Opinion Non-Crows AFL 7

nah - if I was Melbourne, I'd try and work the Pickett Jonas match up after watching Rankine in the showdown
The champion data guy said port are the worst in the league when they are 1 on 1 in defence.

The Tassie thing reminds me of the AO saga and Demetriou basically gave the same threat

Got everyone in a room and said we dont walk out without an agreement and bashed heads until it happened

Anyone else get the feeling this might not go ahead? Weirdly might be a bit of a win for the AFL..”we tried to give you a team, but you didnt want it”….

I raised similar issues with some passionate Tassie Crows fans on here the other week. With a now minority state Govt (with 2 MP's leaving the ruling Lib party after the decision) there is now a degree of sovereign risk of the whole thing collapsing IMO. The opposition Labor party has stated they will do everything possible to stop it proceeding and run to the next election in 2 years time with this policy.

And with so MANY other high profile Tasmanians and organisations so aggressively campaigning against it I imagine its making a few people in the AFL VERY nervous here. All of this and it was always going to be a marginal team at best IMO with the north/south divide, small popn of Hobart of 200k and I imagine difficulty in retaining elite players longer term.

Interesting times ahead IMO and this could actually get really ugly but I aint no political expert...

My sister is a 17 years survivor of multiple myeloma. She’s 16 years post transplant (bone marrow). Has issues with multiple bone fractures from being on bisphosphonates for too long. But she is one of (if not the) longest living survivor. Her survival could also be put down to being 49 when she was diagnosed with an MGUS - they knew she had something, but no idea what or where it was until it manifested a couple of years later. Being a hypochondriac certainly paid off in this instance.
Amazing story Jenny and my thoughts with your family. 17 years is extraordinary - what an amazing survivor she is and I hope she has had a decent quality of life.

My Mum passed away a few years ago with MM. You are said to 'die with it' rather than 'because of it' her Dr told us but its a horrid thing basically a cancer of the bones where they become so brittle they fracture and she ended up being bed bound in the last couple of years of life - she never once complained even with horrendous pain. My Mum (living in Adelaide) was told she was actually one of the longest survivors with MM having being diagnosed 7 years before her passing (where 'normal' time to survive is 3-5 years from memory)

The Tassie thing reminds me of the AO saga and Demetriou basically gave the same threat

Got everyone in a room and said we dont walk out without an agreement and bashed heads until it happened
ADL almost 6 x the size of Hobart though is a stark contrast. The team will always be marginal IMO

I raised similar issues with some passionate Tassie Crows fans on here the other week. With a now minority state Govt (with 2 MP's leaving the ruling Lib party after the decision) there is now a degree of sovereign risk of the whole thing collapsing IMO. The opposition Labor party has stated they will do everything possible to stop it proceeding and run to the next election in 2 years time with this policy.

And with so MANY other high profile Tasmanians and organisations so aggressively campaigning against it I imagine its making a few people in the AFL VERY nervous here. All of this and it was always going to be a marginal team at best IMO with the north/south divide, small popn of Hobart of 200k and I imagine difficulty in retaining elite players longer term.

Interesting times ahead IMO and this could actually get really ugly but I aint no political expert...

The same thing happened with Adelaide Oval. As I recall, all these super high profile SACA members who were the whose who of the Adelaide Boys club who run everything tried every trick in the book to con anyone who'd listen that it was a bad idea. It got to a stage that many thought it would fall through. Labor will fail at the next election if they take a policy that will kill Tasmania's only shot at an AFL team. We are only hearing a loud minority because of who those in the minority are. AFL teams are bonus for an economy because of the tourism it brings. It is staggering that you have politicians looking to vote gain from environmentalists and minority groups at the expense of clearly what would be an economic boom.

On the other hand, Port Power's wins have all been close ones and their only convincing wins were against trash teams and Brisbane at home in the 1st round who doesn't seem as good away this season.
Last side to garner a number of close wins was collingwood last year..remember imitation is the greatest form of flattery..hence the yearning to wear the black and white stripes of the collingwood footy club

The same thing happened with Adelaide Oval. As I recall, all these super high profile SACA members who were the whose who of the Adelaide Boys club who run everything tried every trick in the book to con anyone who'd listen that it was a bad idea. It got to a stage that many thought it would fall through. Labor will fail at the next election if they take a policy that will kill Tasmania's only shot at an AFL team. We are only hearing a loud minority because of who those in the minority are. AFL teams are bonus for an economy because of the tourism it brings. It is staggering that you have politicians looking to vote gain from environmentalists and minority groups at the expense of clearly what would be an economic boom.
ok mate I defer to your recollection of the ADL oval debate as I certainly cant recall so much negative and aggressive action against it from so many angles - political (which is needed for it to proceed), big organisations like RSL, high profile people and the general public even (eg did many thousands of ADL residents ever rally against the AO redevelopment? Perhaps they did and I cant recall it)

from my perspective from an overall commercial basis, Hobart is barely big enough to sustain a team in a state where many young elite players will NOT want to live. The team needs to be self sustaining from its own supporters (members and corporates) and the tourists, who will no doubt come, but that needs to be the cream, it cant be the cake. The team needs to be sustainable without relying on interstate supporters flying in (during the middle of winter where Hobart has an ave maximum of 12 degrees). Look at GC crowds - so small - and thats despite the GC being a much bigger tourist draw card ESPECIALLY in winter - but you still only end up with a couple of thousand oppo team supporters and I have been to many of their games having lived in the Byron shire the last decade.

Last side to garner a number of close wins was collingwood last year..remember imitation is the greatest form of flattery..hence the yearning to wear the black and white stripes of the collingwood footy club
in that case, lets hope for a heart breaking 1 point finals loss - ideally vs the Crows in an AO prelim where they hit the post after the siren despite being 10 metres out straight in front and down by 2 points :)

ok mate I defer to your recollection of the ADL oval debate as I certainly cant recall so much negative and aggressive action against it from so many angles - political (which is needed for it to proceed), big organisations like RSL, high profile people and the general public even (eg did many thousands of ADL residents ever rally against the AO redevelopment? Perhaps they did and I cant recall it)

from my perspective from an overall commercial basis, Hobart is barely big enough to sustain a team in a state where many young elite players will NOT want to live. The team needs to be self sustaining from its own supporters (members and corporates) and the tourists, who will no doubt come, but that needs to be the cream, it cant be the cake. The team needs to be sustainable without relying on interstate supporters flying in (during the middle of winter where Hobart has an ave maximum of 12 degrees). Look at GC crowds - so small - and thats despite the GC being a much bigger tourist draw card ESPECIALLY in winter - but you still only end up with a couple of thousand oppo team supporters and I have been to many of their games having lived in the Byron shire the last decade.

Thats not true. Players will live there. Its an arrogant assumption by people that they wont. Its a footballing state and they will be treated like rock stars. And they can afford it. They will also have more people attend games than St Kilda, North Melbourne, GWS and Gold Coast combined. Probably add the Western Bulldogs in their as well.

in that case, lets hope for a heart breaking 1 point finals loss - ideally vs the Crows in an AO prelim where they hit the post after the siren despite being 10 metres out straight in front and down by 2 points :)
My heart could not take a finish like that...i'd prefer the crows win by 119 points

Thats not true. Players will live there. Its an arrogant assumption by people that they wont. Its a footballing state and they will be treated like rock stars. And they can afford it. They will also have more people attend games than St Kilda, North Melbourne, GWS and Gold Coast combined. Probably add the Western Bulldogs in their as well.
fair enough, will agree to disagree but dont think you meant so say this 'They will also have more people attend games than St Kilda, North Melbourne, GWS and Gold Coast combined' . cheers

The AFL didn't want to give Tasmania a team for 30+ years.

If it fell over and it wasn't their fault they'd be ecstatic. Did "everything they could" but the state rejected it. Oh no, the VFL will continue to hold all the power, how devastating

The AFL didn't want to give Tasmania a team for 30+ years.

If it fell over and it wasn't their fault they'd be ecstatic. Did "everything they could" but the state rejected it. Oh no, the VFL will continue to hold all the power, how devastating

A Tassie team will be successful and get as many to a home game as a Port game. What a Tassie team does is gift the AFL a positive expansion exercise which can be potentially used to kill one of the Suns or GWS. Neither of them have shown any signs of expanding their fans base into a profitable operation. As it stands with North Melbourne, St Kilda, GWS and Gold Coast, the AFL has too many teams with no fan base that it needs to clean up.

the proposed stadium is going to have a capacity of up to 27,000. power are averaging close on 50% above that but agree we need to kill/merge 3-4 MLB teams

Saints and Kangas are the first obvious choices.

Port might give the Dees a fair run. Melbs record is deceiving. Beaten a lot of trash.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
Also Melbourne can be a bit complacent like when we beat them a AO. I don’t think they play AO all that well so Port are a big chance I reckon. Worth a sneaky bet at the current odds.

No.

Nope.

No. That would give me a heart attack.