News NAB Cup Round 1 Game Day Thread

Look, when Ryan Schoenmakers gets 36 Dream Team points against you than you know you're in a bit of trouble.

Liked Cunners and H tonight

247887.jpg

247899.jpg

The fresher sides won the 2nd and 3rd matches.

Cunners was our best tonight imo, huge year for him, played well, class decisions with the ball.

He will be a ripper. Our best for mine.

On the other hand, and a few will disagree with me, but, Levi's position in the side isn't concrete with 90% of his work with the ball, no doubting his endeavour, but decision making, and skills in general are up the creek at times.

What is the coach doing with him?

Our medium tall backs leave alot to be desired imo, MacMillan was good in the first game, but I thats where we were let down last year, and it appears the same so far....

Agree. MacMillan was excellent, Hunter was solid, but there wasn't much after that. The younger blokes in Mullet & Atley showed more.

Goldie/McIntosh combo is still probably up in the air.

Goldy was our best ruck and Hamish was good around the ground.

Pedo's the second tall picked imo, just alot smarter than all of our other options.

He was very good tonight.

Jack is pure class, footskills now mimic his fitness, we will miss him for the Essendon game....

He is a beast.

Harper alot fitter, alot more in the game, still has just about the best field kicking in the side.

I had him in the bests. He got to more contests than he did in any match in 2011.

Speight must be a regular starter in the side, his decision making/skills are first class.

He's got Campbells spot.

Apart from the 1st 10 mins of the second game and Grima's knee I'm happy enough with tonight.

Thought we looked a more mature team.

Liked what i saw of Cunners, Harps, Mullet, Jmac and Ats

Mullet's run down of Buddy was the highlight of the night!

Just home. First match went about as I expected, a win but lots of scrappiness mixed with some nice play. Very happy with H's comeback and with Taz up forward, and pretty pleased with how the captain, Jack and Cunnington looked in the middle. Defense worried me a lot.

Second match started scary - I thought it was only the short form that would save a 100 plus pantsing - but I was pretty satisfied with the effort after that. And seeing Buddy run down twice was worth watching the whole game for. Big gap in class but some pleasing signs for now.

Fun evening, nice to see some footy again and to worry more about injuries and suspensions than goals. Taz in game 1 the main surprise for me. Ran so well, marked strongly, kicked ok, seemed a real asset. Only other surprise I guess was him not staying there for game 2.

He went in to defence after Delaney rolled his ankle.

We lost our starting full backs for both matches early in both games.

He went in to defence after Delaney rolled his ankle.

We lost our starting full backs for both matches early in both games.

Shows how much I was concentrating early in the second game. Started texting my kids and wondering how dire it would get while I tuned out. Naturally the radio coverage was no help, don't know what they were talking about most of the time and they clearly missed some important developments.

BTW, Hansenists.

He played loose in the backline, backed in to packs all night and didn't have a contested mark taken on him.

Did a good job considering we lost our full backs in both matches.

Shows how much I was concentrating early in the second game. Started texting my kids and wondering how dire it would get while I tuned out. Naturally the radio coverage was no help, don't know what they were talking about most of the time and they clearly missed some important developments.

Grima - medial ligament
Delaney - sprained ankle

Negatives:
Disposal efficiency has improved marginally but not as much as I had hoped (first games back though)
Medium/rebounding back positions are still up in the air, Firrito was poor, Anthony improved but was still sub par imo
Thought we'd win a lot more clearances than we did
Some "dumb" unaware play (again early days)
Injuries
Speight doesn't get enough game time, should be a best 21 regular imo
Don't feel like our kick outs have improved
Defence (admittedly undermaned was generally poor)

Positives:
Cunnington was excellent, love his inside work
Mullet, Atley and HMAC were also good
Hansen was decent but could've plucked a couple if he'd timed his leap a bit better
Drew battled manfully as ever
Pedo was good (did drop a sitter though)
We were generally smarter going inside 50
Harvey was good when he played his usual role

BTW, Hansenists.

He played loose in the backline, backed in to packs all night and didn't have a contested mark taken on him.

He didn't have anyone playing on him and he didn't have a contested mark taken on him. WOW!

FFS, the guy cant kick, cant stay on his feet and couldn't take a mark. He wasn't good, AND I SO WANT HIM TO BE GOOD but he's just not showing any improvement at all

From tonight's two NAB games:
Thommo is our best backman
Anthony cannot play back
Tarrant can play a bit
Harpers, Atley, Cunners, Ziebelle, Mullet have all improved
Gibson good pick-up
Boomer should play mid or forward pocket but not back. He could easily play a late career leigh matthews type role
We were slow off the mark in both games
We lack intensity at times, making slow decisions, not being aggressive on the mark
Hamish and Goldy can play together, even though tonight may not have been the best
We are not as hard as we need to be, but it is still pre-season.
How much better are we with Wells?

BTW, Hansenists.

Did a good job considering we lost our full backs in both matches.

Wow.

How much more easily pleased would you like to be?

If he was loose all night he should have been picking off forward entries and being creative on the rebound. Instead, he just bombed it long to the wing all night.

Wow.

How much more easily pleased would you like to be?

If he was loose all night he should have been picking off forward entries.....

So, the ball was getting bombed in under extreme pressure in the first half v Hawthorn?

Richmond didn't effectively kick most of their score by getting players out the back, and playing through Firrito/Miller?

This is Hansens fault, is that what you're stating?

.......and being creative on the rebound.

Hansen is now responsible for whether other players kick the ball to him now? Is this what you are effectively claiming?

Instead, he just bombed it long to the wing all night.

Most of the disposals I saw Hansen get were under pressure situations.

Go back and look at the replay.

Why would I watch a replay of a NAB Cup game simply to argue with someone so fixated in their mindset? Besides, I've got a brick wall that needs my head's attention.

Hansen played only okay. That's it. 4/10. 5 if you're feeling generous. That doesn't mean you need to come in here, get all smug and announce to us that Hansen will be a star. Especially since all this shit has come after you've announced to all and sundry that, in your opinion, the lesser talents play in the backline and Hansen is too talented for that. So, really, shouldn't he be dominating?

He's the highest pick on our list and he plays worse than someone who was working at Bunnings last year, ffs. I'm sorry if I have higher standards for the highest picked player on our list.

You know **** all Teffy. How'd Ziebell go on the half forward line? Spot up a few marks did he?

Why would I watch a replay of a NAB Cup game simply to argue with someone so fixated in their mindset? Besides, I've got a brick wall that needs my head's attention.

Hansen played only okay. That's it. 4/10. 5 if you're feeling generous. That doesn't mean you need to come in here, get all smug and announce to us that Hansen will be a star. Especially since all this shit has come after you've announced to all and sundry that, in your opinion, the lesser talents play in the backline and Hansen is too talented for that. So, really, shouldn't he be dominating?

He's the highest pick on our list and he plays worse than someone who was working at Bunnings last year, ffs. I'm sorry if I have higher standards for the highest picked player on our list.

You know **** all Teffy. How'd Ziebell go on the half forward line? Spot up a few marks did he?

Shithouse deflection. Totally shithouse. Run along now.

Standard Teffy game plan in this thread;

Step 1) Make a statement as if you're the first person to ever make it
Step 2) Insult and belittle everyone who disagrees
Step 3) In the face of rational, level-headed counter-arguments, personally insult someone whilst simultaneously ignoring their entire point
Step 4) Go back to step one.

And yeah... it's kind of hard to argue with this. The whole Pederson/Bunnings angle puts where Hansen is at at this point in his career into good perspective.

But still, it's the NAB cup, so you also have to take this stuff with a grain of salt

I agree with everything you say, except Wellsy was taken at pick 2.