No stars left from South Australia

SANFL club system is terrible. Havent come to terms with the fact they are purely a feeder league and spend more time and effort trying to recruit ex AFL Hacks rather than junior development.
This. Local league is more concerned about being "the second best team in the comp" through recruiting washed-up AFL rejects rather than developing local talent.

SA clubs need an academy :eek:

Bolivar and the surrounding areas like St Kilda and Globe Derby aren't really proper residential surburbs, certainly nowhere near the scale of Werribee in that regard anyway. Probably a few hundred people total living there, if that.

I think this is the first time I've seen Globe Derby without the word 'trots' after it.

SANFL club system is terrible. Havent come to terms with the fact they are purely a feeder league and spend more time and effort trying to recruit ex AFL Hacks rather than junior development.
I don't think the VFL put much time in junior develpment. Most clubs are AFL aligned and only concerned with developing the AFL listed players. The others are peddleing hard just to compete. I don't think there is much point expecting state leagues to play a significant role in junior development.

Can't raise men when West End is the local brew

Coopers is the local brew.
Also even West End takes a dump on that VB slop.

The main reason is Adelaides population is ageing.
Young people get their uni qualifications and take off to the business centres of Melbourne and Sydney and to a lesser extent Perth and Brisbane.

I don't think the VFL put much time in junior develpment. Most clubs are AFL aligned and only concerned with developing the AFL listed players. The others are peddleing hard just to compete. I don't think there is much point expecting state leagues to play a significant role in junior development.

Yeah, but the VFL clubs don't have their own U/18 sides (the TAC Cup fills this role in Victoria). SANFL clubs do, so you'd expect them to put time into the development of juniors at their club, as they're either going to add prestige to the club by making it at AFL level eventually, or stick around and make up part of your Reserves or Senior sides once they're older.

On the football perspective, you could also put a positive slant on there being less SA players playing for the two Adelaide clubs yeah? Means that they're able to attract players from other states these days rather than having to rely on the "go home" factor?

My wife is from Adelaide and a lot of her family are still there so we head over a few times each year and I also end up there a bit for work. From going there as a kid and wondering why the farrrk anyone would want to live in a larger version of Horsham, I have to say that every time I go now there is another good restaurant that has popped up or good pub to discover. Kind of tossing around the idea of moving over there in a few years. Plenty of positives.

Yeah, but the VFL clubs don't have their own U/18 sides (the TAC Cup fills this role in Victoria). SANFL clubs do, so you'd expect them to put time into the development of juniors at their club, as they're either going to add prestige to the club by making it at AFL level eventually, or stick around and make up part of your Reserves or Senior sides once they're older.

As stated by Damon, you guys have the TAC. That is your elite junior development pathway. The SANFL juniors IS the Elite pathway in SA. I've spoken to people heavily involved in various parts of SA country zones that have stated that their zoned SANFL club does 2 tenths of **** all for them in terms of talent identification/development. Country footy has always been a massive breeding ground, but a couple of blokes I have spoken to say that their zoned clubs is basically useless. One of the reasons Port was such a SANFL powerhouse was that it always looked after it's country regions (which were conveniently the further est away from Adelaide) One of the big drawbacks of stripping back Port Adelaide's country zones being stripped is that you've lost that connection.

This was a good thread until the dialogue read like it was posted in Bay 13. If you can't beat 'em, join 'em. So my two bobs is that I drove through that suburb Bolivar once. I was heading up North. Bolivar stinks worse than Werribee. Ergo, Werribee>Bolivar. Port Adelaide isn't far from Bolivar either... both shit holes. One figuratively, the other literally.
I have been to Werribee many times and have never once noticed a bad smell. The more desirable properties are south of Synnot which is closer to the shit farm.

As stated by Damon, you guys have the TAC. That is your elite junior development pathway. The SANFL juniors IS the Elite pathway in SA. I've spoken to people heavily involved in various parts of SA country zones that have stated that their zoned SANFL club does 2 tenths of **** all for them in terms of talent identification/development. Country footy has always been a massive breeding ground, but a couple of blokes I have spoken to say that their zoned clubs is basically useless. One of the reasons Port was such a SANFL powerhouse was that it always looked after it's country regions (which were conveniently the further est away from Adelaide) One of the big drawbacks of stripping back Port Adelaide's country zones being stripped is that you've lost that connection.
Fair point although if the players are good enough they are lost to the SANFL club at 18. An equivilent of the TAC cup is possibly a better solution becuase the players should then be coached specifically for development and drafting.

I'm not sure what the school system is like in SA but the APS is a good comp and plenty of palyers that get drafted from Vic also come through that system.

In the end though, the elite talent comes through and the lack of top end SA talent is most likley just a cyclical thing IMO. Junior development does more for numbers at the next talent level down than the absolute top end.

An equivilent of the TAC cup is possibly a better solution becuase the players should then be coached specifically for development and drafting.

We don't have the population to do it though. The SANFL U18's are the best we have and it looks to be staying that way. As Papa G mentioned, country footy (in terms of youth development) here is absolutely shit house. The state clubs do **** all for it.

An academy for young kids in the country in SA would pump out a shit load of kids for the draft.

This. Local league is more concerned about being "the second best team in the comp" through recruiting washed-up AFL rejects rather than developing local talent.

SA clubs need an academy :eek:
Clearly the answer to me. AFL has said all.xlubs to have an academy is the long term answer. Someone just needs to make it happen. If SA take the step next great. Need money and sponsors to fund it and you think it would happen

Reckon the AFL would pay for it it no worries, but I doubt the SANFL clubs want it, it takes away talent from them.

bFNXAzK.jpg

ummm lets take a look at this list shall we

Sam Jacobs- Been one of the premier ruckmen in the comp for the past 6 years now. Could return to his best in 2017.
Brodie Smith- One of the best rebounding defenders in the comp. With better luck with concussions could return to his 2014-15 form.
Rory Laird- One of the best small defenders in the comp and still can get even better. Possible All Australian in 2017
James Aish- Any young player would be ruined at Brisbane but looks to be building well at Collingwood.
Sam Mayes- Again ruined by Brisbane but has so much potential.
Jack Redden- Was one of Brisbane's best players, didn't settle as well as expected with West Coast but I think he will be better in 2017.
Bryce Gibbs- Hard at it player who is one of Carlton's best leaders.
Troy Menzel- Lots of upside and I see us getting the best out of him if he can stop being lazy.
Travis Varcoe- A big player in Geelong's dominance era.
Matt Scharenberg- Would be a star of the competition now if it wasn't for his bad luck in injuries.
Tim Broomhead- Shown some good upside.
Brodie Grundy - One of the best ruckmen going around atm and will only get better.
Ben Kennedy- Showing good signs with Melbourne.
Orazio Fantasia- Going to be a star player for Essendon, showed good signs in 2016.
Lachie Neale- One of Fremantles best players and one reason they didn't finish bottom in 2016.
Daniel Menzel- Since having better luck with injury he looks to be playing close to his potential best.
Phil Davis- One of the toughest defenders, always puts his body on the line for his team.
Billy Stretch- Will play some good footy under Goodwin, one of their future guns.
Trent Dumont- One or the rising younsters at North Melbourne, will step up more with their recent departures.
Jack Hombsch- Good defender who is one of Port's best leaders. Possible future captain for them.
Tom Jonas- Reliable defender for Port apart from his 5 week suspension haha. Still a good player.
Chad Wingard- Love him or hate him, he is one of the best small forwards in the comp when up and running.
Luke Dunstan- Could potentially be St Kilda's next captain. Will only get better.
George Hewett- Looks to be a good player, you don't get selected in Grand finals if you arent any good.
Caleb Daniel- One of the many reasons the Bulldogs won the premiership this year, one of the smartest footy brains in the AFL.
Alex Neal-Bullen- Like Stretch looks to be part of Melbourne's positive future.

Oh and there are more players who when given their opportunity can get on that list as well like Sam Durdin from North Melbourne, Aaron Francis from Essendon and Ryan Burton from Hawthorn.

So I don't think South Australia has done as bad as every thinks

No stars left from South Australia