NFNL 2023 Div 1 discussion

2 players.

1 has played 4 games with Collingwood

The other is on Carlton’s VFL list but hasn’t played there due to being injured. He has played a couple with Heidelberg 19s in the last few weeks.
God they are strong - Huge chance to win 1's 2's & under 19's.
They must be doing a lot of things right to have that depth and keep all players engaged at the club

Looking forward to the Montmorency vs Bundoora final on Sat. It should be a great game.
All eyes will be on Bundoora’s team announcement come Friday and who plays and who misses out

Looking forward to the Montmorency vs Bundoora final on Sat. It should be a great game.
All eyes will be on Bundoora’s team announcement come Friday and who plays and who misses out
Monty would want a better showing than their finals under Ramsey.

Will be an absolute cracker the week after Mont/Bulls vs Bergs for a spot in the GF.

Mont vs Bulls should be an absolute ripper (looks like good weather too) - hard to pick a winner - selected sides will be interesting.

Would expect North to win their game, although looks like it will be windier on Sunday which we know can wreak havoc.

Roosters confirmed looking for a new coach.

Interesting time for them, been a bit of a transition since their premierships, and were looking strong during the COVID years. Assuming Saad is leaving (heard he signed EDFL) gives them a chance to reset a bit - it looks like their whole game right now is based around kicking it to him in a 1v1.

Under 19's are 2nd, so there must be a few handy kids coming through.

Roosters confirmed looking for a new coach.

Interesting time for them, been a bit of a transition since their premierships, and were looking strong during the COVID years. Assuming Saad is leaving (heard he signed EDFL) gives them a chance to reset a bit - it looks like their whole game right now is based around kicking it to him in a 1v1.

Under 19's are 2nd, so there must be a few handy kids coming through.
Tough year for Giles but definitely a good call. Probably dived in a few years too early. Might need some time as an assistant coach or even aiming lower to a D3 or D2 club to establish himself. Potentially H-West?

Jetta is not available, so there is one decision that doesn't have to be made.
I reckon the key decision is Fitzgerald. Jetta unlikely to play any finals regardless of Collingwood VFL winning, McKernan or Fitzgerald if you ask me, that’s the main points issue. Bulls will field a fit strong side regardless, look beyond names and focus on form and they wont have too many dilemmas except the one I mentioned.

You think West had the 2nd worst list?
For conversation sake, who would have a worse list than West?

Whittlesea clearly weakest list - 10th seniors, 9th ressies, no under 19s

then probably these 3 in no order

Macleod - 7th seniors, 8th ressies, 4th Div 3 u19s
Banyule - 8th seniors, 3rd ressies, 5th div 1 u19s
West Preston - 9th seniors, 7th ressies, 2nd div 1 u19s

Harsh to judge Giles on this year with the playing list he had , can't polish a Turd
He got Saad coming back from an ACL, Harmon out first 4, Kovacevic coming back from 3 years off, inherited a huge disconnect between 19's and senior club and a crazy injury toll week in and out. 3 wins above higher placed sides and a couple of unlucky games an they could have finished 2-3 spots higher. Did pretty well from what i hear.

Next year will be the challenge - Saad to EDFL and at least two more of their best leaving.

I reckon the key decision is Fitzgerald. Jetta unlikely to play any finals regardless of Collingwood VFL winning, McKernan or Fitzgerald if you ask me, that’s the main points issue. Bulls will field a fit strong side regardless, look beyond names and focus on form and they wont have too many dilemmas except the one I mentioned.
Fitzgerald will be the one to miss.

Harsh to judge Giles on this year with the playing list he had , can't polish a Turd
Couldn’t disagree more. It’s what you do with your list (and environment) to maximise results thats important. Unfortunately Giles wasn't quite ready, had no game plan, didn’t build relationships and the club has gone backwards quite a few years. The blame isn’t just on him, but also on those up higher that made some poor decisions and didn’t support him enough.

Their best 12 were still very good:
Saad, Federico, Harman, Tilley, Dreher, A.Valeri, Ryall, Ercolano, Adams, Kovacevic, Kilpatrick, Yassine.

Then you have other premiership players still there like Belbasis, Vincitorio, D.Valeri, Crapper.

Beneath that they have some emerging talent like McMahon, Maroney, Shoebridge, Elfakahani, Pulice, Saviane, Tsarouhas, Nouredine, Delos that have all played a bit of senior footy now.

The ability was there….they beat Greensborough, Banyule, Macleod, Whittlesea and ran Hurstbridge within 3 points. Should have finished higher than 9th, but it was the way that they lost that was most alarming. In fairness they copped a few injuries at different stages, but so did most clubs.

A lot of work to do down there and their window has slammed shut after a golden period that was great to watch, particularly at PCO.

Will be interesting to see what happens next and how competitive they remain. Div 1 will only get harder particularly with Saad gone and maybe a few more to follow.

He got Saad coming back from an ACL, Harmon out first 4, Kovacevic coming back from 3 years off, inherited a huge disconnect between 19's and senior club and a crazy injury toll week in and out. 3 wins above higher placed sides and a couple of unlucky games an they could have finished 2-3 spots higher. Did pretty well from what i hear.

Next year will be the challenge - Saad to EDFL and at least two more of their best leaving.
The connection between the 19’s and seniors WAS very strong in recent years, but isn’t any more after 2023. I think he was a big part of that problem.

NFNL 2023 Div 1 discussion