Non-Lions discussion 2023

Every surgery increases the arthritis risk by a ridiculous amount (can't remember the stat but was significant).

Also said won't get a knee replacement until 60 cause you can only get two per lifetime fit medical reasons.

So expect a lot of years of knee pain.

Alex is screwed.
I'm 48 and sitting at home 14 days since my knee replacement surgery (after 4 previous surgeries in the past 20 years on the same knee).

They don't want to do it pre-50 but will if it is warranted - and in my case it just 'gave up' last November. The surgeon said there was simply no alternative.

For what it's worth I wrecked it playing sport and it would be 'safer' not playing anymore but I'd rather 10 years with some fun than 25 years of boredom. So after another couple months I am planning to see how it goes again.

I'm 48 and sitting at home 14 days since my knee replacement surgery (after 4 previous surgeries in the past 20 years on the same knee).

They don't want to do it pre-50 but will if it is warranted - and in my case it just 'gave up' last November. The surgeon said there was simply no alternative.

For what it's worth I wrecked it playing sport and it would be 'safer' not playing anymore but I'd rather 10 years with some fun than 25 years of boredom. So after another couple months I am planning to see how it goes again.

It's a lose lose isn't it? Lose what you love now or possibly lose mobility later.

I figure once I'm in my late 60's or early 70's it's about that time knee replacements happen - it's just I would be on my second.
I'd be lying if I said I haven't daydreamed about a Star Trek type deal where they pass a 'magic stick' over my knee and say 'fixed'. Where is SkyNet technology when you need it!?!

Surgeon asked if I want '25 years (with no sport) or 10-15 with?'. I asked if he wants repeat business or not?

I was offered one too because of cartilage degradation (aged 40, none left on one side of the knee. Meniscus tear on the other side for extra fun, it turned out), but was told they'd rather leave it as long as possible though because they reckon it only lasts 20 years and then you'd have to lock in a second. But if it degrades to the point where it's no sport I'd definitely be signing up to that some deal - 100% agree.

I figure once I'm in my late 60's or early 70's it's about that time knee replacements happen - it's just I would be on my second.
I'd be lying if I said I haven't daydreamed about a Star Trek type deal where they pass a 'magic stick' over my knee and say 'fixed'. Where is SkyNet technology when you need it!?!

Surgeon asked if I want '25 years (with no sport) or 10-15 with?'. I asked if he wants repeat business or not?
I must have great knee genes(thanks mum and dad), done a lot of running all my life up until a few years ago, played 20 years of Futsal up until just before Covid... can still go on extended trekking holidays, only time my knees feel a little sore is the Patella tendons on long steep down hill climbs and running on hard surfaces ie. concrete, bitumen.

I was offered one too because of cartilage degradation (aged 40, none left on one side of the knee. Meniscus tear on the other side for extra fun, it turned out), but was told they'd rather leave it as long as possible though because they reckon it only lasts 20 years and then you'd have to lock in a second. But if it degrades to the point where it's no sport I'd definitely be signing up to that some deal - 100% agree.

I was bone on bone since my late 30s. Previous surgeons thought as a non-athlete the quicker way - removing all cartilage - was easier than painstakingly trimming (bastards).

Was told I needed replacement abt 43 but to 'get to 50 first'. I quit sport and had three really boring years. Ended up starting sport again and got 2 good years, albeit slower and at an even lower-than-the-already-low standard I was previously playing. Then as I said it literally 'gave way' in November and I had the worst month of constant pain in my life - wayyyyy worse than any of my time post surgery so far.

All that said, I plan to try again later in the year. I just enjoy life with sport twice as much as without. If I squeeze 5-6 more years I'll call it a success. Any more is a bonus. I have to physically stop at some stage, but I'm not ready yet.

I must have great knee genes(thanks mum and dad), done a lot of running all my life up until a few years ago, played 20 years of Futsal up until just before Covid... can still go on extended trekking holidays, only time my knees feel a little sore is the Patella tendons on long steep down hill climbs and running on hard surfaces ie. concrete, bitumen.

Dislocated the knee cap Darren Cresswell style when I was 20 ish playing badminton of all things. But I wasn't tough enough to sit there trying to whack it back in place.

Let's just say when I see the green whistle being handed to an injured player I have an almost Pavlovian envy still some three decades later!

I was bone on bone since my late 30s. Previous surgeons thought as a non-athlete the quicker way - removing all cartilage - was easier than painstakingly trimming (bastards).

Was told I needed replacement abt 43 but to 'get to 50 first'. I quit sport and had three really boring years. Ended up starting sport again and got 2 good years, albeit slower and at an even lower-than-the-already-low standard I was previously playing. Then as I said it literally 'gave way' in November and I had the worst month of constant pain in my life - wayyyyy worse than any of my time post surgery so far.

All that said, I plan to try again later in the year. I just enjoy life with sport twice as much as without. If I squeeze 5-6 more years I'll call it a success. Any more is a bonus. I have to physically stop at some stage, but I'm not ready yet.
It's a conundrum because as you get older, say into your late '60's the one thing that really enhances your life and gets rid of the black cloud is being able to sweat it up ,go to the gym, jog , play tennis and golf. I have friends of my vintage with crook knees and whatever else and it really impacts to a significant degree on their life at that point , when they actually have the time to be doing these things.

I have a friend who did both knees playing footy in his twenties. He put off the knee replacement in the worst one for as long as he could . 65. It's helped a lot .

But yes it's a hard choice. People plan and look ahead 20 or so years but there's no guarantee you'll ever get there anyway is there.

It's a conundrum because as you get older, say into your late '60's the one thing that really enhances your life and gets rid of the black cloud is being able to sweat it up ,go to the gym, jog , play tennis and golf. I have friends of my vintage with crook knees and whatever else and it really impacts to a significant degree on their life at that point , when they actually have the time to be doing these things.

I have a friend who did both knees playing footy in his twenties. He put off the knee replacement in the worst one for as long as he could . 65. It's helped a lot .

But yes it's a hard choice. People plan and look ahead 20 or so years but there's no guarantee you'll ever get there anyway is there.
As someone approaching their mid 60s my motto has always been use it or lose it, keep moving.

A good metric to see how you are going as you age is squat holds, grip strength and one legged balancing. I have found Yoga to be fantastic for that as well as overall strength and flexibility. If I don't do some sort of exercise every day, even it it's only a half hour walk, I just don't feel right.

Jack Lukosius is kicking like Daniel Rich used to.:(

As someone approaching their mid 60s my motto has always been use it or lose it, keep moving.

A good metric to see how you are going as you age is squat holds, grip strength and one legged balancing. I have found Yoga to be fantastic for that as well as overall strength and flexibility. If I don't do some sort of exercise every day, even it it's only a half hour walk, I just don't feel right.
I actually have to sweat and do something a bit strenuous to elevate my mood for the rest of the day.

I've given yoga a go and have a good familial influence for it , but it just didn't do it for me . Of course they tell me that doesn't matter ,it's the journey of self discovery and you'll get it eventually.

But no doubt I'll end up with the yoga crowd eventually.

But you have to keep moving . For as long as you possibly can.

That's a real feather in Melbourne's cap.
Wait What Instinct GIF by CBS

I'm sure I could add years if I stopped drinking, or pizza, or practically everything that provides even momentary enjoyment. Show me someone at 70 with no previous or current issues and they are either the most lucky, or (more likely) have had a most bland existence. That opinion is tainted by the enjoyment I derive from sport. I'm sure countless people are well satisfied by other things.

I have two opinions on Paddy McCartin. My 'society view' is he should stop and think of his long term. My 'self view' is if I were him I would want to go on playing. And I say that as someone who never got a single $ to play sport and who has dealt with injury semi-regularly all my adult life. (All the NBA guys who say 'I'd play for free' and then never touch a ball again after they retire are FOS.)

I hear and understand anyone stopping something for what might happen in 20 years, it just won't be me. Feel free to bookmark this and laugh at my hobbled ineptitude in 2043... or sooner.

Non-Lions discussion 2023