next brisbane coach (after voss)

Jesus Christ you rate Staker as a key forward dam.You kidding me right the pair of you.

Staker in front of goal last year. G10 .B15

Takes more than kicks at goal to be a Key Forward. Clark played one of his best games the other week, playing right up the ground and kick 1 goal. Seriously, do you know anything about footy other than just looking at stats and DT scores and basing opinions off that. There is no stat for value to the team or filling a role in the team structure.

As a side note, Staker kicked his 10.15 playing along side Brown and Fev, and for only about 8 rounds or so until he was needed down back. Not many players can attract the ball when playing alongside big name forwards.

A key forwards job is to kick goals and win the game for his side, otherwise you are dropped to the 2nd's for under performing and not playing your role in the side.You wouldn't have Jonathan Brown Run around and Kick 1 goal and have 29 touches why playing as key forward would you,cause if he did we wouldn't win the game, cause no one else apart from him can kick us a winning score at the moment.

This is the perfect time for players like Cornelius and Polkinghorne to step up and make a real name for themselves. Hope they do, be good second option for Browny.

I think Voss will be given another two years, however I hope the Club doesn't complete any extension unnecessarily early like was recently suggested in the Courier Mail. If the team all of the sudden drops off a cliff in terms of its competitiveness for the rest of the year then Voss would rightfully be in the gun.

Personally, I support Voss for now. He (along with others) obviously made a huge mistake with the trading at the end of the 2009 season (taken as a whole). He is learning on the job, but I still see some signs he could be a good coach.

Positives:
- he brings with him a ferocious competitive spirit, which a lot of the team display more often than not;
- he is usually very positive towards individual players / the team, which is something a coach needs to be;
- our young players seem to be improving considerably;
- he now has a lot more help and he has probably recognised he needs to be less controlling / delegate more as a result of the Review;
- he is willing to try significant changes that can have significant rewards (such as McCauley into the ruck and Leuenberger forward);
- we seem to be making improvements in terms of our kick-ins, defence of kick-ins, forward line set-up, and our clearance work.

Negatives:
- like Leigh, he is slow to make moves during games when things are obviously going against us. This is particularly a problem when we are being smashed in a specific one-on-one match-up;
- I am not convinced he is a great strategist. He never filled me with confidence as a commentator in terms of his 'footy smarts', and his coaching so far hasn't really changed my mind in that regard;
- every now and then he makes big obvious mistakes (going too tall against St.Kilda on a wet night, especially having Cornelius in the team as the Sub was a huge gamble / mistake that significantly contributed to us being outgunned in the last quarter when we ran out of legs - Leigh Matthews commented on the same lines early in the game and it turned out to be correct);

Yup, game day tactics are still a way to go. Vossy will get there eventually. More of a balance between backing the player to come good or deciding "hang on this is not working, change it"

It was interesting to watch Hird/Bomber's matchday tactics against collingwood. As soon as collingwood went 13-0 Ryder got moved to loose man in defense. Similarly, Hurley was not getting anywhere with Tarrant, he got moved to backline with Bellchambers going against Tarrant and getting their first goal.

It was interesting to watch the tactics battle between the coaches. Looked like both teams had a plan A, B, C on table before the bounce.

i think the club need to make a strong statement that this performance (as promising as we are told it is - honourable lossess etc) is unacceptable. announcing asap, that voss's contract won't be renewed would be a start.

i think they should start talking to paul roos sooner rather than later

i had resigned myself to the team not winning a game this year, but it is harder than I thought it would be.

i think the club need to make a strong statement that this performance (as promising as we are told it is - honourable lossess etc) is unacceptable. announcing asap, that voss's contract won't be renewed would be a start

yeah, a start towards making us the next Richmond.

Sacking the coach will not do any of the following...

- Make our promising young kids instantly start playing like 100 gamers
- Make Black and Power 5 years younger
- Make Brown's face and Staker's knee heal faster

The players are playing for him and are showing weekly improvement. That's all you can really ask for at the stage our list is at. Why throw that away for the sake of "making a strong statement" that doesn't need to be made.

Hirds job is made a bit easier when you have Thompson sitting behind him, with two recent premierships and years of coaching under his belt.

Add McCartney to that list, very underrated back room man at Geelong. Geelong had a very good setup that featured McCartney and my personal favourite all time coach in Kenny from Camperdown Hinkley. It ws not disimilar in my opinion to when we where firing we had GOD, Lambert, Fletcher and others all working in together. If I can be critical of Vossy in one aspect it's that he possibly went with a group of unproven and possibly "spuds" in 2010.

Nowadays it's the coaching group that makes the difference not the just the head banana.

There is a long way to go before we have to address this question. The measure of success of a coach is if he can get the maximum out of his players both individually and collectively. I am seeing positive signs even if we don't have any points to show for it.

Sure we still make heaps of mistakes, but I can see what we are trying to achieve and I can live with it for the time being given what he has to work with.

i think the club need to make a strong statement that this performance (as promising as we are told it is - honourable lossess etc) is unacceptable. announcing asap, that voss's contract won't be renewed would be a start.

Sacking Voss now would be making the statement that we are very impatient.

Midfield set-ups seem to have improved this year, but can we please get an assistant who can help with our attack and defence from kick-ins?

7 years of pain is more than enough!

I had really hoped that we would have been able to lure Ken Hinkley to the Lions as an assistant...instead he went to the Suns.:(

Kenny was a great teacher of the game thus I reckon he would be just loving the Suns challenge.

I was a player in his first coaching gig and the passion that he put into it was just phenomenal given we and he were really up against it. I remember him telling us all the Blighty stories and so on and it was just magic. He could deal with the best player, thru to the worst player each on an individual level that just made you feel special

During the end of his second season with us, the wheels were literally starting to fall off the club. Unnanounced one Tuesday night, Budda Hocking and a few other boys turned up at training to train with us. By this stage we were only getting 20 odd to training and it was cold and wet but they did it to help out their mate which I thought spoke volumes for both Budda and for the regard that they held Kenny in.

When Blighty got the job at St.Kilda Kenny was first on the list and I recall later when that all went pear shaped, he said it did not matter who coached the Saints down the track because the talented kids they had on the list where that good.

It was no surprise that he eventually made it in the big time because he was the best coach I played under and I was fortunate to have some good ones.

Hey all,

Just wondering, every body talks about Vossy being a club legend ect for the lions but I was just wondering is he a Qld boy.

I used to live near Orbost Vic and remember that the Voss name was common there, one or two of them were coppers and one of them coached the Snowy Rovers local football club where I played.

Was one of them Vossy's old man.

Let me tell you these guys we hard b#stards but respected, I copped the size 13 boot many times , which I didn't deserve of course:D:D

A couple of big negatives to add to my list on Voss:

- our skills / disposal efficiency is easily the worst in the league (ignoring Gold Coast). I have seen no real improvement from last year, yet we were meant to be concentrating on our skills over the pre-season.

- Voss is struggling to adapt his coaching to the way footy is clearly played these days. SPEED IS KING. We are continually going into games top heavy when we already have a 'lack of speed' problem even amongst most of our small players. Tonight Maguire and Collier clearly should not have played. The question is when are our coaches going to take their heads out of the sand??? I mean, how many times do you need to be taught the same lesson??? (I clearly remember the Bulldogs final in 2009 being the clearest example of this problem, and I remember Voss after that game didn't even acknowledge it as an issue).

I'm still of the opinion that there is no need whatsoever to re-sign Voss to a new deal until the end of the season.

I don't think he has demonstrated that he is a good 'in-game' coach and on the evidence is very reactionary and slow to various happenings during a match.

Additionally, and this is probably more to do with the match committee, which I would imagine Voss would play a significant role, but our Thursday night selections on a number of occasions have just been wrong which have had a detrimental impact on the team.

It would be highly reticent to just sign him up without significant improvement and/or waiting to see who is available or make enquiries.

I haven't written Voss off at all, but will definitely be reserving judgement until the end of the year. I agree that Voss would do anything for the club and appears to relate well to the younger boys, but is that enough at this stage?

SPEED IS KING. We are continually going into games top heavy when we already have a 'lack of speed' problem even amongst most of our small players. Tonight Maguire ... clearly should not have played.
Exactly my thought when I saw Maguire in. This was totally the wrong game for him.

I don't think he has demonstrated that he is a good 'in-game' coach and on the evidence is very reactionary and slow to various happenings during a match.
Slow? Absolutely glacial. I'm not a tactician by any stretch of the imagination but even I could see tonight that changes needed to be made - move Clark up the ground, put someone on Nahas, etc. Voss didn't do anything about it until the game was lost.

We do have a wafer thin squad (in terms of good quality, experienced players) so sometimes the options are limited but sometimes the obvious is staring us in the face (and many of the smarter BF posters see it) but Voss just continues to try and force plan A.

Hirds job is made a bit easier when you have Thompson sitting behind him, with two recent premierships and years of coaching under his belt.

Hirds job is also easier as Knights did the tough yards for him. This fact appears lost on the vast majority of the media & public, as they are too wrapped up in the Hird saviour story. Look at the likes of Ryder, Hurley, Hooker, Pears, Gumbleton (if ever fit), as a spine going forward & then look at ours. They are now just filling the gaps with Heppells, etc & are on their way.

At some stage for the betterment of a club someone needs to make a decision to build & follow it through. We appear to have finally made it but I highly doubt Vossy will be the one to see the eventual fruits of it.

Lots of pain for someones elses eventual gain will be Vossys legacy as a coach, if he does get an extension.

A couple of big negatives to add to my list on Voss:

- our skills / disposal efficiency is easily the worst in the league (ignoring Gold Coast). I have seen no real improvement from last year, yet we were meant to be concentrating on our skills over the pre-season.

- Voss is struggling to adapt his coaching to the way footy is clearly played these days. SPEED IS KING. We are continually going into games top heavy when we already have a 'lack of speed' problem even amongst most of our small players. Tonight Maguire and Collier clearly should not have played. The question is when are our coaches going to take their heads out of the sand??? I mean, how many times do you need to be taught the same lesson??? (I clearly remember the Bulldogs final in 2009 being the clearest example of this problem, and I remember Voss after that game didn't even acknowledge it as an issue).

Disagree slightly. I've always argued good foot skills are more vaulable, however you need to have either of.

I'm still of the opinion that there is no need whatsoever to re-sign Voss to a new deal until the end of the season.

Additionally, and this is probably more to do with the match committee, which I would imagine Voss would play a significant role, but our Thursday night selections on a number of occasions have just been wrong which have had a detrimental impact on the team.

It would be highly reticent to just sign him up without significant improvement and/or waiting to see who is available or make enquiries.

I haven't written Voss off at all, but will definitely be reserving judgement until the end of the year. I agree that Voss would do anything for the club and appears to relate well to the younger boys, but is that enough at this stage?

Sums up my position too. I hope I'm wrong about my suspicions though... :(

if we string 2 wins togeather, the board will fall over themselves to extend Voss' contract. we could use a midfield defensive coach, as we look good against sides that move it slowly like saints, but with a quick ball movement side we do not stand a chance. i see pies and cats delivering 15 goal smashings.

next brisbane coach (after voss)