NAB Cup/A-League GF ground clash

Soccer is a nuisance to indigenous sports worldwide and has driven many to near extinction. I know Ireland well and know that soccer is an awful drain for the GAA for instance which necessitates superhuman efforts to protect hurling and gaelic football in a nation infatuated with Liverpool and Manchester United soccer franchises but on the other hand being seen to be anti soccer is not on since it upsets the kids huge numbers of whom love it and who we are hoping to target.

The response of any indigenous code such as GAA or AFL has to be nuanced. On the one hand ignore the fatuous nonsense of those who pretend there is no clash of interests - there is in every school playground in Australia - but on the other try to defend yourself without being seen to be defensive. It is a hard call but we are stuck with A League orsome other form of soccer and have to live with it as all sports everywhere have to.

A-League Grand Final is alot more important that some NAB Cup 2nd round game. If it has to be played on Saturday night then play it somewhere else. The AFL are always talking about tyring to extend the brand so why not do that now. Give Darwin the game to make up for the Bulldogss-Essendon game. The A-League Grand Final should not and will not be moved.

surely not even the most ardent of AFL fans could suggest that the NAB cup should get preference over the A League grand final?

i understand there's a legal issue here... but i'm sure collo will pay for it if he has to.

if the AFL don't want move it because channel 10 asked them not to... well, there's plenty of options to retain the television fixture... hell, move it to tasmania.

if it is in fact a 'fan' fixture... well, there's dozens of grounds in melbourne...

honestly? if the A League had pushed the issue, the AFL wouldn't be playing at the dome on friday nite either.

to have an afl game shredding the turf the nite before the showpiece game is ridiculous.

Vlad has a contractual right :p If he wanted to he could screw you soccer fans right royally. I doubt he will though.

mate, releasing a fixture does not book u the ground.

perhaps there's more to it than that - but all the article says is that they released a fixture with a game on that date.

that does not book a ground. perhaps ringing ground management... perhaps leaving a deposit if that's the way it works in the agreement... that's how a ground is booked!

mate, releasing a fixture does not book u the ground.

perhaps there's more to it than that - but all the article says is that they released a fixture with a game on that date.

that does not book a ground. perhaps ringing ground management... perhaps leaving a deposit if that's the way it works in the agreement... that's how a ground is booked!

Thats the point.

As the primary tenant of the ground, the AFL has a long term contract that means that so long as they give X amount of notice, the ground is theirs. ( I assume ) they've given that amount of notice and TD stuffed up by allowing a potential double booking hoping that this situation wouldn't occur ( Victory being on top, AND Collingwood winning, AND Richmond winning ).

I don't think many people would argue the right/wrong of the situation, the soccer grand final is the bigger match, so *should* get the ground, but the AFL has the legal right to take it, and according to that newspaper article, channel TEN is puching them to exercise it in order to fit their broadcast schedule.

So TD/FFA have to convince ( buy off ) the AFL/TEN to move the game, either to a different venue or a different night.

Just change the game to a weeknight and if Channel Ten refuse to broadcast the game, the AFL can sue the arse out of Ian Collins and the brainless twits who double booked the gorund.

Move the game, and TEN sues the AFL for not providing the agreed match and the AFL can't sue TD because they chose to move the ground.

Has to be worked out beforehand while the AFL still has the whip hand.

I thought the purpose of NAB cup games was to play games in exotic far reaching locations so that the gospel of AFL can be spread to the few remaining unconverted footy souls.

Why not move the game to Dubai or Cape Town? Apparently they can't get enough footy over there!

Seriously, the AFL is starting to look very unprofessional with their us vs them campaign against soccer, sure most of the die hard melbourne footy punters buy it - but it doesn't look good to multi-coders, casual sports fans and other outsiders that demetriou desperately wants to fill seats to continue AFL growth (gold coast & west sydney expansion anyone?)

http://www.etihadstadium.com.au/event-display-telstradome/NAB-Cup--Round-2/107

Even the stadium itself advertises the possibility of hosting a Collingwood v Richmond match on that night.

This is not the AFL's fault - it is the amateurness of the FFA at play. How could they not book Telstra Dome for that night when they knew that was the night of the FFA Grand Final?

Anyone at the FFA heard of covering all contingencies? Apparently not.

A solution could be to schedule the Essendon v Brisbane game on the Gold Coast on the Saturday night and the Collingwood v Richmond game at the Dome on Friday.

Channel 10 still get there Saturday night game but it wouldn't be as popular in Melbourne.

I follow both sports but this is a joke, surely common sense will previel and the A-League will be given priority, its grand final for christs sake and it will draw 55,000 people to TD.....

This stinks of bully tactics from the AFL, the two can co-exist and mostly run in different seasons but these moves from the AFL head hunchos upsets the majority of soccer fans, most of which follow AFL as well

I follow both sports but this is a joke, surely common sense will previel and the A-League will be given priority, its grand final for christs sake and it will draw 55,000 people to TD.....

This stinks of bully tactics from the AFL, the two can co-exist and mostly run in different seasons but these moves from the AFL head hunchos upsets the majority of soccer fans, most of which follow AFL as well

No bully tactics...just pure business.

The AFL is the major custodian of the Telstra Dome and in 10-15 years will have 100% ownership of the stadium. It (AFL) has bankrolled the stadium since its inception and has contractual priority.

TD management have been treating the AFL (its major client) with contempt and its time the AFL started to shift some of their considerable weight - Collo and his cronies have to be held accountable and I hope the AFL sue the pants off 'em.

FWIW, I do agree that common sense should prevail and the A-League GF be played on Saturday.

Didnt a Nab cup game last week get 35K while an A-League final got 34K.

Ben Cousins is the biggest news in the AFL since 119. This is going to be a sellout.

If there has to be a comprimse. Send Melbourne Victory to either. Melbourne Rectangular Stadium or Melbourne's olympic Stadium

Yes NAB cup got 200 more than Victory, but the NAB cup got all the pink feel good, soft media attention, news coverage, free to air TV coverage.

Can't you realise that soccer got absolutely no coverage, no radio broadcast and got nearly as much? NAB should have got heaps more with all its soft free-kick media attention - it made me puke.

Soccer supporters like me are passionate, organsied and streets ahead of any AFL cheer squad in terms of organsiation and mobility. Nobody walks over us.

AFL has just lost the PR war and it doesn't like it one bit. Listen to the radio - most dual Victory-AFL members can't stand what the AFL has done. Suck shit

It's got nothing to do with the AFL wanting to shaft Soccer. Soccer is just the unlucky pawn in the ongoing legal dispute between the AFL and stadium management over the stadium deals provided to a number of AFL clubs which stadium management refuse to renegotiate on.

The AFL are playing hardball to pressure stadium management to provide better match returns to AFL clubs like the Dogs. The Dogs currently receive much less than the Victory for home games at the stadium despite better average crowds.

Why should the AFL help the stadium management while they continue to treat AFL clubs like the Dogs as second class tenants? It’s just a shame the Victory are being caught in the middle.

Yes NAB cup got 200 more than Victory, but the NAB cup got all the pink feel good, soft media attention, news coverage, free to air TV coverage.

Can't you realise that soccer got absolutely no coverage, no radio broadcast and got nearly as much? NAB should have got heaps more with all its soft free-kick media attention - it made me puke.

Soccer supporters like me are passionate, organsied and streets ahead of any AFL cheer squad in terms of organsiation and mobility. Nobody walks over us.

AFL has just lost the PR war and it doesn't like it one bit. Listen to the radio - most dual Victory-AFL members can't stand what the AFL has done. Suck shit

Does any of this post make any sense ?

Firstly the game was covered and promoted extensively on fox. Secondly - it was a final - it shouldn't need heavy promotion. Thirdly, the promotion of the NAB cup game was due to it being used as a fund raiser for the bush fire victims. That it made you "puke" tells us all we need to know about you.

Yes NAB cup got 200 more than Victory, but the NAB cup got all the pink feel good, soft media attention, news coverage, free to air TV coverage. Which means that there is more incentive to go to the A-League.

Can't you realise that soccer got absolutely no coverage, no radio broadcast and got nearly as much? NAB should have got heaps more with all its soft free-kick media attention No attention. So what was the cosser game on TV that i saw, between Melbourne and Adelaide. Guess it wasnt A-League then

Soccer supporters like me are passionate, organsied and streets ahead of any AFL cheer squad in terms of organsiation and mobility. Nobody walks over us.LOL. You have an overinflated ego

AFL has just lost the PR war and it doesn't like it one bit. Listen to the radio - most dual Victory-AFL members can't stand what the AFL has done. Suck shit No most who call up cant stand the AFL. Considering that usually when 1 person complain about 10 have an opposite opinion.

Go to Football Australia's page where you belong. Too bad ill still be there. I like both but Australian Football>American Football>Gaelic Football>Rugby Union>Rugby League>Association Football

But I like all of them.

AFL booked this in October.

A-League than trys to come in and kick the AFL out 2 weeks before the date.

I know the AFL would win a legal case here. This can really screw over the A-League.

Any way why shoulld anybody give a crap about Finals in soccer. only 2 other major leagues in the world have a finals series. so thats 3/~200

There are a lot of morons in this thread.

Both the AFL and FFA had tentative bookings made on the stadium for 28th February. Not 100% confirmed, but tentative.

FFA made their booking first because they released their fixture some 4-5 months before the AFL.

When it came to final, guaranteed bookings again the FFA got in first because they were able to do that on Saturday evening whilst the AFL couldn't confirm until Sunday evening.

The FFA have done everything right and in the end common sense will prevail, the Football will be at TD and the NAB Cup can piss off to Punt Road for all I care.

NAB Cup/A-League GF ground clash