• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Northern Football League Division 2 - CLOSED

Re: Northern Football League Division 2

Wallan played whittlesea on Sunday with our boys going down by 3 goals. Not a bad game of footy considering the heat and the typical Wallan wind.

iceman, going on last years teams that sounds a lot closer than i had expected... have you guys improved that much or has whittlesea dropped off??

Not 100% sure about whittlesea though they will still be up and about this year. We have certainly got a few new good recruits and about 6 former players back who are all senior players because of our move back to our old league. How about you guys, have u's played a game yet? any new recruits?

I agree with everything Dwayne Wayde Show said. Wallan hace certainly improved and I wouldn't say that Whittlesea have dropped off. The loss of Page in the ruck certainly will affect them but they will be up there once again.

Rumour has it young Jesse Waters blitzed in a pracie match on the weekend with 35 touches can anyone comment on this one?

yes fatheads can confirm that, he played a blinder, still only trying to establish himself at lower but is doing himself no harm, lower went down to thomo by about 3-4 goals pretty good game, mitton, barden and shaw also stood out for lower, collins and #12 played very well in the heat for thomo as did homer in the ruck

Young Jesse strapping kid would have had the under12's netball side asking him to sign autographs after such a blinder game:D:D:D
hahaha, i know hes a hit with the under 17 netballers, saw him sunday arvo at the cricket looked a little worse for wear , was with a bloke the size of house knocking back dimmies like they were going outta fashion, reckons he might be having a run at lower, you wouldnt be able to give us a name?? heard he has a bit of a reputation

Yeah they call him KING CRAFT hes a wild man very aggressive man but awsome bloke all the same. Has got the letters w and w on both cheeks of his arse its spells WOW thats the sense of humour of the big fella would be a handy pickup. Has he been training yet?

looked to me as if hes seen his fair share of leather in his day, reckons he'll be there wednesday night, im looking forward to seeing him ina ction, would be a good pick up for lower i reckon, hails from down gippsland way for memory

Heard on the grape vine, "and hope this isn't true" that West Heidelberg might be out for this season, can anyone confirm.

Braved the heat on Saturday and ventured out to see Lower take on Thomastown.
Despite the hot conditions the game was a very good spectacle and both teams showed positive signs for the season ahead. Would agree that Barden and Shaw shone for Lower, whilst Collins was clearly Thommo's best. Number 1 for Thomastown also played well...I think his name is Capelli.
Managed to catch most of the last quarter in the Reserves and spotted an interesting recruit playing out of full forward for Lower. Can anyone from Lower tell me where this guy played last season. Looks as though he can fill in a key position role if he gets himself fit. Didn't catch the score in the early game either...what was the end result?

Braved the heat on Saturday and ventured out to see Lower take on Thomastown.
Despite the hot conditions the game was a very good spectacle and both teams showed positive signs for the season ahead. Would agree that Barden and Shaw shone for Lower, whilst Collins was clearly Thommo's best. Number 1 for Thomastown also played well...I think his name is Capelli.
Managed to catch most of the last quarter in the Reserves and spotted an interesting recruit playing out of full forward for Lower. Can anyone from Lower tell me where this guy played last season. Looks as though he can fill in a key position role if he gets himself fit. Didn't catch the score in the early game either...what was the end result?

Lower's 2's won comfortably, the full forward (do you mean number 24?) is a mate of the 2's coach no one knows who is but kicked 4 in the 2nd quarter alone.

I heard from a current west player that they would field a team but that they would struggle and not win any games

I also heard stars flogged parkside ? is their anytruth in this ?
I was told stars will be the team to beat ?
Can you give us a score from saturday wallker
I was told you were 10 goals down after the ressies part and won by 10 after the seniors

Yeah i saw the game at Parkside...
Flogged isnt the word id use.
Parkside only had about 25 players for whole game.... So was pretty much half ones and half 2's players each quarter.
Think depth is going to be a factor for the Stars, There top 10 will match anybody, just hope they dont get too many injuries as it well take its toll.
I was told that Parkside had 8 of there 1's out and at the begining of the 4th quarter Stars threw on there 1's and Parkside still had half a side out there. Was quite entertaining watching the stars run around. Not alot of defence in there game though.

Parkside had some positives, A guy that looked fit in the ruck early looked very handy...

I heard from a current west player that they would field a team but that they would struggle and not win any games

I also heard stars flogged parkside ? is their anytruth in this ?
I was told stars will be the team to beat ?
Can you give us a score from saturday wallker
I was told you were 10 goals down after the ressies part and won by 10 after the seniors
We did get a bit of the ball, and they only scored 2 or 3 goals in the last 3 qtrs, but parkside 1s played almost the 6 qtrs, and had no energy left don't ride off parkside yet.
I wouldn't say that we would be the side to beat, i think we might jell together around round 8, we still have a bit to learn, we had good supporters at the ground some maybe still waiting in the wings, and hoped that they will join later better sooner than later.
Don't know the actual score as i was watching our players and what they were doing where they might play, but we did kick some goals.

Parkside only had about 25 players for whole game.... So was pretty much half ones and half 2's players each quarter.
Think depth is going to be a factor for the Stars, There top 10 will match anybody, just hope they dont get too many injuries as it well take its toll.
I was told that Parkside had 8 of there 1's out and at the begining of the 4th quarter Stars threw on there 1's and Parkside still had half a side out there. Was quite entertaining watching the stars run around. Not alot of defence in there game though.

Parkside had some positives, A guy that looked fit in the ruck early looked very handy...
agreed:thumbsu:

Thanks for the perspective on the game.
Seems my informant might have been a little over zealous.
I thought this might be the case as i saw parkside against epping and they were ok.
Stars though have done a wonderful job it seems in getting a team up and running in such a short space of time

Good to see the stars looking good for this year

but in terms with parkside, anyone know who the 8 players out from the ones were???
and is the bloke who looked good in their ruck someone who they have recruited/picked up or someone whos been around the club before??

Any reason why so many left ? I believe 2 of those that left were captains- Seniors & u/19s.

Everyone has there own reason, but there was a mixture of reasons for each of the players that left.
I know reasons from about 15 players that left throughout senoirs/reserves, but really dont want to start another South Morang big footy war, so just leave it at that.

All players left, and were not cleaned out.

Good to see the stars looking good for this year

but in terms with parkside, anyone know who the 8 players out from the ones were???
and is the bloke who looked good in their ruck someone who they have recruited/picked up or someone whos been around the club before??

M. Ross S. Diver S. Ware D. McCall J. Keys R. Wise J. Kamaniski - i have missed a few also (sorry if they are reading)

Bloke in the ruck was action jackson (J.Friel). He is in good knick and will have a good year.

M. Ross S. Diver S. Ware D. McCall J. Keys R. Wise J. Kamaniski - i have missed a few also (sorry if they are reading)

Bloke in the ruck was action jackson (J.Friel). He is in good knick and will have a good year.

Pags and Tala playing for you guys this year? Wise pulled on the boots yet? Did Hockey play? How bout the guys who headed O/S, they come back ?From the little I have heard of the Stars, they are fast, evasive and look good with the ball in their hands. When it is in the other teams hands, well let's just say there is a lot of room for improvement. I would suggest that if both these teams get injuries they would struggle. Specially with their respective fixtures.

ok so can u please confirm which of these players will be playing for the devils in 08???
Pagliarello
Canny
Talarico
Hockey
Stonehouse
Weng ng
Ross x3
Scwabl
King
Gresham
Sabelberg
Humphrys

also looking at your clearance only picked up the 2 players so far , Jock Marin and Bradley Walton
What will these boys be like this year?? likely to play in the ones, or just reserves players??? Anybody seen them on the track and know if they will be any good?

been told ressa and thomo playing praccy match this thursday kicking off at 6 with ressies and 7 for seniors.ressa look to have some handy recruits and thomo seem to be very young with lots of run. still waiting for tsunami and his little round companion to be extracted from deano's cake hole. no wonder he walks with a limp the gimp!!!!:D:D