on what hearsay?
drafting kids is always a risk why make the risk greater?

cheers!

telsor said:
To get back to the original topic.

The question isn't if Miller is capable of doing the job, it's does he have the time to do it properly? I would suggest not, in which case, we need to hire a full timer, preferably a very good one.

G'day all my first post. I think you will find Mervyn Kane who is currently at the club as an assistant to Greg Miller might slot into the recruiting role nicely.

Of course GM will oversee this role and monitor Kane's progress as the season progresses, no announcement is likely to be made untill around June.

tiger of old said:
Without a RM would we have picked up Pattison,Polo,Mcguane etc on what hearsay?
drafting kids is always a risk why make the risk greater?

cheers!
true guess what im saying is that u dont need to be a genius all the info there for all to see and evaluate.btw watched polo play all his jnr footy and he possibly could be the suprise packet for us .he hard at it and keen as hell

Must find gun recruiting manager for 2006