NRL Grand Final out-rates the AFL

Redb said:
Bigfooty is an Aussie Rules forum yet RL trolls like Gost,yourself, others populate non rugby league threads on Bigfooty.

Well, duh. That's because I actually have an interest in, Aussie Rules.

Redb said:
your like communists in the cold war. Some have even gained a rank on the good guys side. :rolleyes:

Yep, not bad for a troll huh? :rolleyes:

Just picked up on Auckmel. Trust me RedB, we've chatted/argued around a number of forums for more than a decade and he is definitly not anti-AR.

People often confuse me posting facts about Rugby league as being anti-AR. I'm not at all surprised Redb is another one to add me to that list.

Even with a level 1 coaching accreditation in Aussie Rules, an AFL club membership, being the Junior President down at my local club, an Auskick co-ordinator people still found it easier to label me a Rugby league troll when correcting some gross inaccuracies on the main forum in Rugby league related threads. I will continue to do so if people continue to post those same inaccuracies.

Aussie Rules is an awesome game. I love it, but it does have some flaws too. I hope to see my son one day run out onto the MCG playing for his beloved Magpies. I refuse to wimp out and let the name callers get the better of me.

People often confuse me posting facts about Rugby league as being anti-AR. I'm not at all surprised Redb is another one to add me to that list.

Even with a level 1 coaching accreditation in Aussie Rules, an AFL club membership, being the Junior President down at my local club, an Auskick co-ordinator people still found it easier to label me a Rugby league troll when correcting some gross inaccuracies on the main forum in Rugby league related threads. I will continue to do so if people continue to post those same inaccuracies.

Aussie Rules is an awesome game. I love it, but it does have some flaws too. I hope to see my son one day run out onto the MCG playing for his beloved Magpies. I refuse to wimp out and let the name callers get the better of me.

No worries, my mistake I apologise. :thumbsu:

cheers
Redb

I'll be booing him if he ever does that :)

LoL

That said though, I'd love him to represent New Zealand one day, and the chances of doing that in Aussie Rules are slim to none, so if he turned the other way and tried something else, then that would be ok too.

Bigfooty is an Aussie Rules forum yet RL trolls like Gost,yourself, others populate non rugby league threads on Bigfooty.

I smell a ****wit:rolleyes:

If and I say "IF" spelt in HUGE CAPTIAL LETTERS, AuckMel was a RL-Troll, do you even think that a) I would of selected him to become a Moderator of the Rugby League Board along side me and Buddy 12 months ago and b) then replace me when I stood down as the Rugby League Board Moderator?

The answer is NO.

The same goes for the site Admin and the Board's SuperMod who had the final say over whether AuckMel became a Full Mod and trust me, NOT ONE OF THEM had an issue, problem or concern of letting a person who likes Rugby League as much as AuckMel does become a Moderator on Big Footy. Therefore for the entire site Admin group, SuperMod Group, myself and Buddy to have no concern with AuckMel and in fact for AuckMel to be the VERY FIRST PERSON we approached for the role, shows how little you know about this Board and Big Footy in general.

As my final word on this VERY ISSUE, I will say that if I was still the Rugby League Board Moderator and not just the Team Board Moderator of the Sydney Swans Board, I would not only have given you an infraction by now, your access to this Board would of been removed also.

YOU ARE THE TROLL HERE

But I don't have the same control and say that I had 5 weeks ago and I'm not here to tell AuckMel and Buddy what to do. But in truth, you should just grow up and leave this Board before you earn yourself an infraction.

LoL

That said though, I'd love him to represent New Zealand one day, and the chances of doing that in Aussie Rules are slim to none, so if he turned the other way and tried something else, then that would be ok too.

:D Tell him he'd have more fun playing for the Storm :)

was he born in NZ was he?

Shouldn't matter. Grandparent rule...

i didn't know they retained the grandparent rule since the uproar after I think it was Luke Rickettson's grandmother was born in Lebanon so he played for them in the WC some years ago.

Also, if he was to play for the pies, would be one of the very few (if any?) New Zealanders to achieve the feat of playing in the AFL I would imagine.

Auckmel accused me of being a troll, I've followed rugby league since about 1992 and I have always lived in Melbourne. Just becuase I'm anti News Ltd/Melb Storm does not mean I'm anti RL.

Can I ask what rl team you support?

My guess is the Dragons, and if so, you being a rl fan as you proclaim, why don't you ever come in and join the conversations we have here and shed a positive story about your team or league in general?

BTW I don't consider myself a big troll...just a weeny one:D

PS: Isn't the Herald Sun here in Melb. part of the News Ltd. organisation that prints all those afl stories?

dr nick said:
i didn't know they retained the grandparent rule since the uproar after I think it was Luke Rickettson's grandmother was born in Lebanon so he played for them in the WC some years ago.

Bryson Goodwin made this years Kiwi squad under the GP rule.

dr nick said:
Also, if he was to play for the pies, would be one of the very few (if any?) New Zealanders to achieve the feat of playing in the AFL I would imagine.

There's been a few (as pointed out above) already and probably more will follow in the years to come.

:)

I think he's keen to give it a go, but I'll wait until he develops more physically.

His brother was very similar in stature and played other sports until he developed more. Didn't seem to hurt him as he later played for Auckland rep sides and then Bartercard Cup, and was selected in a Manly Warringah development squad based in Auckland.

Time will tell I guess. Whatever he does, I'll be proudly cheering him on.

I smell a ****wit:rolleyes:

If and I say "IF" spelt in HUGE CAPTIAL LETTERS, AuckMel was a RL-Troll, do you even think that a) I would of selected him to become a Moderator of the Rugby League Board along side me and Buddy 12 months ago and b) then replace me when I stood down as the Rugby League Board Moderator?

The answer is NO.

The same goes for the site Admin and the Board's SuperMod who had the final say over whether AuckMel became a Full Mod and trust me, NOT ONE OF THEM had an issue, problem or concern of letting a person who likes Rugby League as much as AuckMel does become a Moderator on Big Footy. Therefore for the entire site Admin group, SuperMod Group, myself and Buddy to have no concern with AuckMel and in fact for AuckMel to be the VERY FIRST PERSON we approached for the role, shows how little you know about this Board and Big Footy in general.

As my final word on this VERY ISSUE, I will say that if I was still the Rugby League Board Moderator and not just the Team Board Moderator of the Sydney Swans Board, I would not only have given you an infraction by now, your access to this Board would of been removed also.

YOU ARE THE TROLL HERE

But I don't have the same control and say that I had 5 weeks ago and I'm not here to tell AuckMel and Buddy what to do. But in truth, you should just grow up and leave this Board before you earn yourself an infraction.

I have already apologised before you posted this so I'm a little perplexed as to why you now feel the need to call me a ****wit and a troll.

Of course if you think an apology is not good enough I can't do much about that. :cool:

Can I ask what rl team you support?

My guess is the Dragons, and if so, you being a rl fan as you proclaim, why don't you ever come in and join the conversations we have here and shed a positive story about your team or league in general?

BTW I don't consider myself a big troll...just a weeny one:D

PS: Isn't the Herald Sun here in Melb. part of the News Ltd. organisation that prints all those afl stories?

West Tigers, though was much more connected when it was Balmain. Loved big Siro, Garry Jack,etc.

Think Benji Marshall craps all over the hyped up Hayne. The footage of Marshall steeping, dodging and then passing behind the back to his team mate for a try surpasses anything Hayne did this year. Hayne's quick but some of the defence is not exactly fast.

Went to the RL test between Aust and Great Britain at Princes Park in 1992.

Went to a Dragons game at Olympic Park before the Melb Storm were even created.

Attended this years State of Origin at Etihad.

I detest News Ltd and their product Melb Storm. Hated them from the start with their arrogance and attitude "we'll show them a game" . no junior programs, just NSW/QLD mercenaries really.

Storm have learnt the hard way in Melbourne and have started to become more 'local' than before. Cam Smith is a good ambassador for the game to his credit.

News Ltd should not be in sport and media though and their is a definite anti AFL campaign behind the scenes which I regularly bring attention to.

Robbie Farah wanted to play qualifying for Lebanon and then be available for Australia in the actual tournament last year. They said no, he had to choose one or the other.

So I suspect yes, it's more than easy to represent nations based on family ties.

I detest News Ltd and their product Melb Storm. Hated them from the start with their arrogance and attitude "we'll show them a game" . no junior programs, just NSW/QLD mercenaries really.

I long held the same complaints, but to their credit, since Waldron has come on board, Melbourne has moved a long long way to correcting this now and as you say, have become more of a localised 'Melbourne' outfit, then just a northern NRL side playing games in Melbourne.

They will be fielding sides in 4 grades next year, all playing out of the sports precint, the lower grades with a number of locals playing :thumbsu:
-----------
FWIW on RedB ... I think people are being a bit harsh on him, when we have people posting here on a predominantly AFL based website (This is just a sub board remember), who not only dislike Aussie Rules, but actively post negatively constantly about the sport.

News Ltd should not be in sport and media though and their is a definite anti AFL campaign behind the scenes which I regularly bring attention to.

i guess we wont see you around much next year, with news ltd gone from nrl and the Storm..then you'll have nothing to whinge about

What utter rubbish!
Those figures are nothing but News Limited LIES!!!

lol.. ok.
Revised figures thnks to Thinktv.com.au

RUGBY LEAGUE GRAND FINAL 3,632,000

AFL GF: ST KILDA V GEELONG 3,474,000

NRL: http://www.thinktv.com.au/media/Media_Releases/Week_41_2009-Ratings_Report.pdf

AFL: http://www.thinktv.com.au/media/Media_Releases/Week_39_2009-Ratings_Report.pdf

and before you question Think tv's credibility

About Us

Think TV is a marketing initiative of Free TV Australia - the industry representative for all Australia's free-to-air metropolitan and regional commercial broadcasters. Our members are:

Seven Network
Nine Network
Network Ten
Southern Cross Broadcasting
WIN Television
Prime Television
NBN Television
Swan Television
Imparja Television

Free TV Australia's marketing division is responsible for compiling and distributing facts about commercial television to assist advertisers in their media planning and buying decisions.

If you'd like more information on the power of advertising on Free TV or if you'd like to subscribe to our bi-monthly e-newsletter, please contact us at marketing@freetv.com.au or call us on 02 8968 7100.

---------

Redb, News Ltd strangely enough is also anti-NRL at times.. and most RL supporters realise that

lol.. ok.
Revised figures thnks to Thinktv.com.au

NRL: http://www.thinktv.com.au/media/Media_Releases/Week_41_2009-Ratings_Report.pdf

AFL: http://www.thinktv.com.au/media/Media_Releases/Week_39_2009-Ratings_Report.pdf

and before you question Think tv's credibility

---------

Redb, News Ltd strangely enough is also anti-NRL at times.. and most RL supporters realise that

since week 39 OZtam (TV ratings agency) have corrected the AFL's, the total number is 3.8M.

News Ltd is perceived as anti RL becuase it creates the "inflate scandal - code in trouble - save RL " cycle that sells newspapers.

They may have gone too far this year when due to falling sales or reader feedback they announced they will try and not publish any 'bad RL stories on the back pages(sports) " (Daily Telegraph)

How have they been lately on the "RL is dying" stuff ??/...very very quiet. ;)

Next will be the extra RL fluff promotion stories as they look to exit RL, particularly teams like Melb Storm and Broncos who potentially will be off loaded to private equity.

since week 39 OZtam (TV ratings agency) have corrected the AFL's, the total number is 3.8M.

News Ltd is perceived as anti RL becuase it creates the "inflate scandal - code in trouble - save RL " cycle that sells newspapers.

They may have gone too far this year when due to falling sales or reader feedback they announced they will try and not publish any 'bad RL stories on the back pages(sports) " (Daily Telegraph)

How have they been lately on the "RL is dying" stuff ??/...very very quiet. ;)

Next will be the extra RL fluff promotion stories as they look to exit RL, particularly teams like Melb Storm and Broncos who potentially will be off loaded to private equity.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...-to-treat-ladies/story-e6frexni-1225711772952

fluff piece of the century...

NRL Grand Final out-rates the AFL