Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC

Coaches of the past.

You’re not going to fire David Noble after one bad month, but the previous four games have had us play like one of the worst sides of the past 20 years. I can’t comprehend that people will think it’s okay if he doesn’t turn it around. If this is the standard moving forward, then he won’t be coaching in 2023.

It’s okay to have faith that he’ll right the ship, but it’s madness to suggest that he is coming back after a hypothetical 1-21 season with a percentage in the 40s or 50s. While I don’t expect that to happen, it does mean that there’s pressure on David Noble to improve our on field performance.

One of the biggest areas of concern with the coach atm is how flat we can be the start of games. Like you can really notice it either live or on tv: Thomas taking a short step first up on the weekend, Dogs buried us in first quarter on Good Friday, same happened vs Brisbane obviously.

Our first quarters for the year, quarter wins in bold.

2.5 to Hawthorn 2.4

3.3 to West Coast 2.3

2.3 to Brisbane 7.2

4.0 to Sydney 3.2

1.0 to Bulldogs 8.3

1.2 to Geelong 3.7

Two games over at quarter time, and Geelong would have been had they kicked straight. Simply, if we don't come out switched on the game is over at quarter time. Even if we are switched on/our opponent is off/depleted we only just win the quarter. This on the coach imo - if we're coming out flat then that is surely a motivation/communication issue, perhaps in addition to players not being clear on how they're meant to play. And if you start flat (again, I'm sure many of us have noticed this in terms of effort, contested ball etc.) as a shit young, developing side it's bloody hard to get back into the game. And we tend not to. Not a huge sample size but enough to be cause for concern imo.

One of the biggest areas of concern with the coach atm is how flat we can be the start of games. Like you can really notice it either live or on tv: Thomas taking a short step first up on the weekend, Dogs buried us in first quarter on Good Friday, same happened vs Brisbane obviously.

Our first quarters for the year, quarter wins in bold.

2.5 to Hawthorn 2.4

3.3 to West Coast 2.3

2.3 to Brisbane 7.2

4.0 to Sydney 3.2

1.0 to Bulldogs 8.3

1.2 to Geelong 3.7

Two games over at quarter time, and Geelong would have been had they kicked straight. Simply, if we don't come out switched on the game is over at quarter time. Even if we are switched on/our opponent is off/depleted we only just win the quarter. This on the coach imo - if we're coming out flat then that is surely a motivation/communication issue, perhaps in addition to players not being clear on how they're meant to play. And if you start flat (again, I'm sure many of us have noticed this in terms of effort, contested ball etc.) as a shit young, developing side it's bloody hard to get back into the game. And we tend not to. Not a huge sample size but enough to be cause for concern imo.
Not just the coach, that is on the Captain and senior players as well. Our biggest issue is the senior core are just not leading well at the moment. That is the biggest difference between us and the other "rebuilding" sides

Getting a handle on our woes is really tricky at the moment.

Despite a view that we suddenly turned some list and recruitment corner circa 2016-17 there's probably not a hell of a lot of evidence to support that thus far.

So as mentioned previously I'd be running a very close eye over our list management, recruitment and player development practices. Fine toothed comb stuff.

Have we maximised our draft opportunities? Have we developed our young players properly? How does our recruiting hit rate compare to league benchmarks? Do we carry a well balanced list? Are we working every recruitment avenue properly, ie Cat B, trade etc? Do we negotiate well?

As for the coaching function at large well as above, it's tricky. You need to "stay the course" but if you know 3 days out you're on track to hit a ****ing iceberg then maybe you change course?

That leads to a false dichotomy emerging on here over assessing Noble's coaching. Yes any long term solution is going to require patience - BUT - that doesn't mean you don't review and if necessary change the solution if all indicators are pointing the wrong way. Refer iceberg example above...

Last year there were obvious signs of direction amongst our wins, competitive losses and even in a couple of drastic losses. In the 2021 Good Friday game you could see our attacking method in glimpses amongst the rubble.

In 2022 it would only be the most blindly optimistic supporter who would claim to have seen any hard evidence that assured them we're on the right path. Early draft picks (and we've hardly engineered more than our fill of those via any canny trading or carefully crafted FA departures) don't guarantee anything.

Not quite ready to knife Nourishment Noble yet but there needs to be way more effort/passion shown - both AFL and VFL it was meek and there were some very soft efforts (Bonar, TT, Sleevo) which is counter to what this club has always been about. The stupid high fives after stuff ups are pathetic - everyone knows you've stuffed up and now everyone will acknowledge that to you, woo hoo. You need to forget about and move on or you will just be worried about doing it again and so it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy or you take a useless, sideways, safe option or you dish the problem off to someone else as quick as possible rather than trying to be the solution. Even watching the VFL matches, our opposition are way more up and about when players score goals and do great individual efforts than we are.

Our senior players/leaders are the worst in the comp by a mile.
Our captain is a trier but VFL is his level - cannot run fast or far, see ball, grab ball, slam ball on boot (to opposition) and rinse and repeat. Yes he's got guts and yes he is not inarticulate but if you are a Sleevo or LDU or TT and he's having a go at you to 'set standards' and you know in your heart of hearts what a limited football he is, you will not take the message on board as much as you should. All this stuff around training standards, lack of skills, hub disasters - this bloke is the on-field leader for all of this and yet has seemingly escaped any scrutiny for all of this, it's mind boggling.
Turner - tries hard but once again VFL player (at best) - how can you listen to him with a straight face and see what he produces (or doesn't) week in week out?
Goldy - hot and cold, doesn't exactly seem to be the most 'team-first' oriented player around
McDonald and Simpkin - maybe just trying too hard or being focused on by opposition more than they would be if they were in a decent side. I can't imagine there's a big oppo team meeting on nullifying Josh Walker's influence for example...

We will get plenty more smackings this season and cannot see us winning another game unless * want to tank.

Rant over.

wow, so which of these guys don't you think will be in our next finals side:
LDU, Simpkin, Curtis, JHF, Larkey, McKay, Taylor, Thomas, Perez, and Corr.

If we don't have the core of our next finals side out there now, we are well and truly f’ed.

Well I would probably not think Corr and I could see one of the others being used as Trade bait which makes 8, which means that yes, most of the current team will not be in the team when we make a GF, even with the 10 you have, which is what I originally asked

Trade TT Gasometer and you’ll very quickly lose ranking points for POTY

With McKay a forced out I’d be expecting no less 4 changes this week. If there’s not then something is seriously wrong.

The two rucks isn’t working.
Our midfield is getting beaten.
The forward line is dysfunctional despite the fact we hardly get it in there.
Our defence is struggling can’t hit targets under no pressure, much less under it.

Goldstein or Xerri has to drop out.
Turner has had more than enough chances and has been terrible. Need to show senior players are accountable.
Someone from defence needs to go - whether it’s Atu or Scott I don’t care.

Bring a decent ball user into the
backline from the middle.
Tom Powell ffs.
We wanted CCJ really, really bad. Time to show why and he is a better option as a second ruck (chop out) than one of Goldstein/Xerri.

Show the players that after weeks and weeks of shit that they’re accountable. Don’t ‘back them in’ for the consistent underperformers.

Apart from Goldy, approaching 300 games, we have Xerri, CCJ, and Edwards with less than 30 games between them, in my opinion, a pretty strong case for an EXPERIENCED Ruck coach, as far as i know, this role is being performed by Anthony Rocca, nothing personal against him, but surely we could do better.

Our ruck work isn't actually the thing troubling us though. We win the ball well enough, it's just that our disposal is horrendous and we have no forward craft.

If anything get Rocca in the forward coaching.

Why don’t we hear from our footy boss Brady Rawlings re our poor start to the year? Noble should be left to focus on coaching for as long as he is given the role. Brady should be addressing some of the concerning issues for us members and shouldering some load for Noble. Would like some answers to; game-plan confusion, tom Powells omission, player development, stagnated improvement, injury and fitness update’s , non competitive performances.

Player development could be good, injury and fitness updates sure.

Talking about tom powell's omission would be a bit of a weird one, feels like that would be publicly isolating the kid even at best. Not even intentionally, it could come across that way.

Particularly if it was lumped in with stagnated improvement, game plan **** ups, non competitive performances, i get the want for that video, but i just dont think thats the done thing. Could end up sounding like "this why we suck", or even just giving other teams a heads up on what we're attempting to do.

And yes, "what does that matter if they know what we're doing when we suck at it anyway", still would be odd to me.

Player development could be good, injury and fitness updates sure.

Talking about tom powell's omission would be a bit of a weird one, feels like that would be publicly isolating the kid even at best. Not even intentionally, it could come across that way.

Particularly if it was lumped in with stagnated improvement, game plan fu** ups, non competitive performances, i get the want for that video, but i just dont think thats the done thing. Could end up sounding like "this why we suck", or even just giving other teams a heads up on what we're attempting to do.

And yes, "what does that matter if they know what we're doing when we suck at it anyway", still would be odd to me.
Thanks. All good points SG.
Neil Balme was always on SEN delivering an update on Richmond, Pert for Collingwood, Swan at Carlton etc. It would just be good to hear from the footy boss somewhere, and show some stability and support for Noble at the same time

Yea, honestly i like the idea, think it could help.

Yep agreed #BringBackMinson

Interesting that Melbourne had 5 coaches in 6 years - Dean Bailey (finished 2011) , Mark Neeld, Neil Craig, Paul Roos and then Simon Goodwin (started 2017). That's not including Viney as caretaker in 2011.

Granted, they've now had just 2 coaches in 7 years but it turns out they made the right decision to move on the others instead of going down the so called stability path.

David King

23:25

Our stats / performance is some of the worst in the comp by a mile. I think not even looking at the losses we are a mess

David King is a certified flog but even I can swallow my pride on this.....because what he's saying is right.

Why is he a certified flog?

I've never been someone who follows AFL-related news, journos etc. until recent times and I've seen this sentiment around here for years. In recent times I've found myself tuning into Whately on SEN fairly consistently and have found Kingy on Monday to be the highlight. I was expecting something close to satan himself based on what North supporters on here say and instead found him to be measured, reasonable and honestly a breath of fresh air. He's not a shock jock for the sake of it and backs up many of his views with stats and logic.

He also clearly still loves the club but won't shy away from being forthright with what's going on from his perspective.

Did he smear shit all over the windows at Arden Street? I honestly must be missing something he did or said a while ago.

What stands out with those names is they are all seriously credentialed and well experienced operators and Brady, unfortunately, appears to be learning on the job.

Posted by someone on the main board but a pretty interesting summation of the guy we are entrusting to ‘coach’ this club.

He’d wanted to coach for ages. When jobs came up there’d often be some SA guy like Bicks throwing up his name as a ‘don’t rule out a left field candidate’. Bickley doesn’t just manufacture that out of nowhere, Noble obviously gives him a nudge.

Thought I read somewhere that he’s signed on for 12 month contracts. Sounds right, was a total desperado to coach and probably will slot back into admin when his time is up.

And he’s way overrated, we achieved nothing under his stewardship, Dogs were shit when he was assistant there, Glenelg worse when he was senior coach. Adelaide very average. Lions went alright but all the shit pieces had already been moved on and Fagan hired. And the drongo employed their failed fitness coach at Adelaide before leaving.”

What about the resume of someone who hasn’t coached for a long time and wasn’t sought after compelled our club to install him as senior coach? Unbelievable.

Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC