Mega Thread New Stadium

Re: New Stadium - Time for Cautious Optimism?

Don't they have to keep the Dome to keep the casino license?

Yes but the government should change that. The Dome is a deathtrap. Burswood have repairers working on it on a daily basis just to keep the thing standing.

If Cyclone Yasi hovered over the Burswood Dome. No ifs buts or maybes about it. It would fall down

Yes but the government should change that. The Dome is a deathtrap. Burswood have repairers working on it on a daily basis just to keep the thing standing.

If Cyclone Yasi hovered over the Burswood Dome. No ifs buts or maybes about it. It would fall down

Burswood wants the dome knocked down 5 years ago but the government couldn't agree on a plan to build a replacement (which will be Perth Arena in 2 years time).

FWIW, the dome is 'standing' because its inflated. Its got interlocks to keep the air in so that the roof doesn't collapse. I'm sure if you somehow got up there with a stanley knife, you can knock the whole thing down.

Anyways its a embrassing shithole and is getting knocked down. The replacement will be 'world class' though. Something Perth has never heard of.

Building it at Belmont will reek of so much fail its scary. The only reason they want it is because its a cheap alternative. The pure logistics as far as getting in and out of the place will be horrific. Unless changes are made I reckon atleast 70% of patrons are going to have to take public transport for it to even come close to working. Burswood is a much better option IF they flog of the golf course and the Burswood Dome.

I don't get it. How is Belmont a cheaper alternative when you instantly have to buy the land off Perth Racing before you can turn one shovel?

They own the land on Burswood but its literally a shithole as it used to be a garbage tip and therefore requires at least 100 mill to strengthen the soil and at least 18 months on top in extra construction.

I want this thing built in East Perth purely for the basis that I get to watch my footy team before I get all old, wrinkly & fragile (and I'm only 23).

You are having a lend of yourself ... Darling Harbour,try Moore Park.

WTF??? It is not going to be an area with just a few stadiums. I am talking about a proper development, just like darling harbour, which could easily be achieved with the amount of land that is there and its proximity to the city and transportation.

It is on the river FFS, not in the middle of the burbs like Moore Park. They already are thinking of turning the powerhouse into a museum. There would be something there to attract people day to day other than a few stadiums, particularly if some office space was added in. If you built mixed use developments around there, they would be filled up in no time. Perth lacks development on the river, this is a prime place to do it as it currently holds two shit heaps in Belmont Racecourse and the Old Power Station. Anything would have to be better than that.

Is your proposal to just leave the shit heaps there??

Isn't the East Perth site even closer? Separated by just a small river. Why not throw that into the precinct??
There are more train lines in East Perth

Originally Posted by lusheslewis
Interesting results from a poll on watoday.com.au

Old East Perth power station 28%
Burswood 26%
Belmont Park 25%
Kitchener Park, Subiaco 21%

That's over 50% for the Belmont/Burswood precinct, which to me is very surprising

Or put it another way, 74% preferred a site other than Burswood, and 75% preferred a site other than Belmont, and 79% preferred a site other than Subiaco. Given that only 72% preferred a site other than the Old East Perth Power Station, then that site has to be the preferred site !!! . . . It's all in how you view it. You can hardly treat Burswood and Belmont (combined) as a single location. No more so than you could treat Belmont and the Power House (53%), or Burswood & the Power House (54%) as single locations.

That wasn't what I was saying at all, although I do understand how my original post could be misread - I wasn't very clear. If you read my subsequent posts you'll find I was simply surprised that more than 50% of respondents preferred a site on the south side of the river, in that general kind of area, when it is not our main population base and has worse transport links for Northerners.

I'm certainly not advocating either/both as the site (in fact my personal view is that these are the 2 worst sites).

That wasn't what I was saying at all, although I do understand how my original post could be misread - I wasn't very clear. If you read my subsequent posts you'll find I was simply surprised that more than 50% of respondents preferred a site on the south side of the river, in that general kind of area, when it is not our main population base and has worse transport links for Northerners.

I'm certainly not advocating either/both as the site (in fact my personal view is that these are the 2 worst sites).
thats because most people who voted would have no idea about event logistics. they recognise with a piece of open space where there is no housing and a little bell rings in their head "oh yeh, lets build a stadium there". clearly burswood and belmont open space is more obvious to people than subiaco and east perth open space.

WTF??? It is not going to be an area with just a few stadiums. I am talking about a proper development, just like darling harbour, which could easily be achieved with the amount of land that is there and its proximity to the city and transportation.

It is on the river FFS, not in the middle of the burbs like Moore Park. They already are thinking of turning the powerhouse into a museum. There would be something there to attract people day to day other than a few stadiums, particularly if some office space was added in. If you built mixed use developments around there, they would be filled up in no time. Perth lacks development on the river, this is a prime place to do it as it currently holds two shit heaps in Belmont Racecourse and the Old Power Station. Anything would have to be better than that.

Is your proposal to just leave the shit heaps there??

My point is you are having a lend of yourself.
Whats that bridge over there, its hardly the coathanger.

I think Belmont is a good alternative just as I think the precinct stuff is nonsense.

My point is you are having a lend of yourself.
Whats that bridge over there, its hardly the coathanger.

I think Belmont is a good alternative just as I think the precinct stuff is nonsense.

What's the shape of the bridge got to do with anything?

Colin Barnett will be in at 6PR 10am saturday , evidently 21 proposals for a stadium :p

Hope they lock the doors behind him untill a solution is found , I know we are the "wait awhile "state but this is a bit indecisive ,... im not sure they actually know which is the best alternative .

When all else fails go the most conservative approach --" Kitchener Park " , do it for :footy::footy: sake !

Colin certainly prefers Burswood then Belmont Park. Subiaco is very unlikely going by what he said on the radio. Just hope once the site is offically announced in June that they just get moving with it straight away.

Did he mention East Perth?

Was this on 6pr this morning?

Did he mention East Perth?

Was this on 6pr this morning?

Yes Colin Barnett did mention the East Perth site ,... the museum that was to be located at the Power station site is now to be located at the Perth Cultural Centre ( Northbridge ? ) , Colin indicated all options are still being considered but I get the impression that Subiaco area may not be successful and the Belmont / Burswood sites are the preference ! The open area seems appealing to be the site where Commonwwealth games etc can be held without major housing and traffic problems !

Seems the Govt are prepared to put in the infrustructure and foundations to do what is required for the stadium . But who would really know ???

Mmmm . . A year or so ago Colin preferred Subiaco, Then last week he pumped up Belmont Park as the logical location, and now he prefers Burswood. . . . It all sounds like political negotiation stances to me - making several alternative sites look equally suitable to his preferred site. Maybe he is just trying to shake out a good deal on one of those sites ? Maybe he is holding back before revealing his real choice ? Who knows ?

I suspect he will go with the best deal net cost wise in the end. That would probably suggest the Old Power Station site on Govt owned land (the site with the lowest construction cost, and probably the best transport access), with development being partially funded by the subsequent sale of the old Subiaco Oval site. Given the WAFL has an 80 year lease on Subiaco, the Govt & WAFL would have to come to some sort of agreement with SCC for the disposal of that high value site with a share going to the SCC of the sale proceeds. One presumes that the WAFL would then end up as a prime lease holder of the new Stadium - in return for the value of the WAFL's 80yr leasehold stake in the Subiaco site.

Yep it is all totally guess-work. But whatever is going on, Colin is now under some pressure to make an announcement pretty soon - well before the next election.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/newshome/8750122/burswood-wants-new-stadium/ Burswood

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/...wer-station-site-delivers-wow-without-the-ow/ Power Station

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/breaking/8735623/barnett-wants-arena-at-belmont/ - Belmont Park

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/breaking/8758086/footy-chiefs-prepared-to-quit-subi/ Subiaco

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/newshome/8815059/new-deal-to-sink-belmont-stadium/

Belmont Park has virtually been ruled out !

Colin cant take a trick ; just hours before a tour and meeting of Belmont Park was to take place it seems Perth racing have signed a 4 billion dollar deal to upgrade the area - apartments , innercity living to surround the racecourse .

Must put East Perth and Burswood right in the mix ,.... the Power station site would be even more attractive now with the upgrade of Belmont Park :)

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/newshome/8815059/new-deal-to-sink-belmont-stadium/

Mega Thread New Stadium