Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2023

Didn't even trade Matty DeBoer. Effing de-listed him

I don't blame Lyon for all our list management fails (or successes) during that period. I reckon it was a true group effort.
Our recruiting was bad pre-Lyon. Passing on Darling unforgivable at the time and definitely in hindsight. 2011 wasn’t much better and I doubt Lyon had any input. Even if he did I doubt he said “take Tommy Sheridan at our first pick”

Yeah, Brad Lloyd made better decisions towards the end of his time as our List Manager, but early days there was some horrendous decisions made.

I tend to think the majority of our list management decisions have been garbage except anything with Gold Coast and Aish.

What has saved us is our drafting has been mostly good.

Fremantle had the misfortune of being the best it's ever been, playing finals 2010, mid table 2011 and then top eight again 2012 to 2015.

... right as Gold Coast ripped over a dozen players out of the draft before it started and then adding eight extra new picks for them in the first round - followed by GWS doing it later.

Our first round picks were a round or two back. Really, we should have just traded them away and let other clubs draft the rest. Even though basically all the good out of contract players in that period were swept up for bigger contracts for free by Gold Coast and GWS. So if you wanted to poach a player on big coin they could get even bigger money at the expansion clubs.

Really rough period for list management if you didn't have an existing top ten pick.

Do you honestly think that the AFL would leave money on the table?

They are pretty bad at many things, but not at finding a dollar.

Absolutely I do. Look at the MCG contract, they sold the grand final for peanuts.

IMO the AFL almost certainly would have got more dollars elsewhere. But in any case, it would have cost nothing to shop around for a few weeks. Why didn't they? SA would not have taken their offer off the table.

I just watched AAA which showed the North defensive efforts, I know we were bad but **** me if North didnt fire everything in that game against us. What a schmozzle that effort that was, they basically looked like they manned EVERY Brisbane forward like we do Lukoscious

I just watched AAA which showed the North defensive efforts, I know we were bad but * me if North didnt fire everything in that game against us. What a schmozzle that effort that was, they basically looked like they manned EVERY Brisbane forward like we do Lukoscious
We always seem to cop the rebuilding teams in the first few weeks while their energy and effort are up.

Then everyone else gets a percentage boost.

We always seem to cop the rebuilding teams in the first few weeks while their energy and effort are up.

I dont want to give us an out but holy moly is there ever a better example of "it's not who you play but when", then it's that Brisbane game. Darcy ****ing Fort was jogging into an open goal of all people

I dont want to give us an out but holy moly is there ever a better example of "it's not who you play but when", then it's that Brisbane game. Darcy ******* Fort was jogging into an open goal of all people
Copping Adelaide and go early in the season the last couple as well

Their midfield got smashed too.
Happens. Team start to figure out bottom teams early, then its easy pickings later

Absolutely I do. Look at the MCG contract, they sold the grand final for peanuts.

IMO the AFL almost certainly would have got more dollars elsewhere. But in any case, it would have cost nothing to shop around for a few weeks. Why didn't they? SA would not have taken their offer off the table.
Didn't they make the current grand final agreement as their contribution to the MCG redevelopment? (first Great Southern Stand and second new Ponsord and Members stand)

Might be wrong, but I though the reason the MCG redevelopment got funded by the Vic government was because the VFL and then AFL agreed to keep the GF in Melbourne

I just watched AAA which showed the North defensive efforts, I know we were bad but * me if North didnt fire everything in that game against us. What a schmozzle that effort that was, they basically looked like they manned EVERY Brisbane forward like we do Lukoscious
I wonder if the north players are starting to find Clarkson distasteful. The campaigner is obviously on a PR campaign to improve his image, meanwhile more families come out of the woodwork.

Fremantle had the misfortune of being the best it's ever been, playing finals 2010, mid table 2011 and then top eight again 2012 to 2015.

... right as Gold Coast ripped over a dozen players out of the draft before it started and then adding eight extra new picks for them in the first round - followed by GWS doing it later.

Our first round picks were a round or two back. Really, we should have just traded them away and let other clubs draft the rest. Even though basically all the good out of contract players in that period were swept up for bigger contracts for free by Gold Coast and GWS. So if you wanted to poach a player on big coin they could get even bigger money at the expansion clubs.

Really rough period for list management if you didn't have an existing top ten pick.
I don’t buy that concessions cruelled us. Hawthorn were even more successful than us, and they picked up Stephen Hill’s brother after we picked three players. Brad later returned to us after a triple premiership with the Hawks and won the Doig.

I think we could have done far better in those years.

I wonder if the north players are starting to find Clarkson distasteful. The campaigner is obviously on a PR campaign to improve his image, meanwhile more families come out of the woodwork.
I think you underestimate a) the true alpha male fratboy nature of the vast majority of AFL footballers and b) how much players historically enjoy playing under Clarkson. There's very little past players who have anything negative to say about the guy, recent allegations not-withstanding.

It's just a young team having a shit week and giving Brissy a gimme game

I dont want to give us an out but holy moly is there ever a better example of "it's not who you play but when", then it's that Brisbane game. Darcy ******* Fort was jogging into an open goal of all people

I am expecting St Kilda to tire heavily in the second half of the season too, all those clubs who play them early get the high pressure slog and the ones at the back walk through them.

Here’s a hypothetical for the experts.
If Tassie comes in, who gets the bye in gather round? 19 teams can’t all play.

Odds we will be the ones left out?? You just know it don’t ya….

Here’s a hypothetical for the experts.
If Tassie comes in, who gets the bye in gather round? 19 teams can’t all play.

Odds we will be the ones left out?? You just know it don’t ya….

First thought that comes to mind is gather round is extended to start on Wednesday night or Thursday until Monday and one of Adelaide or Port will play two games over that "festival of footy" and then have a longer break after.

They played off really short breaks during covid.

I think you underestimate a) the true alpha male fratboy nature of the vast majority of AFL footballers and b) how much players historically enjoy playing under Clarkson. There's very little past players who have anything negative to say about the guy, recent allegations not-withstanding.

It's just a young team having a s**t week and giving Brissy a gimme game
Maybe. Gen Z are a different breed though