Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC

Coaches of the past.

Did he smear shit all over the windows at Arden Street? I honestly must be missing something he did or said a while ago.

"The North Melbourne supporters down here must realise that they will have no club if they fight this, they will end up with no club."

What stands out with those names is they are all seriously credentialed and well experienced operators and Brady, unfortunately, appears to be learning on the job.
I’m hearing you DB. Brady started at WCE, he should be coming off his training wheels. We need a footy boss who supports the coach and helps shoulder the load for the football department and communicate with members. Noble needs to concentrate on coaching. He’s more than enough work to do there

You’re not going to fire David Noble after one bad month, but the previous four games have had us play like one of the worst sides of the past 20 years. I can’t comprehend that people will think it’s okay if he doesn’t turn it around. If this is the standard moving forward, then he won’t be coaching in 2023.

It’s okay to have faith that he’ll right the ship, but it’s madness to suggest that he is coming back after a hypothetical 1-21 season with a percentage in the 40s or 50s. While I don’t expect that to happen, it does mean that there’s pressure on David Noble to improve our on field performance.
Yeah, fair enough.

I’ll put my balls on the line here.

He won’t be here at the end of 2023.
Nah TPA that's fair enough, Id think without an upturn in wins, not close losses but actual wins he might be gone by then too. He has inherited a shit sandwich but he needs to make inroads, and 3 years should be enough to at least crack on.

"The North Melbourne supporters down here must realise that they will have no club if they fight this, they will end up with no club."

Just had a look at this quote - he said this 16 years ago and there are a number of quotes in there that suggest his biggest concern was with North dying off forever and ceasing to exist. He's certainly not celebrating it the way he's phrasing things in the article I'm seeing:
_______________________________________________________________________________________________
"We'd rather have a club to celebrate and be a part of than have it just go down the drain," he said on radio station 3AW.

"I hate saying that, but I'd rather go up there and hang onto something like the Fitzroy people are still hanging on to the Brisbane Lions than have the club go down the gurgler."
_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Do I like the fact he basically threw in the towel? Nope. But it seems like from his perspective, it was a dead club vs one that continued to exist in some form on the Gold Coast. Personally, I would not have followed a relocated side, but clearly Kingy felt that was better than completely dying.

If the supporter hate towards David King is honestly for something he said 16 years ago, that by his own admission, he hated saying, then I don't know what else to say. That's a 16 year grudge for him lamenting the fact that his club was facing total death and he saw few realistic options outside of relocation.

Probably nothing more to say on it to be honest considering this whole thread is about Noble anyway.

Nah TPA that's fair enough, Id think without an upturn in wins, not close losses but actual wins he might be gone by then too. He has inherited a shit sandwich but he needs to make inroads, and 3 years should be enough to at least crack on.

The interesting thing will be whether any other vacant jobs (GWS, GC, Port) and Clarkson waiting in the wings forces anyones hand early?

Why don’t we hear from our footy boss Brady Rawlings re our poor start to the year? Noble should be left to focus on coaching for as long as he is given the role. Brady should be addressing some of the concerning issues for us members and shouldering some load for Noble. Would like some answers to; game-plan confusion, tom Powells omission, player development, stagnated improvement, injury and fitness update’s , non competitive performances.

Nothing to do with Brady - he took the talent gig. Daniel McPherson is responsible for Performance and is near invisible

Turns out Brad Scott and the previous board were correct when they continuously said that NMFC fans couldn't accept a rebuild.

Eh... I don't mind a rebuild. It was the tenuous, directionless period after delisting Boomer that's shat me to tears. I'm exhausted of it now.

Nobes will show his true worth from here on - next 7 weeks till the bye.

If he can't adjust his structure, can't get the boys fired up to compete, continues with his tried and failed selection policies then he is doomed - we will get flogged on a weekly basis and he will be replaced by years end as a failed coach in the Neeld/Bolton mould.

If he can reinvent himself, show the football community something resembling a game plan, a vision that the team can buy into, make some required selection decisions then improvement is still possible.

The next 7 weeks is the key - doesn't even require a win as such - but there must be a clear turnaround in his approach, in his impact on the players and their ability to play as a team with belief and enthusiasm - importantly there must be 'consequences' at selection this Thursday night for what has been an abysmal start to the year.

If I had to put my balls on the line I suspect its going to be the former - but we will know soon enough.

Last year there were obvious signs of direction amongst our wins, competitive losses and even in a couple of drastic losses. In the 2021 Good Friday game you could see our attacking method in glimpses amongst the rubble.

I don't understand how you can say that then say this:

In 2022 it would only be the most blindly optimistic supporter who would claim to have seen any hard evidence that assured them we're on the right path. Early draft picks (and we've hardly engineered more than our fill of those via any canny trading or carefully crafted FA departures) don't guarantee anything.

We're better than we were last year at the same time. We were able to mount challenges against the Bulldogs this time when we were completely unable to last year in the same game. While we make three possessions then spud it up at the moment we couldn't even do that in the first half of last year. It was get the ball and turn it over immediately or after one possession between the defensive 50 arc and the centre circle. The Hawthorn and Sydney game's both showed alot more than anything at a comparable time last year, or for most of the season actually.

In fact it was fitness (red time goals in both halves v Swans) and composure/calm experience (Hawks) that cost us those games. Both those things will come with time.

There are definitely improvements but at the same time constant setbacks. The injuries to TT and LDU to a lesser extent for example. Hall's hammies. Buckets' suspension. All of it makes it hard for the side to get any continuity, which is what we need right now.

and we've hardly engineered more than our fill of those via any canny trading or carefully crafted FA departures

Yes we have. Across the last two drafts we've has 8 picks in the top 50, seven in the top 40, four higher than Will Walker (the highest second round pick we had in the period 2010-2020) and managed to add Eddie Ford, Jacob Edwards and Jacko Archer as well (and while Arch jr looks the least likely of them he's also incredibly competitive and will leave everything out there every time he plays. He never gives up.) Compare that with these results under Brad and Joyce. Its better. Add to that in 2019 we turned an average hand into Mahony, Comben and Perez. That could still be Rolled Acapulco Gold in terms of trade outcomes and is looking better every week so far this year. (Touch wood.) If McGuiness is okay then its even better.

We've also traded in Corr and Sleevo for comparatively FA and even Bonar, Atu, Young and Josh Walker effectively cost nothing and are worth giving a shot to. They could all stay on the list as depth (at least) while we challenge for flags even if they only get a few games a year, even Josh Walker.

Even the KPD issues - we could add Mutaz El Nour (who I know nothing about but trust Souup's judgement) and Jedd Busslinger this year and suddenly our KPD stocks are Corr, McKay, McGuiness, El Nour and Busslinger with Walker as depth and VFL support even for another season or two (and maybe Hoare too.) That would certainly be a good position for a rebuilding side wrt young KPD choices.

Maybe, maybe not. But he should have until then to do what he thinks he can.

If we aren't significantly better (ie finals bound in 2023 or obviously in 2024) by the bye next year I guess he has to go.

As for the coaching function at large well as above, it's tricky. You need to "stay the course" but if you know 3 days out you're on track to hit a ****ing iceberg then maybe you change course?

That leads to a false dichotomy emerging on here over assessing Noble's coaching. Yes any long term solution is going to require patience - BUT - that doesn't mean you don't review and if necessary change the solution if all indicators are pointing the wrong way. Refer iceberg example above..

So for me the real issues are the forward line and transition (which the club seems to be addressing with the Lynch appointment [he was a master of transition onfield,] the recruitment of CCJ and the amount of effort put into Comben [so we'll give that some time,]) and most importantly the lack of fight.

That is the real issue and if it doesn't turn around soon I'll start having serious doubts about Noble.

So as mentioned previously I'd be running a very close eye over our list management, recruitment and player development practices. Fine toothed comb stuff.

By all means we should do this.

Turns out Brad Scott and the previous board were correct when they continuously said that NMFC fans couldn't accept a rebuild.
yeah nah

I can cop a rebuild and in fact I've never been as optimistic as I was in the second half of last year. And in fact I don't think I've ever seen this place as optimistic as it was then

But a rebuild by its very nature is a clear sense of direction. It's little wins. It's a glimpse of what we're going to be and a clear path of how we get there. It's giving young players an opportunity. It's being brave enough to tell senior players who arent a part of the future and arent contributing anything that they have to play reserves.

not the gutless, directionless cluster**** -- both on and off the field -- that we've been subjected to in the first 6 weeks of this season where we've shown absolutely zero improvement from where we were at the end of last season and in fact have probably gone backwards while completely mismanaging one of our best young mids who quite literally everyone expected to be one the centrepieces of the rebuild

Good source.
is any of it wrong?
A summary of the coach we picked up at a bargain basement cost.

Feel free to convince yourself he’s doing a good job and everything is at it should be at the club.

Had the same conversations with the same people on here quite a few times prior in years gone past and on every occasion time has proven me right. You would’ve been one of them.

Continue ignoring the obvious and being satisfied with the selections the club has made and the consequences of those poor decisions.

Maybe, maybe not. But he should have until then to do what he thinks he can.

If we aren't significantly better (ie finals bound in 2023 or obviously in 2024) by the bye next year I guess he has to go.
Absolutely laughable. If the current trajectory continues you’re happy to give him until the bye next season.
This season has been absolutely awful and embarrassing for the club.

The funny thing is everyone on this board was expecting much, much better than what we have served up tbis season. Now that we have served up fifteen different layers of shit the Noble apologists blame the list, external factors, previous coaches and most afford more time to a coach that is taking a list backwards that should be trending forwards. I don’t give a crap about results but the tactics and performances have been horrendous.

And anyone who ignores the Hawthorn and Adelaide comparisons has their head in the sand. It was very much accepted at the start of the season that these teams were our equivalents. Now this is conveniently ignored by the apologists of the bargain basement administrator.

is any of it wrong?
A summary of the coach we picked up at a bargain basement cost.

Feel free to convince yourself he’s doing a good job and everything is at it should be at the club.

Had the same conversations with the same people on here quite a few times prior in years gone past and on every occasion time has proven me right. You would’ve been one of them.

Continue ignoring the obvious and being satisfied with the selections the club has made and the consequences of those poor decisions.

The bolded is garbage. I have my doubts on Noble and a few others.

You are very eager to criticise him (rolling contract - ffs who cares) - I'm far more balanced on this than you and a few others are.

The bolded is garbage. I have my doubts on Noble and a few others.

You are very eager to criticise him (rolling contract - ffs who cares) - I'm far more balanced on this than you and a few others are.
That’s fine. I accept your criticism.

I’ve just had enough of this club making shit decisions and not realistically challenging for a premiership in 20+ years.

The Laidley prelim (two finals losses totalling about 200 points) and the two Scott prelims (finished outside the top 4) we were very much long shots.

The club has been run like crap and made poor decisions for a very long time. Financially competent and shrewd but in terms of football decisions we get it wrong too often.

Why is he a certified flog?

I've never been someone who follows AFL-related news, journos etc. until recent times and I've seen this sentiment around here for years. In recent times I've found myself tuning into Whately on SEN fairly consistently and have found Kingy on Monday to be the highlight. I was expecting something close to satan himself based on what North supporters on here say and instead found him to be measured, reasonable and honestly a breath of fresh air. He's not a shock jock for the sake of it and backs up many of his views with stats and logic.

He also clearly still loves the club but won't shy away from being forthright with what's going on from his perspective.

Did he smear shit all over the windows at Arden Street? I honestly must be missing something he did or said a while ago.
You know the saying 'where there's smoke, there's fire'.

If it was up to him we would have relocated to the Gold Coast (he wanted us to go) and people don't forget things like that. And since then there have always been snide, lazy, baseless comments/commentary along the way on our club that don't really endear him as a north person.

There's personal reasons too (which I CBF getting into it again - search history if you're curious)

Melbourne’s team last night was, on average, 5 months older.

We had 2 more players with less than 50 games, 10 compared to 8. For players between 50 and 150 games, they had 2 more. We both had 2 players with more than 150 games experience.

Is this really the cause of the difference between top and bottom on the ladder? Half a season! Will we be pushing for the premiership next year?

There is way more to our poor performance than youth and inexperience and anyone ignoring this is kidding themselves.

Bigfooty needs an applause react

Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC