Nick Stevens looking to make a comeback

"I'll only come back if I get picked up by a club close to a premiership". Haha. What a spud. Leaves Port to play in a "successful side", thinking he was cocky enough to pick the club of his choice, and ends up at Carlton during their dud period and Port wins a flag. So he retires - after 200+ solid games, congratulations - now announces his plans to make a comeback, but only for a top team.

Fair dinkum.

It just goes to show the true character of the guy doesn't it :thumbsdown:

I think he was a good player and could do a job, especially in this new age of mature age recruiting.

"I'll only come back if I get picked up by a club close to a premiership". Haha. What a spud. Leaves Port to play in a "successful side", thinking he was cocky enough to pick the club of his choice, and ends up at Carlton during their dud period and Port wins a flag. So he retires - after 200+ solid games, congratulations - now announces his plans to make a comeback, but only for a top team.

Fair dinkum.

Just confirms what we already know

Edit: snap Rory

If fit, Stevens could be a real asset for a team like Collingwood. When up and running, he is one of the elite midfielders in the league. Heaps of experience and great foot skills. Could he do a Stuart Dew like comeback?
Firstly, Collingwood don't need him. They do not need a medium paced plodder. Secondly, he's too old for a comeback. Thirdly, unlike Dew, he's not a burst game breaker.

Why did they recruit Ball and Jolley then?
Jolly is ruckman. I would have thought Collingwood's ruck issues were pretty obvious. Ball was recruited as an inside clearance specialist. Stevens is soft, old and not quick. He wouldn't serve a purpose at Collingwood. Some might argue Ball doesn't either but they clearly play different roles.

What Collingwood's midfield needs is a Burgoyne type IMO.

Anyone have any recent photos of Nick? The comparisons to Stewart Dew's comeback in this thread may be fair in some regards.

did you guys actually see the footage of him talking about it on The Footy Show?

i got the distinct impression he has no intention of coming back...just seemed like Hutchy trying to make something out of nothing (i even think i heard Sam guffawing after the clip as if to say "what a beat up")

Nick Stevens looking to make a comeback