Northern Football League Division 1 - Part II

Hey J&B,sorry my friend,the songs a bit long for this page,mabe you can come an hear it in the middle of the ground on sunday arvo!!;):D

Why you need the lyrics my friend?? You gonna sing it with us?;)

Just curious and bored ... was looking for something a bit different from the usual crap on here (of which I am a major contributor :eek:)

Betts - Good to see and hear all is going well :thumbsu: Finals for you mob in 08. I expect nothing less.

In relation to your query. First I've heard of it, however, will make some enquiries.

Regards
Yes thanks, that is our ultimate goal:):thumbsu:

Eastern League have had a vision of creating a "super" competition for some time hence their previous interest in Balwyn, Heidelberg etc transferring as a step in that direction.

AFL Victoria however have differing views and are keen to strengthen existing leagues not decimating them to create a premier competition.
Thanks AE and Boof, just done a google search, http://www.australianrules.com.au/2006stories/supersuburban.html
If it did go ahead how would this effect grass roots football? Interleague games, crowd attendance, i'm sure it would be great to watch though, but to sustain that amount of money to cover all costs involve would be enormous amount of work involved? cheers

Thanks AE and Boof, just done a google search, http://www.australianrules.com.au/2006stories/supersuburban.html
If it did go ahead how would this effect grass roots football? Interleague games, crowd attendance, i'm sure it would be great to watch though, but to sustain that amount of money to cover all costs involve would be enormous amount of work involved? cheers[/quote]

While the alarm bells are not ringing just yet, I believe while soccer continues to increase its share of the market of juniors in our demographic it’s only a matter of time before a ‘Super Suburban League’ type situation eventuates. Put simply, there will come a day when the less fortunate/financial clubs will not have the players to field sides and will therefore be compelled to amalgamate or become nothing but memories.

Regards

I heard of this happening some time last year, but there would still be room for the smaller clubs I'd reckon. Say this league takes out Heidelberg, Monty and maybe Bundoora/North Heidelberg, there still should be enough teams for 2 divisions in the NFL, i'd rather keep it the way it is though.

Why would a superleague be a threat to the current metro leagues??

We already have VFL and that does not in anyway threaten the suburban leagues, it just gives good surburban league players a chance to show their wares in a way in which some of the AFL clubs may take some notice.

If you took a dozen of the better teams from current metro comps, no ____ but the ones who are loyal to those teams will care especially after the initial curiosity factor wears away.

There will always be a need, a place and a desire for local competitions irrespective of any supposed superleague developing.

moth just curious as to who played well for n/ park i seen they obviously have a very good even spread of players now across the board be it as they seem to have no superstars in there side dominating there best every week. and trying to fill a big hole in there leadership with there captain gone, could there lack of leadership be there problem for their lapses in games!!:thumbsu:

Yes probably was a pretty even spread. Games played in those conditions make it very difficult for opposition supporters to identify the stands outs. 27, Violato I think, was a good focal point up forward and some of your smaller players tried very hard to get out and provide options. Your ruckman and Kingy went at it all day and probably broke even.

Very interesting fact that only 2 goals were scored at the grand stand end all day and these were in the first quarter.

Cheers.

Yes probably was a pretty even spread. Games played in those conditions make it very difficult for opposition supporters to identify the stands outs. 27, Violato I think, was a good focal point up forward and some of your smaller players tried very hard to get out and provide options. Your ruckman and Kingy went at it all day and probably broke even.

Very interesting fact that only 2 goals were scored at the grand stand end all day and these were in the first quarter.

Cheers.

Actually copped a bit of stick for my last posting tonight at training. Apparently Voilato only kicked 2 for the day not the 4 that was listed in the match details. Finno was devastated when he read it.

If it did go ahead how would this effect grass roots football? Interleague games, crowd attendance, i'm sure it would be great to watch though, but to sustain that amount of money to cover all costs involve would be enormous amount of work involved? cheers

While the alarm bells are not ringing just yet, I believe while soccer continues to increase its share of the market of juniors in our demographic it’s only a matter of time before a ‘Super Suburban League’ type situation eventuates. Put simply, there will come a day when the less fortunate/financial clubs will not have the players to field sides and will therefore be compelled to amalgamate or become nothing but memories.

Regards[/quote]

skeptical as to how much of an influence soccer will have in diminshing numbers Boof, fair enough soccer numbers are increasing but the reality of it is that there are 95 kids doing Auskick down at Heidelberg, you can be guaranteed that at least half of these kids are playing soccer as well. There is going to come a time where they will be forced to make a choice between the 2, so you might have 40 of them coming through.

Now I ask you, 20 years ago when footy was in it's heyday with less competition from other sports would that 40-50 kids have dropped off anyway, the answer is yes they probably would. The current set up with Aus Kick, under age footy, schools, then onto u18 Tac and other leagues is a good system, it serves to keep kids involved. Yes the pull of soccer is there from inflated salaries in the European leagues, but as the AFL becomes more commercialised and salaries increase, the pull of AFL will remain strong also. This may seem trivial to us older souls but the commercialisation of sport is very important, we all remembering dreaming about playing our sport of choice at the highest level when we were kids, and from this, each sports propaganda machine taps into these dreams and idolises their superstars think Michael Jordan, Chris Judd, Christiano Ronaldo.

Regardless of this little siloquay, I have gone waaaaayyyy off point, as KA pointed out there will always be a need for Suburban leagues, a kind of super league will just add another incentive for players to aspire too, the NFL is looking at adding a division 3 within 2 years, adding 4 teams to the competition, if you add those 4 teams and take the top 3-4 teams out of our league we are left with the same amount of teams. The only question to ask in adding this super league is what does it do to the quality of the leagues that the participating teams are pulled from? and from that how much of an effect time wise does it take for these leagues to recover to the quality that they were intially. SOme might say they never will, but then again there is a school of thought that the current league is weaker than it was 15 years ago, perhaps we all look at history with rose tinted glasses and consider the good auld days better. Either way, no league will ever get off the ground permanently without a trial period, so let's trial it, if it doesn't work, improve it, if it still doesn't work, log onto Big Footy forums for us legends to throw our 2 cents in, use those ideas to improve the league and if it still doesn't work, scrap it. No one ever got anywhere without trying...

"some see things and ask why...but I dream of things that never were and ask why not" - George Bernard Shaw

Why not folks...

Regards

skeptical as to how much of an influence soccer will have in diminshing numbers Boof, fair enough soccer numbers are increasing but the reality of it is that there are 95 kids doing Auskick down at Heidelberg, you can be guaranteed that at least half of these kids are playing soccer as well. There is going to come a time where they will be forced to make a choice between the 2, so you might have 40 of them coming through.

Now I ask you, 20 years ago when footy was in it's heyday with less competition from other sports would that 40-50 kids have dropped off anyway, the answer is yes they probably would. The current set up with Aus Kick, under age footy, schools, then onto u18 Tac and other leagues is a good system, it serves to keep kids involved. Yes the pull of soccer is there from inflated salaries in the European leagues, but as the AFL becomes more commercialised and salaries increase, the pull of AFL will remain strong also. This may seem trivial to us older souls but the commercialisation of sport is very important, we all remembering dreaming about playing our sport of choice at the highest level when we were kids, and from this, each sports propaganda machine taps into these dreams and idolises their superstars think Michael Jordan, Chris Judd, Christiano Ronaldo.

Regardless of this little siloquay, I have gone waaaaayyyy off point, as KA pointed out there will always be a need for Suburban leagues, a kind of super league will just add another incentive for players to aspire too, the NFL is looking at adding a division 3 within 2 years, adding 4 teams to the competition, if you add those 4 teams and take the top 3-4 teams out of our league we are left with the same amount of teams. The only question to ask in adding this super league is what does it do to the quality of the leagues that the participating teams are pulled from? and from that how much of an effect time wise does it take for these leagues to recover to the quality that they were intially. SOme might say they never will, but then again there is a school of thought that the current league is weaker than it was 15 years ago, perhaps we all look at history with rose tinted glasses and consider the good auld days better. Either way, no league will ever get off the ground permanently without a trial period, so let's trial it, if it doesn't work, improve it, if it still doesn't work, log onto Big Footy forums for us legends to throw our 2 cents in, use those ideas to improve the league and if it still doesn't work, scrap it. No one ever got anywhere without trying...

"some see things and ask why...but I dream of things that never were and ask why not" - George Bernard Shaw

Why not folks...[/quote]

:eek:

The only question to ask in adding this super league is what does it do to the quality of the leagues that the participating teams are pulled from? and from that how much of an effect time wise does it take for these leagues to recover to the quality that they were intially. "

to answer the above look to the SANFL once the AFL was intorduced. The SANFL was once a parallel competition to the VFL, powerful and well supported, even had a GF that made it on Vic TV. Now the comp attracts poor crowds and the quality has well and truly dropped. Will they recover? well it has been more than 15 years now and it doesnt seem to get any better.

I would love to see a third tier superleague in melb, but it should be one that involves a relegation system in and out of the league allowing all clubs the dream of playing in it

I would love to see a third tier superleague in melb, but it should be one that involves a relegation system in and out of the league allowing all clubs the dream of playing in it[/quote]

As I said ask us Big Footy Legends for advice and this one is a beauty, there is this option or the option of a champions league type of situation, or at least the original format anyway where it was a knock out and only the champions (premiers) of each league can participate. You could run it as Div 1, 2 and 3, the premiers of each division, in each league play off against each other in a knock out comp to see who the overall team of Melbourne is.

This is significanlty different to the super league idea but it might be a step towards it for those who are afraid to make leaps.

Saul Caddy being cleared back to Nth Heidelberg ???

maybe because chris stewart is looking to move to maribynon park.
is this a coburg tigers (vfl) requested move?

also, another aflnt player heading to lalor for the weekend. lances influence taking over. this one expected to be as good as the one that has played the last two weeks.

The only question to ask in adding this super league is what does it do to the quality of the leagues that the participating teams are pulled from? and from that how much of an effect time wise does it take for these leagues to recover to the quality that they were intially. "

to answer the above look to the SANFL once the AFL was intorduced. The SANFL was once a parallel competition to the VFL, powerful and well supported, even had a GF that made it on Vic TV. Now the comp attracts poor crowds and the quality has well and truly dropped. Will they recover? well it has been more than 15 years now and it doesnt seem to get any better.

I would love to see a third tier superleague in melb, but it should be one that involves a relegation system in and out of the league allowing all clubs the dream of playing in it

Devil, this is sad but true. The WAFL and VFL Comps also has been in decline .

But for every bad there is a good - in this case the good being that The AFL has prospered and so too have many of the metropolitan leagues.

Despite all the crap that gets said about the various local competitions, I think you'll find that most have gained greater public and community support over the past 10 years.

It has meant that for surburban football leagues they have had generally greater crowds in attendance, better players attracted to their clubs including many ex AFl players that used to just sip off the gravy train of the various state football league, this has helped bring bring about a more attractive brand of Footy being played right at the grass roots level. It has also further helped in a resurgance of young developing footballers some of which hopefully go onto to be those AFL stars of tommorrow.

Long Live local footy - There just ain't nowhere better to go to have a pie and a beer with ya mates and to have a kick of the footy with ya kids :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Devil, this is sad but true. The WAFL and VFL Comps also has been in decline .

But for every bad there is a good - in this case the good being that The AFL has prospered and so too have many of the metropolitan leagues.

Despite all the crap that gets said about the various local competitions, I think you'll find that most have gained greater public and community support over the past 10 years.

It has meant that for surburban football leagues they have had generally greater crowds in attendance, better players attracted to their clubs including many ex AFl players that used to just sip off the gravy train of the various state football league, this has helped bring bring about a more attractive brand of Footy being played right at the grass roots level. It has also further helped in a resurgance of young developing footballers some of which hopefully go onto to be those AFL stars of tommorrow.

Long Live local footy - There just ain't nowhere better to go to have a pie and a beer with ya mates and to have a kick of the footy with ya kids :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I think all this talk about a Metro Super league is a bit far-fetched. We already have one - the VFL. It's not geographical, is of a high standard, is reasonably well supported and seems to be financially viable.

Maybe some of these suburban powerhouses should be looking towards the VFL instead of decimating the local leagues with the formation of a super league. Especially with more and more AFL clubs wanting to add reserves teams (based on the Geelong model)

Anybody able to shed some light on this situation that has just been brought to my attention.

Apparently Saul Caddy has put in a clearence from Greenvale to North Heidelberg and Howsie from Greenvale to Port Colts.

If true, how many clubs to these blokes want to play for?

All your sentiments are commendable boys, however, I believe at some point in time it’s going to come down to the means justifying the end. Number Crunching v Sustainability.

Perhaps the Oracle has the answer :confused:

I doubt it Pheonix :p
Creek
Eltham
Northcote
Mont

Regards

Anybody able to shed some light on this situation that has just been brought to my attention.

Apparently Saul Caddy has put in a clearence from Greenvale to North Heidelberg and Howsie from Greenvale to Port Colts.

knew about the howse one,but first time i had heard about caddy coming back to north.

anyway to my tips

heidelberg
north
eltham
nthcote park
mont

let's hope it's not as cold as last week.is that possible? and it's just good hard footy,with no controversies.maybe that's too much too ask.
read that one of the local forums had to shut down there forums due to
disgraceful comments on it.Hope the nfl forum never disintegrates into that.altough with sharkey around anything's possible

I believe that the kid who replaced the injured umpire, is one from the newly formed Academy at Parade College.
With the likes of this kid and the others it appears the comp will have good young umps coming through.
Any thoughts?

Been away for a week and will probably catch up in following posts from my friends in yellow but I can confirm the young man is from the Parade Umpiring Academy. He was umpiring his 6th game of football.

Tips for this weekend blokes...

Bergers over Bundy.

Norf over creek.

Bloods over Panthers.

Cougars over Roosters.

Slime to bounce back over Mont on Sunday.

maybe the money is a little short at greenvale. would be massive if caddy's clearance is approved, assuming he is probably on contract at greenvale. massive replacement for loss of stewart to marby park.

and interesting that over at edfl all inter-club clearances close on the 31st may, while external-club clearances close, like other leagues, on 30th june.

anyhow, my selections for the weekend are:
norf heid to win a close encounter over d creek
heid to appreciate back at home and see bund lose for 3rd week
lalor with ntfl influence to beat eltham - lance to get another bag
ncote park should beat w pres lakies, but not confident
monty by how far over boro on sunday

maybe the money is a little short at greenvale. would be massive if caddy's clearance is approved, assuming he is probably on contract at greenvale. massive replacement for loss of stewart to marby park.

and interesting that over at edfl all inter-club clearances close on the 31st may, while external-club clearances close, like other leagues, on 30th june.

anyhow, my selections for the weekend are:
norf heid to win a close encounter over d creek
heid to appreciate back at home and see bund lose for 3rd week
lalor with ntfl influence to beat eltham - lance to get another bag
ncote park should beat w pres lakies, but not confident
monty by how far over boro on sunday

clearance has been denied.

bergers
north
lalor
wp
mont