Non-Lions discussion 2023

Yep. I've appreciated his work for some time. He plays well at both ends of the field, a definite asset to any team. I'd love to have him at Brisbane.

I'd love him as an athletic, intercepting and distributing key back. Would complement what we already have brilliantly.

However I assume he wants to play forward, and he's going to be about the best key forward option on the market by the end of the year so not sure how we afford him sadly.

When we're getting pummelled out of the centre stoppages it's often throwers who are doing the damage .

We need to join the party. Especially around stoppages.

If the umps paid every one of Patrick Cripps' throws, Carlton would be on struggle street

Some of these Jounalists in this industry are some what negative to the good of the game, it's all about VFL , or is that the good of the game.
The call from Barrett on Lucosius.
He basically sewing the seed of Lucosius bailing the Gold Coast , because he must be watching his old mate Rankine bathe in success at Adelaide and thinking that's what he has to do.
And then commentry on Dew's tenure , I mean it is obvious it's not the coach ,it's every time they produce good players all these good players hear is oh he should go elsewhere for success , all this pressure , no word of loyalty , it's totally encouraged.
It doesn't help, that's for sure.
They need something, maybe a hand up from an older player , a Hodge type of player going to them, the AFL commentators to back the club and back the players that stay the course.
Finally what's the point of the draft if players can move on their own accord.

Some of these Jounalists in this industry are some what negative to the good of the game, it's all about VFL , or is that the good of the game.
The call from Barrett on Lucosius.
He basically sewing the seed of Lucosius bailing the Gold Coast , because he must be watching his old mate Rankine bathe in success at Adelaide and thinking that's what he has to do.
And then commentry on Dew's tenure , I mean it is obvious it's not the coach ,it's every time they produce good players all these good players hear is oh he should go elsewhere for success , all this pressure , no word of loyalty , it's totally encouraged.
It doesn't help, that's for sure.
They need something, maybe a hand up from an older player , a Hodge type of player going to them, the AFL commentators to back the club and back the players that stay the course.
Finally what's the point of the draft if players can move on their own accord.
Well said, they never seem to focus on the likes of Took Miller staying loyal and copying what he is doing - I hope Rowell, Anderson and King stays - I am not sure if its true or not, but a chap at the local footy club up here who knows someone connected to the Suns was telling me sometime ago that years ago when a Suns player announced to the group they were leaving, the players and coaches would applause and almost give there blessings to that player but story goes when Tom Lynch got up in front of everyone and did it, Took Miller in front of everyone and Lynch said, alright, piss off, if your not going to stay around with the group and demanded everyone not wish him well b/c he was fed up with the way these leaving players treated the club.

How true that is, IDK, but it sounds like Miller and good on him - so why cant the media emphasise that but as you say, it always seems nowadays that whenever a good player is at a struggling club , moreso interstate ones, the media jump on saying they should leave and join a Vic one or go home to SA/WA when those teams are doing well

when Tom Lynch got up in front of everyone and did it, Took Miller in front of everyone and Lynch said, alright, piss off, if your not going to stay around with the group and demanded everyone not wish him well b/c he was fed up with the way these leaving players treated the club.
Heard similar on Lynch. Part of why they stripped him of his captaincy when he told them - token move, but more about setting expectations.

Well said, they never seem to focus on the likes of Took Miller staying loyal and copying what he is doing - I hope Rowell, Anderson and King stays - I am not sure if its true or not, but a chap at the local footy club up here who knows someone connected to the Suns was telling me sometime ago that years ago when a Suns player announced to the group they were leaving, the players and coaches would applause and almost give there blessings to that player but story goes when Tom Lynch got up in front of everyone and did it, Took Miller in front of everyone and Lynch said, alright, piss off, if your not going to stay around with the group and demanded everyone not wish him well b/c he was fed up with the way these leaving players treated the club.

How true that is, IDK, but it sounds like Miller and good on him - so why cant the media emphasise that but as you say, it always seems nowadays that whenever a good player is at a struggling club , moreso interstate ones, the media jump on saying they should leave and join a Vic one or go home to SA/WA when those teams are doing well
I feel for them, they looked a good side last year, great to watch them move the ball.
Just seemed a little off in size , so a bit of maturing in their bodies , maybe King firing up as well as Casbolt and you could feel they could break the drought.
If only they still had May.
You can also bet the Vic centered commentators would be pushing for a Tassie team, so there will always be a push for Gold Coast to fold and move.
If only they could get some success , location, climate , new facilities, what's there not to like.

I feel for them, they looked a good side last year, great to watch them move the ball.
Just seemed a little off in size , so a bit of maturing in their bodies , maybe King firing up as well as Casbolt and you could feel they could break the drought.
If only they still had May.
You can also bet the Vic centered commentators would be pushing for a Tassie team, so there will always be a push for Gold Coast to fold and move.
If only they could get some success , location, climate , new facilities, what's there not to like.
The ex-Suns players on other current lists would be astounding. My son loves exercises like this; might see if he can name a team of ex-Suns and post it. ex-Giants could alomost field a team to. My son did the same with ex-Lions maybe 18 months ago and there were 18 players but i think someone posted less than a week ago on the Lions board that there are only 10 - off top of my head - Doc, Yeo, Crisp, Aish, D-Mc, Shack, Keays, Hinge, Witho, Terry.

But yes, I digressed, even if Suns had half that left - I mean whenever Giants leave like Hooper and Taranto, I watched there game on the weekend against Hawks and you barely notice there players having left - I mean when Shiel left, I thought they'd be in all sorts and yet they just bring in other players and you barely notice the players that left - OTOH, a sSuns leaves and there is a gaping hole most of the time.

Beating the Suns twice is very important to our flag chances so I don’t see them faltering as a problem while we are “in da window”.When we bottom out they can then go for their lives and I may even barrack for them.

The ex-Suns players on other current lists would be astounding. My son loves exercises like this; might see if he can name a team of ex-Suns and post it. ex-Giants could alomost field a team to. My son did the same with ex-Lions maybe 18 months ago and there were 18 players but i think someone posted less than a week ago on the Lions board that there are only 10 - off top of my head - Doc, Yeo, Crisp, Aish, D-Mc, Shack, Keays, Hinge, Witho, Terry.

But yes, I digressed, even if Suns had half that left - I mean whenever Giants leave like Hooper and Taranto, I watched there game on the weekend against Hawks and you barely notice there players having left - I mean when Shiel left, I thought they'd be in all sorts and yet they just bring in other players and you barely notice the players that left - OTOH, a sSuns leaves and there is a gaping hole most of the time.
As requested, my 12 yo had a go at naming a current ex-Suns team (only 19 players he could workout):

BAdam Saad (Carl / Ess)Steven May (Melb)Trent McKenzie (Port)
HBAaron Hall (Nth M)Jack Scrimshaw (Haw)Will Brodie (Freo)
CCallum Ah Chee (Lions)Jarryd Lyons (Lions)Jack Bowes (Geel)
HFJack Martin (Carl)Tom Lynch (Rich)Izak Rankine (Adel)
FPeter Wright (Ess)Charlie Dixon (Port)Josh Corbett (Freo)
RTom Hickey (Syd via St K & WCE)Jaegar O'Meara (Freo / Haw)Dion Prestia (Rich)
INTOleg Markov (Coll)Hugh Greenwood (Nth M)

I suspect the ex-Giants team may be even better but a pretty handy team.

GWS team I think is stacked with talent

BLachie Plowman(Carl)Sam Frost (Melb / Haw)Aidan Corr (Nth M)
HBZac Williams (Carl)Adam Tomlinson (Melb)Nathan Wilson (Freo)
CMatthew Kennedy (Carl)Jack Steele (StK)Adam Treloar (WB / Coll))
HFTim Taranto (Rich)Jeremy Cameron (Geel)Will Hoskin-Elliott (Coll)
FBobby Hill (Coll)Jeremy Finlayson (Port)Will Setterfield (Ess)
RRory Lobb (WB / Freo)Taylor Adams (Coll)Dylan Shiel (Ess)
INTJye Caldwell (Ess)Tanner Bruhnn (Geel)Jacob Hopper (Rich)Aiden Bonar (Nth M)
EMERJackson Hately (Adel)Jake Stein (Suns)

The boy wasnt as familar with some of the players and nor was I but given how amazing there ex-team is compared to Suns and how good there current Giants team is, I'm not sure what is happening the Suns but by rights, the Giants are the club that should be struggling of the 2.

Probably what needs to be really said tho is how unfair it is that these 2 teams in particular are continuously raided year after year and the AFL journalists continuously and consistently talk up that the players of either these 2 teams should leave or that Vic club should go after them. I get there is the go home factor but you never here AFL journas openly talking about why players from Collingwood, Carlton, Geelong, Richmond etc should leave and go home. I mean would they ever talk up Paddy Cripps going home to WA ? Hell no. Surprising the AFL doesnt try to stamp out this talk.

Carlton = 3 / Collingwood = 3/4 / Richmond = 2 / Essendon = 3 / Melbourne = 2/1 / Geel = 2 / Nth M = 2 / WB = 2/1, Freo, StK, Port, Haw, Adel and Suns = 1 each.

I think it's in my blood, love the battlers and will get behind a team that has suffered injustice like the Rabbitohs.

The boy wasnt as familar with some of the players and nor was I but given how amazing there ex-team is compared to Suns and how good there current Giants team is, I'm not sure what is happening the Suns but by rights, the Giants are the club that should be struggling of the 2.

Probably what needs to be really said tho is how unfair it is that these 2 teams in particular are continuously raided year after year and the AFL journalists continuously and consistently talk up that the players of either these 2 teams should leave or that Vic club should go after them. I get there is the go home factor but you never here AFL journas openly talking about why players from Collingwood, Carlton, Geelong, Richmond etc should leave and go home. I mean would they ever talk up Paddy Cripps going home to WA ? Hell no. Surprising the AFL doesnt try to stamp out this talk.

Carlton = 3 / Collingwood = 3/4 / Richmond = 2 / Essendon = 3 / Melbourne = 2/1 / Geel = 2 / Nth M = 2 / WB = 2/1, Freo, StK, Port, Haw, Adel and Suns = 1 each.
That is insane , two big lists of quality players.
Tbh I was really only thinking of Lynch, may and Rankine , and Prestia, O meara , so many many more
I was thinking the same , the AFL should stamp it out 100%.

I think it's in my blood, love the battlers and will get behind a team that has suffered injustice like the Rabbitohs.

That is insane , two big lists of quality players.
Tbh I was really only thinking of Lynch, may and Rankine , and Prestia, O meara , so many many more
I was thinking the same , the AFL should stamp it out 100%.
And that even had me thinking that there are others than have either retired or delisted such as Dom Tyson, Tom Boyd, Cam McCarthy, Devon Smith, Jon Patton, Jon O'Rourke at GWS and at Suns the likes of Harley Bennell, Josh Caddy at the Suns.

The other one I just thought my son didnt inlcude is Jack Martin at Carlton.

To Mr Ripper's point, even including the ones that have finished up, the same big clubs mostly targetted those players. Not to mention that a lot of these boys at GWS and Suns that left were 1st or 2nd rounders and a lot of top 10 picks.

Somewhat related to this topic, I did think last night when watching the Pies try surging forward each time - there's a near perfect player for this type of game style with his ability to get the loose ball, burst out, and then not be a horrific kick, and his name is Adam Treloar. :D

Its a good team, but what is left out of this is how many poor draft picks at GWS that SOS imported in his time at Carlton. Could fill out another team with just them.

All up the clubs that have raided the Suns and Giants are (only included the club that took the player out of GWS and Suns, not where they are now):

Essendon = (5) 3 GWS / 2 GCS
Collingwood = (5) 4 GWS 1 GCS
Carlton = (4) 3 GWS / 1 GCS
Richmond = (4) 2 GWS / 2 GCS
North Melb = (4) 2 GWS / 2 GCS
Fremantle = (4) 2 GWS / 2 GCS
Melbourne = (3) 2 GWS / 1 GCS
Geelong = (3) 2 GWS / 1 GCS
Port Adel = (3) 1 GWS / 2 GCS
St Kilda = (2) 1 GWS / 1 GCS
Hawthorn = (2) 2 GCS
Adelaide = (2) 1 GWS / 1 GCS
LIONS = (2) 2 GCS
Gold Coast = (1) 1 GWS

Bulldogs, Giants, West Coast and Sydney are the only clubs not to take a current Giant or Sun, although Bulldogs took Tom Boyd (pick 1) and the likes of Essendon (Devon Smith), Richmond (Josh Caddy), Hathworn (Patton & O'Rourke), Fremantle (Cam McCarthy and Harley Bennell) are pretty habitual and the likes of Collingwood (Dan McStay and Jack Crisp and James Aish) also like to target the northern markets. Not sure how many ex-Swans are running around elsewhere but I wouldn't have thought there'd be many although Dawson (Adel), Hewett (Carl) are notables.

All up the clubs that have raided the Suns and Giants are (only included the club that took the player out of GWS and Suns, not where they are now):

Hawthorn = (2) 2 GCS
LIONS = (2) 2 GCS
Gold Coast = (1) 1 GWS

Bulldogs, Giants, West Coast and Sydney are the only clubs not to take a current Giant or Sun, although Bulldogs took Tom Boyd (pick 1) and the likes of Essendon (Devon Smith), Richmond (Josh Caddy), Hathworn (Patton & O'Rourke), Fremantle (Cam McCarthy and Harley Bennell) are pretty habitual and the likes of Collingwood (Dan McStay and Jack Crisp and James Aish) also like to target the northern markets. Not sure how many ex-Swans are running around elsewhere but I wouldn't have thought there'd be many although Dawson (Adel), Hewett (Carl) are notables.

I think Carlton took 5 from GWS in a single trade

Hawthorn = (2) 2 GCS
LIONS = (2) 2 GCS
Gold Coast = (1) 1 GWS

And the Suns threw Jarryd Lyons out the door and slammed it behind him so not a "raid" by us... and they wanted Ah Chee off the list because of injury problems IIRC.

I think Carlton took 5 from GWS in a single trade

Arguably they only have got three decent players from GWS? Williams, Matt Kennedy and Marchbank? Marchbank has been injured for about 4 years and Williams is sadly having a rough run in his first two years at carlton.

The rest of the list is brutal, Plowman plays games but is very poor, and others like Kristian Jacksch, Mark Whiley, Liam Sumner, Jarrod Pickett, Jed Lamb were pure wastes of list spots.

Non-Lions discussion 2023