List Mgmt. National Draft 2020 discussion

he's not a 3rd/4th league ruckman. He was a NEAFL #1 ruckman, the NEAFL was cancelled (permanently) so he went back to his previous club to play state league footy. Like pretty much all NEAFL players did.

The competition was an extremely high standard and he was probably the best ruck in the comp other than Fraser Thurlow. (who is much older, bigger and previously on AFL list)
Thanks for your input mate.Appreciate it.

interesting, good to read the opposite view as I was ropeable with last night.

-deferring our 1st pick, I've been upset with FJ for some of his 1st round efforts, but at least he had a go! There would definitely have been a potential star on the board last night at our 1st pick, especially given we are good at picking the eyes out of the southern and western leagues which were less disrupted. Also, imo, giving up an entire year of development time is always a bigger penalty than any gain in a future draft position. You just can't get that time back and it is poorly understood how big that time penalty is.

-I like Samson Ryan, but no need to take him in the draft

-If you are going to turn your back on a draft, why drop Higgins off the list to upgrade a pick in that draft? Lack of communication between trade and draft objectives?

Overall I take the point that we 'have the best list in the league', but history tells us we are already at the stage where 90% of 'dynasty premiership windows' have closed. And I bet all those dynasties that stopped at 3 cups would tell you they didn't see the window closing so fast...had to be more involved in the draft this year. All imo.

Meh.

Geelong picked a guy at pick 20 who has played a couple games of footy in 2 years and has no highlights reel.

Clubs were passing at historically early rates and taking the least amount of picks possible. It's pretty clear no club rated this draft at all.

I am confident we didn't overlook any guns at our selections and I'll back them in with the Samson pick. Clarke speaks highly of him in the summary video. From what he was saying it sounds like they view him as capable of stepping into senior footy pretty quickly if needed with higher upside than any mature age guy.

Meh.

Geelong picked a guy at pick 20 who has played a couple games of footy in 2 years and has no highlights reel.

Clubs were passing at historically early rates and taking the least amount of picks possible. It's pretty clear no club rated this draft at all.

I am confident we didn't overlook any guns at our selections and I'll back them in with the Samson pick. Clarke speaks highly of him in the summary video. From what he was saying they view him as capable of stepping into senior footy pretty quick with higher upside than any mature age guy.

I was speaking to one of his ex coach's yesterday and he said it was insane that anyone could consider him let alone in the first round. Said he was a nice kid, good family etc but was just an ok player with next to no body of work at all the last 2 years. Said that some clubs were making HUGE guesses on a number of these kids this year and Holmes was definitely one of them.

-deferring our 1st pick, I've been upset with FJ for some of his 1st round efforts, but at least he had a go! There would definitely have been a potential star on the board last night at our 1st pick, especially given we are good at picking the eyes out of the southern and western leagues which were less disrupted. Also, imo, giving up an entire year of development time is always a bigger penalty than any gain in a future draft position. You just can't get that time back and it is poorly understood how big that time penalty is.

-If you are going to turn your back on a draft, why drop Higgins off the list to upgrade a pick in that draft? Lack of communication between trade and draft objectives?

Overall I take the point that we 'have the best list in the league', but history tells us we are already at the stage where 90% of 'dynasty premiership windows' have closed. And I bet all those dynasties that stopped at 3 cups would tell you they didn't see the window closing so fast...had to be more involved in the draft this year. All imo.
I think we were looking at Macrae however when Pies took him the preference changed to get another 1st rd pick for next year instead of using the pick on someone we weren’t sold on. Seems a smart logical decision to me.

Also if somehow next year goes south (unlikely) we have a massive draft haul to cheer us back up.

Win win.
It will cheer me up even more if Geelong's year goes south and Saints and Suns

I think we were looking at Macrae however when Pies took him the preference changed to get another 1st rd pick for next year instead of using the pick on someone we weren’t sold on. Seems a smart logical decision to me.

Clarke said as much in his video.

He said we were eyeing off a few players we liked but they all went before our pick so we traded out. Seems the right call to me.

Clarke said as much in his video.

He said we were eyeing off a few players we liked but they all went before our pick so we traded out. Seems the right call to me.
Also said might look at train on players for the last spots. See what pans out today.

If anyone isn't absolutely stoked about getting a future first in the 2021 draft - you've got rocks in your head.

It strengthens our hand at the trade table significantly and the draft itself will be significantly better than this year.

It's short sighted FOMO.

Someone link Josh Dunkley could be in play too now if we wanted him.

I’m convinced Samson is a play with a short term view of trying to win next year, nothing to do with following years, that would be a bonus. If Nank goes down we will get pillaged by some teams in the ruck and this might cost us a couple of games, enough to miss top 4 and set us back for a 2021 finals tilt for the 3peat.

Dont know who we take today, but maybe the club sees Coleman Jones as Jack Riewoldts replacement. Maybe we already have our full forward in waiting on our list.
Do we even use a pick?
If we do, I hope it's Baldwin, if he is available.

Reckon our drafting was a lot to do with having a full list and wanting to have a good look at those we have already. We delisted some we probably didn't want to in Turner and English who had done nothing wrong, in fact had been going along quite nicely. DES was also unlucky but someone had to give. Markov and Higgins were close to best 22, but left for opportunity, which we really can't afford to do any more.

We have a lot of players near the end of their careers so the transition will be important this year. Ross, RCD, CCJ, Stack all need to play regularly this year or they will be putting their hands up like Higgins and Markov. Last seasons draft crop will also be knocking on the door and we will need to get a look at some of them as well. So there is a bit of a log jam.

Trading back our top pick was a good idea, as there's a good chance Collingwood will dip down the ladder this year I reckon. The ruck backup is not a bad idea as at his size he seems quite mobile, can mark and spring. So there is a chance as he develops that he will be a better player than Soldo, who is a bit limited. We are talking at least 2 years, by which time Nank might have lost any spring and pace that he has. CCJ hopefully will develop this season, but he may have the go home factor, after all he has had an average trot of it so far at Richmond.

We are missing a key forward backup, but maybe first round about 15 next year in a good draft year where they can study form over a non Covid season.

Would we have had to use our 1st pick on MJr if the rumour of essendon putting a bid in was true? If so well done to the club for a strategic move.

If anyone isn't absolutely stoked about getting a future first in the 2021 draft - you've got rocks in your head.

It strengthens our hand at the trade table significantly and the draft itself will be significantly better than this year.

It's short sighted FOMO.
Taranto gonna look good in yellow and black

List Mgmt. National Draft 2020 discussion