NFNL div 3 2025

Yeah heard it was Epping but then Mernda swooped on both boys. Sorry to all those at Epping for my original post.
Great pick up by Mernda who will be there again NO DOUBT as Div 3 continues to improve.

Also, good to still have some salary cap and points space this close to the start of the season as I would imagine for any clubs you think most would almost be settled on their key signings and list for this season?

Great pick up by Mernda who will be there again NO DOUBT as Div 3 continues to improve.

Also, good to still have some salary cap and points space this close to the start of the season as I would imagine for any clubs you think most would almost be settled on their key signings and list for this season?
You think Epping still had cap space this late in the piece with the list they have built to explore gregson and evans? What’s a cap? 😂

Epping only played on 26 points in last years final. Points are not an issue at all so combine that with seemingly unlimited funds and if they aren’t right up there it would be a major fail.

Mernda already have Morrison and Coffey, they also picked up a young lad Fogarty from the country who is a ruck/fwd. Not sure what the need is for Evans when their tall stocks are already in order. Panic move to stop him from getting to Epping.

Evans can play multiple positions. Often played midfield & defence when at WH

Do u reckon the league would even take a quick glance at Merndas books. Signed 2 well travelled very well paid journeymen on eve of season who have left Burnside Heights after they get done well over salary cap. They would now know wot they got paid last year and how much Mernda would have left (as if) comparing against last years dodgy submission. Anyone with any inside club experience knows Mernda been paying well over (brown bags) for ever, things just don't add up. Every year they sign big money players, most are no good and haven't helped them so jokes on them and the league are gutless as!!

May as well say the same thing about 90% of division 3 at this point 😂 everyone is outdoing eachother

Mernda been paying over for years for no success let them go they still be in the same position this time next year

Probably Turtles too this year. Don’t really see them spending anywhere near what they have previously

I say if you can keep under the cap you’ve done well and good on you & it’s healthy for your club. But unfortunately it seems you won’t get much success these days for doing the right thing. All the top dogs are spending over, always have and always will. The leagues only take action when it’s blown all over social media and they’ve got no choice. I think the cap should be scrapped and have the points system only. If clubs go broke due to poor management and blowing budgets stiff shit.

I say if you can keep under the cap you’ve done well and good on you but unfortunately it seems you won’t get much success these days for doing the right thing. All the top dogs are spending over, always have and always will. The leagues only take action when it’s blown all over social media and they’ve got no choice. I think the cap should be scrapped and have the points system only. If clubs go broke due to poor management and blowing budgets stiff shit.

I feel like some teams have no choice to be under the cap because they actually can’t afford to hit it. Thats at no fault of those clubs and the eventual squeeze to compete will eventuate in the death of some clubs.

I do agree there mate. In some cases it’s damned if you damned if you don’t. I think it should be scrapped either way. I’ve found that sometimes for the lower clubs in low divisions the cap isn’t high enough. Not sure about the NFNL but in division 2 (C grade) EDFL it’s only $83k and that’s not enough in today’s world to get players for struggling teams like East Sunbury or Keilor Park & they’ll likely be stuck in that division unless they risk cheating the cap. Is the salary cap high enough in this division for teams like Lalor & Reservoir? Or can they afford more? It’s a topic that’ll always attract different opinions.

There was a club recently that won the flag with 22 player points in the GF.
High points doesn’t necessarily guarantee success.

There was a club recently that won the flag with 22 player points in the GF.
High points doesn’t necessarily guarantee success.

I think the salary cap is cooked. The points system is working the best. Thoughts?

Have your say or come on The Northern Footy Show. Email me thenorthernfootyshow@gmail.com

Probably Turtles too this year. Don’t really see them spending anywhere near what they have previously
Do you know what they’ve spent previously??

End of the day you have no idea and it’s all speculation.

Unless it’s proven or you have facts it’s all talk. Either get with the program and risk getting caught or get left behind and complain. Make the choice.

bertybeetle so who would be under the salary cap
Lalor, Kinglake and West?
Kilmore definitely playing under the cap too. Crosbie returning to his home club to play with mates, Alford and Taylor coming to play with old school mates too. All those lads are playing for well under what they could ask elsewhere.

I think the salary cap is cooked. The points system is working the best. Thoughts?

Have your say or come on The Northern Footy Show. Email me thenorthernfootyshow@gmail.com
I think it's a combination of a few things:

* Raise salary cap by $30k across all levels to support 'reasonable' salaries for players.

* Much tougher penalties for clubs /committee staff that go over than we have recently seen in EDFL

* Introduce tougher penalties on PLAYERS who accept payments that lead to salary breeches for the role they play in it.

* Incentivise clubs to invest in junior programs more

* Rejig the points system to support more competitive divisions where possible - some random thoughts:

- Div 1 premiers = points reduction following year
  • potentially lowering of points in each grade you move up? Div 1 42, Div 2 46 and Div 3 50
  • Clubs going up a Div - get a couple of extra points for year one, but still a reduction on the Div they came from
  • Max points to be 5 for any player

Side note - I like the rule change of no VFL listed players can play reserves finals. But would have liked to see the games played requirement bumped up a bit higher.

Good topic to discuss though

Gregson & Evans coming from a Burnside team that was busted for salary cap breaches
Both would have been on $800 so interesting that the Demons can fit them in
Guess they are playing for the love of the jumper and family/mates comnection
Spoke to an Epping person today who told me that they offered these guys a good package that they thought was enough to get them over the line, but the Demon’s got under their guard and came in with an offer too good to refuse.

[emoji6][emoji6][emoji[emoji6]]" data-quote="Blueboy[emoji6][emoji[emoji6]]" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Spoke to an Epping person today who told me that they offered these guys a good package that they thought was enough to get them over the line, but the Demon’s got under their guard and came in with an offer too good to refuse.

Classic cats, right place right time, prob gonna get paid four times actual worth to play shit standard footy, again!

NFNL div 3 2025

Write your reply...