List Mgmt. National & Rookie Draft 2021

On SEN they were saying that inside mids are out of fashion at the moment and clubs are looking for guys that run and spread to the outside. Crazy after Wines wins a Brownlow. He looks a plug and play type.
I still think clubs will still treat contested players like gold.

Oliver wasn't a great runner early, Viney isn't exactly fast.

I'd be very surprised if Hobbs makes past pick 6 or 7, but I'd have no issue taking him with our pick.

I still think clubs will still treat contested players like gold.

Oliver wasn't a great runner early, Viney isn't exactly fast.

I'd be very surprised if Hobbs makes past pick 6 or 7, but I'd have no issue taking him with our pick.
If you are recruiting an inside mid you need to make sure they are either absolute elite at winning contested footy (Cripps, Oliver, etc) or they have other strings to their bow (have an outside game, speed &/or can go forward). We’ve seen with blokes like Viney & Dunstan they have found themselves out of the best 22 because they are very one dimensional inside mids. So when we are selecting an inside mid I hope they project to be elite at their trade or have a few other strings to their bow.

Yeah I agree. Hobbs falls into the category of Oliver and Cripps though, not Dunstan and Viney.

His contested and stoppage games is elite and he also goes forward and kicks goals.

Yeah I agree. Hobbs falls into the category of Oliver and Cripps though, not Dunstan and Viney.

His contested and stoppage games is elite and he also goes forward and kicks goals.

He plays like he thinks he's a gun too. He has swagger. I reckon you can see some confidence and attitude in the way he carries himself. After 10 years of watching players who look like they sleep with the lights on, I like the idea of a bit of an alpha.

He looks like he’s in his 30s as well. What’s he projected to go in the draft?

On that note, I hope Bytel is working on that this off-season. 2022 could be his year with Dunstan going and he could really cement himself in the side if he can accumulate the ball and hit targets. He was good in the Freo game where he had 17 disposals and 7 tackles. Wasn’t getting a tonne of the ball, so he managed to go forward and kick his first two goals in AFL. So as an inside mid with a good kick, I hope we see that continued progression next year and our midfield could be flying.

IMO, no reason to not believe his ceiling is as high as it was before he had those back issues and was projected to go early in the 2018 super-draft.

On that note, I hope Bytel is working on that this off-season. 2022 could be his year with Dunstan going and he could really cement himself in the side if he can accumulate the ball and hit targets. He was good in the Freo game where he had 17 disposals and 7 tackles. Wasn’t getting a tonne of the ball, so he managed to go forward and kick his first two goals in AFL. So as an inside mid with a good kick, I hope we see that continued progression next year and our midfield could be flying - I still believe his ceiling is as high as it was before he had those back issues.
I’m not as confident as others regarding Bytel. He has a lot of work to do to make it as a consistent best 22 mid. You are exactly correct in saying he needs to work on his trade & other facets of his game or the game will go past him. Look at Steele for example: he came to the club fairly one dimensional & even found himself out of the best 22 under Richo. He has consequently become an excellent two way mid (credit to Cho for giving him tagging role) & under Ratts has become a fairly dangerous forward at times. Bytel needs to model his development on his captain.

I’m not as confident as others regarding Bytel. He has a lot of work to do to make it as a consistent best 22 mid. You are exactly correct in saying he needs to work on his trade & other facets to his game or the game will go past him. Look at Steele for example: he cam to the club fairly one dimensional & even found himself out to the best 22 under Richo. He as consequently become an excellent two way mid (credit to Cho for giving him tagging role) & under Ratts has become a fairly dangerous forward at times. Bytel needs to mode his development on his captain.

Definitely, could we see him tagging then? Might bring out the defensive side of his game - which to be fair is already quite strong tackles wise. I’m buoyed by his VFL performances as well, generally speaking they have been quite strong - shows that he seems to be simmering between the levels of VFL and AFL. Hopefully we see that jump next year.

I’m not as confident as others regarding Bytel. He has a lot of work to do to make it as a consistent best 22 mid. You are exactly correct in saying he needs to work on his trade & other facets to his game or the game will go past him. Look at Steele for example: he cam to the club fairly one dimensional & even found himself out to the best 22 under Richo. He as consequently become an excellent two way mid (credit to Cho for giving him tagging role) & under Ratts has become a fairly dangerous forward at times. Bytel needs to mode his development on his captain.
I think he looks like he has everything to make it as a good inside mid, but just can't find the footy enough.

And that's an issue.

His in close stuff is very good. He's got really clean hands and moves well in traffic.

I know Ratten has him often playing a defensive type role in there, but he still needs to start getting the footy more.

He's very similar to Steele early in his career at the Saints, but that's not to say he's just going to jump out and surprise the comp.

Hopefully he just follows Steele around like a bad smell and can learn off him because I do think he's got the potential there.

He's super competetive too, which is what you want.

I know Rendell is a painful campaigner on the radio, but he spoke about him the other day and made some great points.

His contested game us better than anyone's in the draft, but he isn't a man child so you just know that is going to keep going at AFL level.

I doubt he's a regular best 22 player until he gets up his 50 AFL games. I think he's got all the tools but he looks like a guy who'll be a slow burn like Jack Steele and that's been exacerbated by hardly playing since he was 16. Most of the games he played this year were as the sub.

Hunter Clark and Gresham are the more realistic replacements for Dunny. One needs to get over an achilles, one needs to work his arse off to get super fit.

Definitely, could we see him tagging then? Might bring out the defensive side of his game - which to be fair is already quite strong tackles wise. I’m buoyed by his VFL performances as well, generally speaking they have been quite strong - shows that he seems to be simmering between the levels of VFL and AFL. Hopefully we see that jump next year.
I think both Bytel and Dunstan were playing defensive roles in the side when they were in.

The difference was, Dunstan was also finding the footy.

Ratten did use the fact Dunstan's defensive game went backwards in his last few games as a reason he was dropped though.

Maybe not a hard tag but in rd23, he was following Mundy everywhere he went. Hopefully that teaches him how to get to the right spots the same way it did for Steele.

He's super competetive too, which is what you want.

I know Rendell is a painful campaigner on the radio, but he spoke about him the other day and made some great points.

His contested game us better than anyone's in the draft, but he isn't a man child so you just know that is going to keep going at AFL level.

He's a different type but there is something about him reminds me of young Hanners, the directing with the ball tucked under an arm and the head up looking around maybe.

Maybe not a hard tag but in rd23, he was following Mundy everywhere he went. Hopefully that teaches him how to get to the right spots the same way it did for Steele.

He definitely seems to be given jobs to chase the best players around, he was on Dusty earlier in the year as well.

I still have hope for Bytel , he like a few others i wont mention or i will trigger someone really need to hit the track , Bytel looks like he has a nice strong top half but he has chicken legs , there is a difference between looking ripped and actually being fit, being able to run out games and get to contest after contest

He's a different type but there is something about him reminds me of young Hanners, the directing with the ball tucked under an arm and the head up looking around maybe.
It's a real shame Hanners body is stuffed because our boys could have learnt a few things from him in his prime.

He was the hardest runner in the AFL.

Bytel is obviously more inside but does share some similarities for sure.

Re Hobbs, I’ve got no issue with taking him. He isn’t Dunstan. As bird man referenced, Melbourne’s midfield is largely built around contested bulls. The other element is age. Lots of talk about how he fits in with Steele and Crouch. Crouch will be in his 30s by the time Hobbs is into his fourth year and starting to really get going.