Non-Lions discussion 2023

It was mooted as NSW for this reason to begin with, but then SA heard about it and threw money at it. NSW was growth but money is money and the AFL likes money.

Having gone to it this year I’m happy if it sticks in Adelaide for a few years. But I’m in my early 30s, don’t have kids and have the financial resources to make a long weekend of it with mates, so appreciate that people would have liked it spread around.

There was a genuinely great vibe to the whole thing and had lots of good chats with complete random footy fans at the pub who’d all flown in for the weekend. Mt Barker was a surprisingly decent venue and they probably got as many as they would if norf hosted us in Tassie.

Would say as well that all that was good about it was achieved more by accident than design as the AFL will always prioritise the $

I can not remember who it was but one of our players did a classic tap on against the Kangaroos and was penalised for a throw... I reckon I have seen half a dozen other tap ons let go over the weekend, as they should have been BTW.

As I commented in the game day thread, those dinky tap ons. are a dime a dozen

Collingwood and Richmond do it regularly and I can't remember the last time they have been pinged for it.

.....and don't even talk to me about the Throwdogs

I'm not an expert on Nerang, BRAB ?

Also who is BRABETTE

Moonshine is a cultural delicacy and I’d appreciate people not mocking the suburb for something they don’t understand.

BRABETTE is a cyber bully. Avoid

The AFL is so reactionary.

They haven't paid a throw for about 5 years but after that little vid of 3 Essendon throws in 2 seconds went a bit viral last week everything that looked like a throw got paid . They still missed all the ones that get flipped straight out of the centre stoppage but in general play if your hand was free and the ball came out it got paid. The one in our game where it was palmed like a hit out was ridiculous.

Can't say I blame the umps. They get given all these secret policy changes that no one else knows about , how would anyone who's been an umpire of recent years have any idea what was a throw and what wasn't ?

The AFL is so reactionary.

They haven't paid a throw for about 5 years but after that little vid of 3 Essendon throws in 2 seconds went a bit viral last week everything that looked like a throw got paid . They still missed all the ones that get flipped straight out of the centre stoppage but in general play if your hand was free and the ball came out it got paid. The one in our game where it was palmed like a hit out was ridiculous.

Can't say I blame the umps. They get given all these secret policy changes that no one else knows about , how would anyone who's been an umpire of recent years have any idea what was a throw and what wasn't ?
They missed a pretty blatant throw by Neale in the second half, rewinded and watched it three times for the lols.

Based on how its officiated I have always thought our players don't do it enough.

Non-Lions discussion 2023