• Andrew Brayshaw

Votes: 84 35.7%
  • Alex Pearce

Votes: 88 37.4%
  • Other

Votes: 7 3.0%

He hasn't had it all season and half of last. He isn't sure with the ball, a very poor kick and rarely breaks the lines anymore to give drive.

A defensive line of Ryan, Hamling and Chappy would be a nice change. Get Pearce his surgery and have him ready for next season. At which time I hope they have removed him as captain.

They won't drop him or rest him. On form he needs to be dropped and for his sake he needs to go get that surgery.

He is a non presence. And today as has been the case since the bye, his body language was terrible. Given how much the ball was in his area at a minimum he should have crushed some opponents and contests. He wasn't without opportunity.

I hope he gets over this latest issue as when in form a couple of seasons ago he was a ripper as a stopper. Now he doesn't have that.

Not sure what KPD rate below him but he would be in the bottom 5 in the league atm. I don't have an exhaustive list, but cannot think of a no1 KPD I would take him over league wide.

Having him as captain puts us in a selection pickle this season and long term.
I said two weeks ago here he wouldn’t get a game at several of the top sides and provoked a strong reaction from a number of posters.
Stand by what I said. He’d be playing VFL in Victoria park if he was on the pies list. No doubt about it.

Brayshaw will be captain and Serong his right hand man
I'm still on them for co captain's and usually I hate co captain's. But they both deserve it.

No, Brayshaw doesnt have the hard edge or dog in him.

Has to be Serong.
You think Brayshaw has no dawg in him? I think he does, always in the right spots to command his team mates to give him the footy. Always chasing hard at the end of games for a tackle.

The big question is, does he have improvement in him?

We need a decent FB come season '25 or '26 when we should be contenders, will be him or Davies or Draper....or someone else?

We need to move heaven and earth to convince Sam Taylor to come here as a FA at the end of 2025. WC will be circling as well, so it won't be easy. The team really needs to perform in 2024/25 to show Taylor we are worth coming to.

Pearce used to be a gun, but he is a liability now. So easily moved off the ball, it's like watching bambi on ice out there. Not sure if injuries have caught up with him and/or he has to wear boots with small studs and no grip, but it must be deflating for the players to watch the captain be so weak. Guys like Moore and May have a massive physical presence.

The big question is, does he have improvement in him?

We need a decent FB come season '25 or '26 when we should be contenders, will be him or Hughes or Draper....or someone else?
Hughes? You are joking right?
Hughes would make a good full back at Harvey in the south west league.
He’s a flanker and One of the most painfully limited players I’ve ever seen at AFL level

I've been mostly negative on individuals this season but don't necessarily think any of Longmuir, Garlick & Bell need to be moved on at the end of the season.

However, I do think that removing Pearce as captain is of the upmost importance.

He would struggle to get a game in most AFL sides in current form. His season has been absolutely horrendous and with the unreliability of his fitness, he looks to be decaying as a professional athlete in real time. His unconditional selection completely undermines selection integrity.

This is impossible to quantify but my working theory as to our slow starts is his inability to communicate/inspire players further up the ground because he's stapled to the goal line. I know Brayshaw, O'Meara and Serong are in the leadership group, but it's not the same as one defined leader giving direct motivations.

As mentioned midweek by Hasleby, Pearce dodges the media after a loss and it's often left to Serong & Brayshaw as well as the side essentially playing as 17 when they have the ball because no one wants to kick it to him and the opposition know this.

Alex Pearce's Sulking and dropping the bottom lip when things are going bad is becoming very infectious. Hes a bloody great dude but not Captain material sadly on game day.

I reckon half those posts could be carbon copies of a thread about David Mundy in 2016.

I don't think he was the right choice for captain but I think he will get his form back.

News New Captain for 2023 - Alex Pearce