List Mgmt. National Draft 2020 discussion

Pretty disappointed to be honest. We traded an absolute up and coming future gun for a pick upgrade in the first round (yeh yeh I know we got a 2nd rounder too which is pretty average anyway)...only to trade that first pick anyway for a future first where Geelong are expected to be top 2. Why would we do this?! Strange strange decision.

We ignored Carroll and took a player who wouldn’t have even been drafted. We are lucky we have depth..but that’s not a reason to get complacent.

Really hope MRJ makes up for it.
Carroll went after Sampson after being touted a top 25 pick in most Phantoms.So the recruiters of all clubs must have seen something that they didn't like in him.
We still have RCD/Martyn/Ralphsmith/Cumberland as untrieds along with Dow & Ross.
Not sure where Carroll would fit in to be honest.

We can still use up to three list senior lists spots and one rookie spot, assuming that it fits into the cap.
And I'm certain that the cap has weighed heavily in the minds of our recruitment team this year. Rookies cost less than draftees and give the Club more flexibility when it comes to retention decisions. When you add the fact that our list is so strong that players like Caddy, Aarts, Ross, CCJ, Stack, Chol etc can't get a look in, why would we be sweating on draft choices in 2020. We play a long game at Richmond and three flags in four years attest to the fact that we play it well.

Yep he would be great in our system but my info was correct on the all the player's. Can't wait for next year in the super draft 🔥🔥🔥🔥
Any early intel on who'll we'll take with Picks 1 & 18 after the 3peat? :D

Glad I went to bed when I did. No wonder the picks all took so long when there were fu** all used in the end.

I used to look forward to the draft ( cause we were sh*t and I was happy to look for the future guns)

Between SEN trade radio which goes for way too long and the draft coverage on fox it has become really boring.

Wish they would stop trying to build it up so much.
Think next year.Sarah Jones should wear a bikini.

I really like our strategy for this draft. we don't have any glaring holes in our list. need to get some games into some of our listed players that have been with the club for a while to see what they have. added MRJ, Samson and Mate, so some projects there. I have faith in our recruiters and list development to get the best out of these kids. plus add another from the rookie draft today.

then we are loaded up with 2 1sts, 2 2 2nds and 2 3rds next year. there are a few free agents next years well and while the attraction of our success is still strong , I reckon we will have a long term strategy of getting one next year. similar to how we targeted Prestia and Lynch.

a free agent and a draft hand for a mini rebuild next year in a stronger draft as some of our stars are ageing looks to be a good strategy. still have 1 list spot available, probably for the mid season draft. should be some players in that. Sheehan said last night that players like toby Greene and Jackson Mc Crae both wouldn't have been drafted before their final year.

I really like our strategy for this draft. we don't have any glaring holes in our list. need to get some games into some of our listed players that have been with the club for a while to see what they have. added MRJ, Samson and Mate, so some projects there. I have faith in our recruiters and list development to get the best out of these kids. plus add another from the rookie draft today.

then we are loaded up with 2 1sts, 2 2 2nds and 2 3rds next year. there are a few free agents next years well and while the attraction of our success is still strong , I reckon we will have a long term strategy of getting one next year. similar to how we targeted Prestia and Lynch.

a free agent and a draft hand for a mini rebuild next year in a stronger draft as some of our stars are ageing looks to be a good strategy. still have 1 list spot available, probably for the mid season draft. should be some players in that. Sheehan said last night that players like toby Greene and Jackson Mc Crae both wouldn't have been drafted before their final year.
Reckon we might take 1 rookie today and leave another spot for the supplementary draft by upgrading a current rookie

They would've picked him for a number of reasons that as fans we wouldn't even know.
Like i said before.Have faith.
It’s strange that some fans put more weight on what a Callum twomey has to say rather than the blokes who have put together a team that has won 3 of the last 4 flags.

Its not as if we wouldn't have done our homework on all the draftees starting way back in the U/15's etc.The curveball was Covid this year.
To the untrained eye Sampson looks like a reach but i bet how many thought the same with Baker?

Carroll went after Sampson after being touted a top 25 pick in most Phantoms.So the recruiters of all clubs must have seen something that they didn't like in him.
We still have RCD/Martyn/Ralphsmith/Cumberland as untrieds along with Dow & Ross.
Not sure where Carroll would fit in to be honest.

I understand your point, but good players slide every year. We were lucky to get graham where we did, (just an example)

Once again, we are lucky we have depth. Hope we take a serious look at Baldwin, after all we tend to do better in the rookie draft

Interesting draft.

Love MRJ, we got a good one there.

Sampson, hmm. Can see the logic. I reckon this might indicate that we think one of our rucks might be moving on over the next few years. Or maybe I just have no idea. Interesting pick.

Spare spot that sounds like we are looking for the supplementary draft - i.e. Sydney Stack type pick all over again. Reckon there might be a few very high end talents that are sitting without a club this year. Perhaps try one with no risk attached.

interesting, good to read the opposite view as I was ropeable with last night.

-deferring our 1st pick, I've been upset with FJ for some of his 1st round efforts, but at least he had a go! There would definitely have been a potential star on the board last night at our 1st pick, especially given we are good at picking the eyes out of the southern and western leagues which were less disrupted. Also, imo, giving up an entire year of development time is always a bigger penalty than any gain in a future draft position. You just can't get that time back and it is poorly understood how big that time penalty is.

-I like Samson Ryan, but no need to take him in the draft

-If you are going to turn your back on a draft, why drop Higgins off the list to upgrade a pick in that draft? Lack of communication between trade and draft objectives?

Overall I take the point that we 'have the best list in the league', but history tells us we are already at the stage where 90% of 'dynasty premiership windows' have closed. And I bet all those dynasties that stopped at 3 cups would tell you they didn't see the window closing so fast...had to be more involved in the draft this year. All imo.

Like I said, can’t make sense of it unless he can play next year when we will have Soldo back following year and Mate the basketball kid already on books as a long term option? Seems over the top when RFC allegedly don’t rate ruck position highly. Could have selected many others instead that are not a pure ruck.
What we say in the media and what is true inside the 4 walls isn't necessarily the same.
There’s very limited information out there on Samson Ryan but I cannot help but think the club has probably gone and done some far more serious scouting and watching of him that what any other club has.

He appears to have done really well in the QAFL and is a fantastic size. The fact he’s born in December and has only tuned twenty today shows he was always one of the youngest in his age group and bits of course always take longer to develop.

In more recent times both Rohan Marshall and Sam Draper who are a similar size, went undrafted and were then picked up in the rookie draft.They’re now two of the more promising ruckman in the competition.
Club spent the year up in Queensland so you'd think they had a real good look at him live rather than off tape.
Pretty disappointed to be honest. We traded an absolute up and coming future gun for a pick upgrade in the first round (yeh yeh I know we got a 2nd rounder too which is pretty average anyway)...only to trade that first pick anyway for a future first where Geelong are expected to be top 2. Why would we do this?! Strange strange decision.

We ignored Carroll and took a player who wouldn’t have even been drafted. We are lucky we have depth..but that’s not a reason to get complacent.

Really hope MRJ makes up for it.
Fair accusation to say the club has become complacent when we turned a player who didn't want to be at the club into a first round pick in a stronger draft.

Carroll would have been good but we have mids like RCD Dow Martin and the like that are still waiting for their opportunity. Given where he ended up going in the draft its likely Carroll would probably have sat in the VFL for a couple of years and then requested a trade home for more opportunity or even get desisted like English did.

Samson might not be the ideal pick, but given Nankervis injury history and Soldo also having a serious injury another developing genuine ruckman makes sense. Also possible that the club now focuses on making CCJ the Reiwoldt replacement.

I honestly have never heard of Samson Ryan until 3 days ago on 1 of the phantom drafts of reports but thought ohh yeah Rookie pick selection

We used a 2nd rounder on a 20 year old 3rd/4th league Ruckman , Yeah maybe he would have been taken by Brisbane but seriously he is not NicNat/Grundy or Gawn. We coughed up more than we paid for Nank and in all honesty Darcy Cameron had done alot more at WAFL level both as foward and Ruck and was cheap as that should have been the range. If he was gone then pick another as insurance in the rookie draft.

We should have taken Carroll , Rioli , Ford and a Rookie Ruck

Also watching the highlights on the RFC website - Thought it was Tyrone Vickery :tearsofjoy:
he's not a 3rd/4th league ruckman. He was a NEAFL #1 ruckman, the NEAFL was cancelled (permanently) so he went back to his previous club to play state league footy. Like pretty much all NEAFL players did.

The competition was an extremely high standard and he was probably the best ruck in the comp other than Fraser Thurlow. (who is much older, bigger and previously on AFL list)

I think that's a stretch.

He justifies it because we looked for a ruck during trade period.

The thing is, that interest we would have been looking for a cheap/mature/experienced ruck who would be OK playing in the 2s but could fill in if anything happens to Nankervis.

We've young ruck depth, but with Soldo out, we don't have a lot of *experienced* support should Nank go down. Really just Chol (would need to step up and be more consistent) and CCJ once he returns from suspension (big ask for a 1 gamer) and then we're into KPPs who can pinch hit (Balta, Miller, Astbury, Biggy...).

Drafting a kid, even an 'overage' one doesn't do much to fill that hole (we've also got Mate Colina joining as a cat-B, but obviously he'd be a long way off).

If we do go for a ruck, it'd be a mature body from a 2nd tier league...So any good VFL/WAFL/SANFL types out there would be far more likely.

Well, clearly I got this one wrong.

Does surprise me that we went for a new ruckman though.

Club must be looking at CCJ as being a KPF who maybe pinch hits in the ruck a bit (or they think he's likely to be leaving).

interesting, good to read the opposite view as I was ropeable with last night.

-deferring our 1st pick, I've been upset with FJ for some of his 1st round efforts, but at least he had a go! There would definitely have been a potential star on the board last night at our 1st pick, especially given we are good at picking the eyes out of the southern and western leagues which were less disrupted. Also, imo, giving up an entire year of development time is always a bigger penalty than any gain in a future draft position. You just can't get that time back and it is poorly understood how big that time penalty is.

-I like Samson Ryan, but no need to take him in the draft

-If you are going to turn your back on a draft, why drop Higgins off the list to upgrade a pick in that draft? Lack of communication between trade and draft objectives?

Overall I take the point that we 'have the best list in the league', but history tells us we are already at the stage where 90% of 'dynasty premiership windows' have closed. And I bet all those dynasties that stopped at 3 cups would tell you they didn't see the window closing so fast...had to be more involved in the draft this year. All imo.
If we didn't rate who was available this year then why get involved?

We already have the likes of Ross RCD Dow Martyn Nash Cumberland Ralphsmith Miller Garthwaite Nyoun CCJ Stack and Aarts waiting in the wings for opportunities adding another couple of kids in a draft we clearly didn't rate makes no sense.

2021 we have 6 picks inside first 3 rounds. We will have a year of games being played where we can then pick kids off of actual performances rather than hoping they have developed as expected despite many not playing.

The club is way better placed to make these decisions than any of us here are and given their recent successes in making the right choice I see no reason to question them now.

There’s very limited information out there on Samson Ryan but I cannot help but think the club has probably gone and done some far more serious scouting and watching of him that what any other club has.

He appears to have done really well in the QAFL and is a fantastic size. The fact he’s born in December and has only tuned twenty today shows he was always one of the youngest in his age group and bits of course always take longer to develop.

In more recent times both Rohan Marshall and Sam Draper who are a similar size, went undrafted and were then picked up in the rookie draft.They’re now two of the more promising ruckman in the competition.

Also if somehow next year goes south (unlikely) we have a massive draft haul to cheer us back up.

Win win.

I understand your point, but good players slide every year. We were lucky to get graham where we did, (just an example)

Once again, we are lucky we have depth. Hope we take a serious look at Baldwin, after all we tend to do better in the rookie draft
I'm more than happy if we take a punt with Baldwin.

List Mgmt. National Draft 2020 discussion