Nick Maxwell is Ace, by Glen McFarlane

Great article, never understood the hate of Maxwell by the football world.

He is a fantastic leader and a ripper bloke. No doubt this will be his last year and will spend some time in the 2's, but he's the type of bloke to happily put his hand up and do what the club needs him to.

Has gotten everything out of himself and deserves respect.

I really don't get the Nick Maxwell hate either tbh.

Is it just because he's (was) a Collingwood captain?

For the same reasons Scarlo and many of the Geelong players loathe the K.Hunt. He's a deadset average footballer who thinks he's better and smarter than he really is. It's incredibly painful listening to his drivel whenever I see him in any of the footy shows. I can still remember him talking the same shit about Selwood that would not be out of place in the troll haven that is Bay 13.

How did I know when people in here mentioned that he was being compared to another player, that said player would be Harley? Yawn. Journalists have pretty much been doing that since Maxwell was appointed captain and they've certainly been doing it ever since Harley retired.

How did you know? Maybe you read Scarlett's book like the writer of the article did..

For the same reasons Scarlo and many of the Geelong players loathe the K.Hunt. He's a deadset average footballer who thinks he's better and smarter than he really is. It's incredibly painful listening to his drivel whenever I see him in any of the footy shows. I can still remember him talking the same shit about Selwood that would not be out of place in the troll haven that is Bay 13.

Nicks got under your skin also. He is average on ability but became more than that through discipline and guts. It highlights to us our own shortcomings. Maybe you didn't try hard enough when you had the chance. Maybe Maxy makes you realise that. He has really got to you.

Sure
"don't like him", "face like a smashed crab", "talks like an idiot", "also a total pain"

Sounds like an honest dispassionate opinion not. Nicks got up your nostril just by making it in the AFL. Poor you.
I was just providing reasons. Seriously I'm happy for Maxwell. He's an above average player who forged a good career and I have no problems with that. No I don't like him, he's the Collingwood captain FFS I'm not meant to like him. But I'm not bitter and twisted about it.

So you take one of the greatest individual performances in a GF and expect every captain to live up to that? Yeah righto!:rolleyes:
Well this article mentions the feats of Maxwell in a drawn grand final. But my comparison was about the overall effectiveness not the one game, my mention of the 08 grand final was just a well known example of how Hodge plays when used as an intercept defender.

My point was simply the position he plays and the way he plays it isn't really endearing to the common fan. He was highly efficient playing as the sweeping defender and organiser of the backline but his lack of skills doesn't win him acclaim.

I really don't get the Nick Maxwell hate either tbh.

Is it just because he's (was) a Collingwood captain?
Yes. People hate Collingwood and hence, automatically their captain.

Nick has been a great leader and is an even better bloke.

The good thing is he doesn't care what the keyboard warriors think.

I was just providing reasons. Seriously I'm happy for Maxwell. He's an above average player who forged a good career and I have no problems with that. No I don't like him, he's the Collingwood captain FFS I'm not meant to like him. But I'm not bitter and twisted about it.

Well this article mentions the feats of Maxwell in a drawn grand final. But my comparison was about the overall effectiveness not the one game, my mention of the 08 grand final was just a well known example of how Hodge plays when used as an intercept defender.

My point was simply the position he plays and the way he plays it isn't really endearing to the common fan. He was highly efficient playing as the sweeping defender and organiser of the backline but his lack of skills doesn't win him acclaim.

Hodge is an unfair comaprison because when Hodge is on song ( usually 3 or 4 times in a year ), he is the most influential player in the competition bar none.

yada yada yada. He would have been playing whether captain or not. Never been gifted games. I understand people love running the guy down. I am sure he gets a laugh from it.

Not sure whats not to like about a guy who despite limited ability willed himself to become a good AFL player. Maybe that makes the rest of us a little envious cause he did the hard work and achieved. Sometimes that would stick in the guts of those who chose to sit on the sidelines and hurl grenades.

Utter bullshit.

Very similar to Maxwell then. Maxwell multiple placegetter and top 10 in B&F, AA, premiership captain. Multiple winner of Collingwoods best finals player (isn't that where the good ones shine). Like Harley his late career has dropped with injuries being a significant factor. Prior to the injuries he was flying. Like Harley he had to work hard and struggled to get into the system but once in it took to it with no problem. People should remember how highly rated Maxwell is internally and by Malthouse and Buckley. Their opinion should give a few punters an idea that maybe they are missing something here.

Maxwell and Harlety are almost perfect for comparison

Except for the fact Harley was actually a decent CHB before becoming a 3rd in loose man.

Please. Scarlo was giving it to the Pies players during the 09 prelim when you smashed us. Pretty relentless and spiteful stuff. Maxwell gave it to him at 3/4 in the 2010 prelim and he didn't like it. Everyone loved it when Scarlo smacked Ballantyne but it did show that he was a sook and couldn't handle it coming back. Scarlo got the last laugh in 11, that's footy. To come out and pot the bloke in his book and then throw the rest of his mates in it as well? Who's the K. Hunt?
Maxwell is pretty realistic about his capabilities and standing when it comes to footballers and that's why he readily admits that he has to work harder than most. As for media work, there aren't that many who don't talk shit and sound silly.

Look 2 posts up from yours.
If anyone here hates a bloke that they probably haven't met, who most probably had no personal dealings with, then I question their mentality. If anyone gets that upset by a footballer just being a footballer from a club you don't like, then I suggest they have got bigger issues in life than the person they feel they must 'hate'!

Can't recall Nick Maxwell holding down centre half back for three or four seasons though.

No he wasnt a ever a CHB. Wasnt big enough for the role and wasnt ever really required to fill it, as Wakelin and Presti had those positions well covered for many years.

That doesnt make him a lesser player than Harley though. Youre assuming somehow that CHB is a more important position than HBF. Besides, Geelong didnt really get any results until after Harley was moved away from key position.

No he wasnt a ever a CHB. Wasnt big enough for the role and wasnt ever really required to fill it, as Wakelin and Presti had those positions well covered for many years.

That doesnt make him a lesser player than Harley though. Youre assuming somehow that CHB is a more important position than HBF. Besides, Geelong didnt really get any results until after Harley was moved away from key position.

Bolded is debatable. We were a kick and a half away from a grand final in 2004 when Harley was our CHB all season. Here's a little known fact too - in that game against the Eagles in 2006 when we squandered a 9 goal lead, Harley went off halfway through the 3rd term with an elbow injury, at about the same time the Eagles started making their comeback. Coincidence? Maybe, but I guess we'll never know.

Hard to debate the facts that Egan Scarlett and Taylor are your premiership key defenders and Harley was third tall back

Egan was injured in Round 22, 2007, and didn't play in any of our premierships. Nice try though.

Nick Maxwell is Ace, by Glen McFarlane