Northern Football League Division 1 - Part VI

Oh Kickass, you poor misunderstood child. You should post your comments the day after the game, when you are thinking clearer. Yes I agree, the game was played in good spirit, but I was referring to the incident between spectator and umpire.
I hope that this message can penetrate the thick fog that is circulating in your brain.

Over the last few months (years) I thought that Denny Crane was always a tad harsh in his comments about you, but I now understand where he is coming from.

By the way KA, I heard a rumour that you lovely wife has yellow and red cards at home so that she can send you to the "naughty corner" every so often.

It seriously took you that long to understand....:p:p

(Oh and I only quoted the whole thing as I really really liked your post :D:D)

Oh Kickass, you poor misunderstood child. You should post your comments the day after the game, when you are thinking clearer. Yes I agree, the game was played in good spirit, but I was referring to the incident between spectator and umpire.
I hope that this message can penetrate the thick fog that is circulating in your brain.

Over the last few months (years) I thought that Denny Crane was always a tad harsh in his comments about you, but I now understand where he is coming from.

By the way KA, I heard a rumour that you lovely wife has yellow and red cards at home so that she can send you to the "naughty corner" every so often.

and reckon it should be on a few pages in case some people on here miss it:D:D

In all seriousness who was the fool who got in the umpire's face in the first place? Why was he close enough to be 'contacted' by the Ump anyway?

There would be no problem if this person didn't make a point of confronting the ump.

Good on the Ump, God knows what drunk fool they encounter when walking from the ground after a tight contest. Would anyone in their right mind not want to protect themselves? Who knows what the spectator would have done??

In all seriousness who was the fool who got in the umpire's face in the first place? Why was he close enough to be 'contacted' by the Ump anyway?

There would be no problem if this person didn't make a point of confronting the ump.

Good on the Ump, God knows what drunk fool they encounter when walking from the ground after a tight contest. Would anyone in their right mind not want to protect themselves? Who knows what the spectator would have done??

I didn't see the incident so I can't coment on who approached who but the spectator was not drunk, I have never seen him have a drink at the footy and I doubt that a bloke in his sixties and small in stature would be to much of a threat to any ump.

Lotta speculation here.
Does anyone actually know what happened, ie is he injured

I didn't go to the game, however, the loss hurt more than the broken pair of spectacles. 44 points up at one stage and should have won from that position. The one that got away me thinks.......

Back on home soil this week against the Mighty Montmorency in a "must win game" to keep touch with 5th spot

If the ump was so worried about a bloke in his 60`s doing him some damage, then he should have continued walking instead of turning around walking up to the bloke, asking him to repeat himself, then swiping his glasses and hat off, then kick his hat further away, then have to told by his the umpire escort to get into the umps room. Only one person at threat here!

My mail was a little different, but could be biased. If your story is the way it happened then the ump should have a case to answer me thinks.

But it still doesn't excuse the fact that idiot spectators think they have the right to abuse umpires and players as they see fit...

My mail was a little different, but could be biased. If your story is the way it happened then the ump should have a case to answer me thinks.

But it still doesn't excuse the fact that idiot spectators think they have the right to abuse umpires and players as they see fit...
unfortantly its part of the game my friend, that ump got into umpiring knowing that, as they all do. Imo he should be suspended for a long long time. As for our guy, he is a big reason macleod stand where they do today, he is very very harmless but sometimes lets passion get the best of him. We will talk to him and that will be it.
now onto monty, should be another cracker, jewlsandbullet you didnt get back to me last game (lucky for me) are you up for a slab?????

My eyewitness is an Eltham person who had a clear view of the incident. As for idiot spectators, well as soon as you walk onto the field, be you an umpire or a player, then you have to be prepared for copping criticism constructive or otherwise. In this umpires case, I thought he would have been used to it by now!

Obviously a bad look for the NFL this incident. Definetly don't condone the actions of the umpire as 1. It is a very bad example to younger umpires and 2. Who knows what would've happened if the incident had escalated.

I must say though, I think it is hardly fair for people to say that umpires (and players) should 'expect' abuse from spectators. Sure sometimes it is hard to keep a lid on your emotions especially in a tense game and umpires definetly make dud calls. But no umpire ever signs up 'expecting' to be abused week in week out, regardless of their umpiring ability.

Also, it doesn't matter if the spectator in question was a '60-year-old, small, sober man', he's the one who instigated it! It's unacceptable that spectators continually abuse umpires as they walk off the ground, when usually, it is their teams fault for not winning the game/poor performance not the umpires. This being said, I'm sure umpires are told to ignore this and the umpire in question clearly has done the wrong thing by the NUA and NFL and needs to be punished for it.

I just think that many people on here seem to be blaming the umpire in question more than the spectator. I don't know if that is just out of general hate for umpires, he'd done a s**t job umpiring that day or the fact that it was an old(er) man who had his glasses and hat knocked off by the 'big, bad, mean umpire.'

This also brings up another question: What where (and for that matter are) the escorts doing these days?

The Umpire Escorts some clubs send out there these days would hardly be able to calm the situation or defend the umpires if an incident like this were to occur again. Umpire Escort shouldn't just be a pointless job that some poor bloke has to do. It needs to be someone that is competent, and can actually effect the and calm a situation like this, when it happens.

I think Macleod/Eltham football clubs, and the whole NFL for that matter, really need to get a grip and realise the severity of this situation and the consequences that these incidents can have.

Superlink, I can confirm what A.H.M states above as being 100% true and correct and say that with complete and utter honesty having personally seen it with my own two eyes (even if I am only a one eyed Eltham Supporter.)

As stated in a previous post on this matter, the umpire concerned had also had a verbal stoush earlier (this time with an Eltham Supporter) as he walked off at the half time break. Mind you, the ump heard a call from the crowd, continued walking for around 15 metres (he should have walked another 5 or so until he was almost into umpires room) before turning around then responding with a verbal tirade of his own and then challenging the spectator verbally "to take him on". So he was up for a physical stoush right from the get go. Again I personally witnessed this and in both instances I was within only a few metres of the Ump venting his spleen.

As for the end of game incident, the specatator involved in the incident I believe just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and although he may have been deemed to of abused the umpire, I can categorically say that it was one of the most minor cases of abuse I have ever heard. I don't condone it and it wasn't warranted (the abuse that is), but even a fair dinkum fairy floss eater wouldn't have been put off eating their sugary treat with what the spectator said which in simple layman's terms was "You just ruined a good game" quote/unquote.

Thanks for clearing up any misunderstandings KA. Obviously you were in the vicinity of the incident and maybe you should put your name forward as a eyewitness.

Your version of events clearly vindicates the actions of the spectator and Kevin Smith / NFL should be held accountable for the umpire's actions and deal with it accordingly.
For the umpire to make a U-Turn and physically attack anybody shows that he lacks any composure to officiate in this capacity.

What would have happened if the spectator was a female or even a man in his peak physical condition. No doubt the umpire would have turned, assessed the situation, and turned back around and kept walking.

I wish he could have those 5 seconds back.

This also brings up another question: What where (and for that matter are) the escorts doing these days?

The Umpire Escorts some clubs send out there these days would hardly be able to calm the situation or defend the umpires if an incident like this were to occur again. Umpire Escort shouldn't just be a pointless job that some poor bloke has to do. It needs to be someone that is competent, and can actually effect the and calm a situation like this, when it happens.

I think Macleod/Eltham football clubs, and the whole NFL for that matter, really need to get a grip and realise the severity of this situation and the consequences that these incidents can have.

Workhorse, umpire escorts are just that...escorts..not security, not coppers and not bouncers. In this case there was an umpires escort right in the middle of the stoush trying to separate the umpire from the spectator. Not sure he could have done anything more than that. It's a thankless job being an umpires escort and bloody hard to get anyone to put their hand up for it. But one thing is for certain, it just got harder.

I'll ignore your "Macleod/Eltham get a grip" nonsense.

What was the result at the tribunal last night with the coach from macleod? No verdict/Penalty on the web site

Reprimand only and we move on. Looking forward to the game against Mont....hope it's a cracker for those going down to de Winton Park..I'll be at the MCG for a return of Saturday Afternoon AFL football for a change.

Who sat on the tribunal?

Was it a former Macleod person?

I wonder?????????????

And who would that be ? If you are going to speculate, how about naming names rather than suggest innuendo. He pleaded guilty for swearing and got a reprimand. Fair result don't you think ?

Superlink, I can confirm what A.H.M states above as being 100% true and correct and say that with complete and utter honesty having personally seen it with my own two eyes (even if I am only a one eyed Eltham Supporter.)

As stated in a previous post on this matter, the umpire concerned had also had a verbal stoush earlier (this time with an Eltham Supporter) as he walked off at the half time break. Mind you, the ump heard a call from the crowd, continued walking for around 15 metres (he should have walked another 5 or so until he was almost into umpires room) before turning around then responding with a verbal tirade of his own and then challenging the spectator verbally "to take him on". So he was up for a physical stoush right from the get go. Again I personally witnessed this and in both instances I was within only a few metres of the Ump venting his spleen.

As for the end of game incident, the specatator involved in the incident I believe just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and although he may have been deemed to of abused the umpire, I can categorically say that it was one of the most minor cases of abuse I have ever heard. I don't condone it and it wasn't warranted (the abuse that is), but even a fair dinkum fairy floss eater wouldn't have been put off eating their sugary treat with what the spectator said which in simple layman's terms was "You just ruined a good game" quote/unquote.

Who was the umpire involved?

Who sat on the tribunal?

Was it a former Macleod person?

I wonder?????????????

Not allowed, I am pretty sure you have to pledge your allegiance to your supported club club and from what I hear they ensure you are not rostered on to hearing involving your club. This stops the perception of bias and stupid innuendo.

Who was the umpire involved?

No need for names, lets treat this as innocent until proven guilty, I am sure they have an investigation going which probably allows him to umpire this week, I reckon there is no need to name his name.