Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC

Coaches of the past.

Turns out Brad Scott and the previous board were correct when they continuously said that NMFC fans couldn't accept a rebuild.

I think most people can accept a rebuild.

What they can’t accept is uncompetitive performances that get worse, woeful skills that never get better, players like Kayne Turner in the leadership group, questionable trades and recruits, baffling selections and almost non-existent match day strategies and responses.

I think if there were a scrap of evidence this year that we’ve selected the right people to put us on the right path, people would be fine with it. Unfortunately there is not - the losses are more humiliating, the players seem less interested and teams we were either ahead of last year or breaking even with seem far ahead of us.

Look at sides such as Adelaide and Hawthorn. Or sides that never seem to have to brutally rebuild, like Geelong and Sydney. Why are we never ahead of the curve?

And as for North fans not accepting a rebuild- that’s just insulting. After our best ever player tore the club apart and we then lost our premiership coach, the club stuck together and kept making finals. Hell, the year we were meant to be shipped off to QLD, we made a prelim. “Re-built” to a competitive unit from the husk of a team left after the flags. Never losing ground and never a backward step.

So fans can accept a rebuild alright- they’ve rebuilt the entire club before themselves with their own hands. They’ve put up their hard-earned many times just to see North exist. They’re a hardy lot who have had to accept a lot. But what they can’t accept is the heartless, spineless and spiritless dumpster fire we’re witnessing now.

What they can’t accept is uncompetitive performances that get worse, woeful skills that never get better, players like Kayne Turner in the leadership group, questionable trades and recruits, baffling selections and almost non-existent match day strategies and responses.

I think if there were a scrap of evidence this year that we’ve selected the right people to put us on the right path, people would be fine with it. Unfortunately there is not - the losses are more humiliating, the players seem less interested and teams we were either ahead of last year or breaking even with seem far ahead of us.

Look at sides such as Adelaide and Hawthorn. Or sides that never seem to have to brutally rebuild, like Geelong and Sydney. Why are we never ahead of the curve?

And as for North fans not accepting a rebuild- that’s just insulting. After our best ever player tore the club apart and we then lost our premiership coach, the club stuck together and kept making finals. Hell, the year we were meant to be shipped off to QLD, we made a prelim. “Re-built” to a competitive unit from the husk of a team left after the flags. Never losing ground and never a backward step.

So fans can accept a rebuild alright- they’ve rebuilt the entire club before themselves with their own hands. They’ve put up their hard-earned many times just to see North exist. They’re a hardy lot who have had to accept a lot. But what they can’t accept is the heartless, spineless and spiritless dumpster fire we’re witnessing now.
BigFooty needs an applause button.

Why is he a certified flog?

I've never been someone who follows AFL-related news, journos etc. until recent times and I've seen this sentiment around here for years. In recent times I've found myself tuning into Whately on SEN fairly consistently and have found Kingy on Monday to be the highlight. I was expecting something close to satan himself based on what North supporters on here say and instead found him to be measured, reasonable and honestly a breath of fresh air. He's not a shock jock for the sake of it and backs up many of his views with stats and logic.

He also clearly still loves the club but won't shy away from being forthright with what's going on from his perspective.

Did he smear shit all over the windows at Arden Street? I honestly must be missing something he did or said a while ago.
Agree with the above. Kingy’s analysis generally pretty spot on. I think early days in the media kingy happily took part in the “North have no money hehehehe“ garbage.....put a few noses out of joint. I didn‘t like it personally either, but he’s quality at analysis of game plans etc. I enjoy listening to him.

Absolutely laughable. If the current trajectory continues you’re happy to give him until the bye next season.
This season has been absolutely awful and embarrassing for the club.

The funny thing is everyone on this board was expecting much, much better than what we have served up tbis season. Now that we have served up fifteen different layers of shit the Noble apologists blame the list, external factors, previous coaches and most afford more time to a coach that is taking a list backwards that should be trending forwards. I don’t give a crap about results but the tactics and performances have been horrendous.

And anyone who ignores the Hawthorn and Adelaide comparisons has their head in the sand. It was very much accepted at the start of the season that these teams were our equivalents. Now this is conveniently ignored by the apologists of the bargain basement administrator.
You're a whiney campaigner.

I've got nothing to say to you till you harden up and show some heart.

You're everything you're whinging about in the footy side right now. Pea hearted and gutless.

1651014114991.png

Turns out Brad Scott and the previous board were correct when they continuously said that NMFC fans couldn't accept a rebuild.
There are good rebuilds and the not so good. The Dean Bailey (3 years) and Mark Neeld (1.5 years) rebuild attempts were failures and the best thing Melbourne did was identify fairly early that they weren't going to work. Ultimately Melbourne wouldn't have got to where they are now if they didn't pull the pin on them. Time will tell but Carlton aborting the Bolton and Teague rebuild attempts looks to be the right one despite not ticking the 'stability' box.

Would say the majority of North supporters are happy to rebuild but won't blindly accept any level of performance with in it. As has been pointed out, our list profile isn't as young as has been made out and there's talent there.

Posted by someone on the main board but a pretty interesting summation of the guy we are entrusting to ‘coach’ this club.

He’d wanted to coach for ages. When jobs came up there’d often be some SA guy like Bicks throwing up his name as a ‘don’t rule out a left field candidate’. Bickley doesn’t just manufacture that out of nowhere, Noble obviously gives him a nudge.

Thought I read somewhere that he’s signed on for 12 month contracts. Sounds right, was a total desperado to coach and probably will slot back into admin when his time is up.

And he’s way overrated, we achieved nothing under his stewardship, Dogs were shit when he was assistant there, Glenelg worse when he was senior coach. Adelaide very average. Lions went alright but all the shit pieces had already been moved on and Fagan hired. And the drongo employed their failed fitness coach at Adelaide before leaving.”

What about the resume of someone who hasn’t coached for a long time and wasn’t sought after compelled our club to install him as senior coach? Unbelievable.
What The Wtf GIF by Justin

I’m not looking for blood, but I can’t make sense of it. In his conference he says he needs Powell to do a couple more weeks of that intensity in the VFL. Yet, there are guys in the seniors who are consistently flying under the radar getting passes? And then we should be ok with two backs? Yeah, but do you want to take that risk, Noble? Like going into the season with 2 legitimate KP backs?

Also, round 2-3 I think he said in a conference that people are wanting to know what’s going on, fans too. And he said it stays between the he four walls, but we know what we’re doing. It’s starting to become a little unhinged.

I’m not looking for blood, but I can’t make sense of it. In his conference he says he needs Powell to do a couple more weeks of that intensity in the VFL. Yet, there are guys in the seniors who are consistently flying under the radar getting passes? And then we should be ok with two backs? Yeah, but do you want to take that risk, Noble? Like going into the season with 2 legitimate KP backs?

Also, round 2-3 I think he said in a conference that people are wanting to know what’s going on, fans too. And he said it stays between the he four walls, but we know what we’re doing. It’s starting to become a little unhinged.

Something is going on with Powell and Noble.Not sure what it is, but yeah there are plenty of players that have intensity issues and need a spell in the VFL.

Hang on....what is going on??

I would have said the same at the start of the year, but a coach needs to give you more reason to keep his job than continuity.

The message to David Noble can’t be that it’s okay to be uncompetitive each week due the circumstances. My argument would also be that throwing away a season is a lot more harmful to a players development than changing coach for a fourth time.

We’ve lost four in a row now with an average losing margin of 9 goals. If that becomes eleven in a row with an average losing margin of 10+ goals then I think it’s fair to start asking questions. It was okay for David Noble to win another spoon, but it’s not okay if we start to be in the conversation for worst non-expansion side of the modern era.
I still like Nobes, but should absolutely be talking to Clarkson/Simmo. It's not disrespectful to expect improvement after 2 years. Nobes must agree, why else would he sign on to a rolling 12 month contract?

It will be tough though. The selection possibilities are very unbalanced

Who I uia right mind thinks the 2 rucks strategy is working? If Goldy is working in his currently role, then it's FUBAR because literally everyone else can see that it isn't.

And why is Powell being singled out as needing to work on his intensity when there are so many others far more worthy of being dropped for their lack of it? Like, did he do something to piss off noble personally?

And thinking that we will be ok with only 2 KPDs.... curnow and McKay are going to tear us a new one....

Blokes losing me by the day, seriously, and I was a pretty big believer going into the season...

And he’s way overrated, we achieved nothing under his stewardship, Dogs were shit when he was assistant there, Glenelg worse when he was senior coach. Adelaide very average. Lions went alright but all the shit pieces had already been moved on and Fagan hired. And the drongo employed their failed fitness coach at Adelaide before leaving.”

What about the resume of someone who hasn’t coached for a long time and wasn’t sought after compelled our club to install him as senior coach? Unbelievable.

Fact check:

Dogs were shit when he was assistant there
Bulldogs finishes while Noble at club: 3, 5, 8, 10, 12

Glenelg worse when he was senior coach
Glenelg finishes while Noble at club: (previous 3 years: 9th), 8, 7 (next 3 years: 8, 6, 4)

Adelaide very average
Crows finishes while Noble at club: 3, 3, 8, 7, 5, 11, 14, 3, 11, 10, 6, 6

Lions went alright

Lions finishes while Noble at club: 18, 15, 5, 4

Spoon to top 5, 2 years later? Where do I sign?

Note: this is not an endorsement of David Noble but a fact check of the original claims

Who I uia right mind thinks the 2 rucks strategy is working? If Goldy is working in his currently role, then it's FUBAR because literally everyone else can see that it isn't.

Noble said this about Goldy:

DN: We won’t rest Goldy at this stage. He’s going okay in the role that he’s playing. Lately he hasn’t taken enough marks but he’s an awkward match-up with great experience.

To me that reads that he's not being dropped yet but is on thin ice and isn't giving us enough, without throwing Goldy under the bus publicly.

It certainly seems as tho Goldy survives this week but X may be out for CCJ.

And why is Powell being singled out as needing to work on his intensity when there are so many others far more worthy of being dropped for their lack of it? Like, did he do something to piss off noble personally?

The handball clinic? Probably because the better you are the more your level of intensity matters. Also - 90% of why JHF is so good is his intensity at the contest. Tom Powell is competing directly with him for a spot as an inside mid. That's what he needs to match.

Noble said he had a really good game this week. He also said he wanted "those young guys" to put together consistent weeks of good form. He said "a few" so at least three. I think that's fair enough myself.

He can f****** stop using the word “process”. It’s a cringeworthy copycat approach of Philadelphia 76ers. It’s done them no f****** good so far.

I don’t care if you consider them a contender, they haven’t won s*** and the “trust the process” tag follows them everywhere now and not in a positive way.

He can f****** stop using the word “process”. It’s a cringeworthy copycat approach of Philadelphia 76ers. It’s done them no f****** good so far.

I don’t care if you consider them a contender, they haven’t won s*** and the “trust the process” tag follows them everywhere now and not in a positive way.
Fair enough. How would you like him to word it?

Process has been used in AFL for ages. It's part of AFL vernacular, and very familiar to those of us who don't have a f***ing clue about the Philadelphia 76ers.

‘If you can’t describe what you’re doing as a process, then you don’t know what you’re doing’

W. Edwards Deming

Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC