No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 4

Four Rounds in and JUH, Michael Walters , Nathan Wilson , Rankine and Charlie Cameron have been racially vilified that s**t needs to stop
I fear it may be a bit like the Adam Goodes saga. For a small percentage of the population those sort of entreaties just spur them on.

It's the same couldn't-give-a-f*ck-about-anybody-else mentality as (most) anti-maskers and anti-vaxxers. "You can't tell US what's right and what we can or can't do!"

If they think they can get away with it they will simply do it as a small-minded act of defiance.

You'd reckon the message would have gotten through by now, but there's still *wits who don't get it.

Regardless of age, name and shame. It's a cop out to say these perpetrators are young, or need greater education and understanding. Stop protecting the villifiers - it is a deliberate act.
It is almost always an anonymous burner account for the social media abuse. I honestly think they’re better off not saying anything, because it just encourages these racist idiots who are looking to get a rise out of people. There’s zero repercussions for the people who do it. For the most recent ones this weekend, it wouldn’t surprise me if it was one person making multiple accounts.

For cases like the abuse JUH copped at the game (and Betts/Goodes in the past) they should be banned for life and exposing the culprits since you can actually identify who did it. That’s one where you can actually make a public stand against racism and get a result.

I fear it may be a bit like the Adam Goodes saga. For a small percentage of the population those sort of entreaties just spur them on.

It's the same couldn't-give-a-f*ck-about-anybody-else mentality as (most) anti-maskers and anti-vaxxers. "You can't tell US what's right and what we can or can't do!"

If they think they can get away with it they will simply do it as a small-minded act of defiance.
Name and shame. Not sure what other viable deterrent is available?

I know that opens a can of worms, but personally I'm prepared for that at this stage.

No campaign or education gets through. It probably generates push back. But with all the Dutton sh1t going on 'misrepresenting' the Voice through outright lies, I'm happy to use that avenue.

You'd reckon the message would have gotten through by now, but there's still *wits who don't get it.

Regardless of age, name and shame. It's a cop out to say these perpetrators are young, or need greater education and understanding. Stop protecting the villifiers - it is a deliberate act.
If they can be found ban them for life the message will start getting through

It is almost always an anonymous burner account for the social media abuse. I honestly think they’re better off not saying anything, because it just encourages these racist idiots who are looking to get a rise out of people. There’s zero repercussions for the people who do it. For the most recent ones this weekend, it wouldn’t surprise me if it was one person making multiple accounts.

For cases like the abuse JUH copped at the game (and Betts/Goodes in the past) they should be banned for life and exposing the culprits since you can actually identify who did it. That’s one where you can actually make a public stand against racism and get a result.

I unfortunately got caught up with a couple about JUH, dumb campaigners just hiding behind new accounts with 0 posts and 0 followers. There was also a couple of real people (but private) saying stupid shit, including one that accused JUH of making it up about what he heard.

I unfortunately got caught up with a couple about JUH, dumb campaigners just hiding behind new accounts with 0 posts and 0 followers. There was also a couple of real people (but private) saying stupid s**t, including one that accused JUH of making it up about what he heard.
I've always been an advocate for privacy/anonymity online, but starting to change my tune when it comes to social media. Too many cowardly campaigners who need a good punch in the face, and most wouldn't act the way they do if there were potential consequences. Social media should require ID imo

this isn't an excuse so dont take it the wrong way, but we can't eliminate murder, rape, pedo's etc, so we definitely aren't eliminating racism. I dont know what the end goal is and i guess the only thing we can do is call it out try to minimise as much as possible. But thinking or aiming for zero racism is just not a reality. Some people just aren't like the 90% or xx% of us. is there another angle to take to make things better?

Sadly, as long as humans exist. So will racism, sexism, and homophobia.

The problem is, the social media companies do so little about it. I reported a comment saying "I like seeing little N-word kids starving in Africa. Less of them in this world", and I got a response that it does not pass as hate speech and will remain up. It is so easy to trace these burner accounts unless the person uses a VPN, in which most people are not smart enough to do so. Often a burner account will be made under the same ISP address as their genuine account. Sometimes even under the same email.

The problem is, there is not enough consequences for actions. Far right groups pretty much complained that getting banned for racism, homophobia and Q conspiracies, was an attack on free speech. And got the likes of Musk and Zuckerberg in their pockets. Instead of staying banned, all their accounts have been unbanned in recent times, leading to social media to become a bigger cesspool of s**t for the toxic types. Every time we make progress on curbing hate speech, we get hit right back from those wanting a free for all to say whatever they want, no matter whom it harms. All the great progresses made over the last decade or two, have started to be undone in the last couple of years. When you remove the consequences and accountability for actions and words, then you will see an increase in negative behavior as a result.

I have heard of dozens of incidents where AFL players have gotten abuse online over the years. But cannot recall a single instance where a fan has gotten banned. Either the AFL does it all behind closed doors, or the social media companies do nothing to help. No wonder fans think they will get away with it. Start handing out life bans for serious or repeated abuse, decade long bans first time up no matter how trivial, and make it public. So those who may think of it, actually know there is consequences and think twice.

Just wanted to thank you for so eloquently summing up how I feel about the anti-vax crowd.

What a bunch of ****wits.

Carrying on like pork chops over a health issue just to ”stick it to the man!!!!”

Nauseating.

Surely North (backed up by the AFL) are allowed to deregister and cut that idiot Thomas loose, and cut off his money tree? There's been some idiots in AFL in recent years, but this flog seems determined to go out in a blaze of glory. No consequences, softly-softly 'wrapping arms around him' and he just throws it back in their faces. They're paying him 750k p.a. - and all it's doing is proving he's a moron, but so are those enabling him.

So it’ll be Tarryn to the Cats next year where their strong culture will turn him around 🙄

Carltank getting smashed
Cracking Up Lol GIF